Free Yourself

“Forgiveness is the fragrance the violet sheds on the heel that has crushed it.“ ~Mark Twain

Let go of anger. Chew it up and spit it out.

Let go of resentment. Grind it and toss it to the wind.

These things hold you back. Let them go.

Blame places life in a chokehold.

Let accusations rest. Take those pointing fingers and hold someone‘s hand.

Forgive whoever you think has wronged you. Release them from your bondage.

Absolve yourself. Move on.

Allow yourself to live without regret.

“Breathe. Let go. And remind yourself that this very moment is the only one you know you have for sure.” ~Oprah Winfrey

50 thoughts on “Free Yourself

  1. Once again you’ve hit the nail that has been causing so much family anguish right on the head, SuziCate! Although I cannot force my adult daughter to forgive her brother for misdeeds she will not name, I can forgive her for her harsh criticism, while I wait. With much love and thanks, Jacqueline (wightrabbit) x

  2. “These things hold you back. Let them go.

    Blame places life in a chokehold.”

    Yup. Yup. Sometimes it is not easy, but it is necessary. It addition to life being in a chokehold, it seems like the heart gets choked too.

    Thanks for the words of wisdom!

  3. Beautifully put. One of the most powerful tools I’ve found for dissolving anger is to look for the silver lining in situations leading up to the anger. Those linings usually aren’t apparent until later. One of the benefits of living for several decades is that eventually you go through enough cycles of anger to realize that the sun ALWAYS comes out after a storm. At least that’s true for me. That firm belief makes it much easier to let things go.

  4. Such striking, peaceful photos to accompany your beautiful, wise words. Anger and negative feelings take too much energy that could be spent in better ways. If only we could all remember your words all the time.

  5. Once again, your words touch me deeply, Suzi!

    They are something we all need to read quite often.

    “Forgive whoever you think has wronged you. Release them from your bondage.

    Absolve yourself. Move on.

    Allow yourself to live without regret.”

    Thank you for sharing this wisdom, my friend!

    Have a fantastic weekend…..X

    P.S. lovely photos!

  6. There was this great thing that I learned from a motivational speaker about embracing the power within. She advised to physically breath out that resentment and anger, and say “I release you with love.”

    To do it over and over (when you need to) until it is truly released. I am working on this. I definitely don’t want to hold onto any resentment.

  7. I have loved your last few posts. You have a real talent of expressing deep thoughts and wisdom very simply and warmly. I really appreciate your skill … I tend to write and write and kill my topic with too many words.

    • You do not kill your topic with too many words. You write beautifully and precisely…that’s what I love about your writing. I always find something worthwhile in every post of yours I read!

      • Suzi, can you see me blushing? Thank you very much for the kind words. I guess I am the only one who knows how much editing and deleting I do before I publish anything … and if I don’t tell, then no one else has to know. 😉

  8. 12 Steps teach we cannot afford to hold onto resentments. Whatta they think? There’s a delete button in your brain? I still resent Adam for the original sin nonsense. And his ol’ lady gives apple pie a bad name too. Wait’ll I see them. Got my strap ready.

  9. Sweet! Here’s another a friend gave me re: forgiveness.
    “I let you be, I let me be, I set you free, I set me free.”

    It works.

    But if the same offence occurs again, it may need to be done again and again and again… that’s the only problem with forgiveness… it never ends.

Leave a Reply

