You Are “Gourd” Enough

“Sing, Sing a song. Sing out loud, Sing out strong. Sing of good things, not bad. Sing of happy, not sad. Sing, Sing, a song. Make it simple to last your whole life long. Don’t worry that it’s not good enough for anyone else to hear. Sing, Sing a song.” ~Joe Raposo

Has anyone ever told you that you were not good enough?

Or is this some dreadful conclusion you came up with on your own?

Do you not feel pretty enough?

Thin enough?

Smart enough?

Athletic enough?

Rich enough?

Successful enough?

If you reach those goals, will you finally feel good enough?

Gourds, like people, can be decorative or highly functional.

They come in a charming selection of sizes, shapes and colors.

Some are horned or warty while others are smooth.

For hundreds of years, gourds have known their worthiness, so why do we still struggle with accepting ours?

What will it take for us to know our own importance?

When we stop worrying about what other people think about us,

when we stop trying to impress others,

when we accept ourselves, horns and warts,

when we embrace our authenticity,

we will feel worthy.

When we feel worthy, we will feel loved.

We will feel like we belong.

Most of all we will feel “good enough” just as we are.

50 thoughts on “You Are “Gourd” Enough

    • I don’t know why, but I’ve never decorated with gourds…now I’ve dried them out as a child and used them as maracas. I think this years I will make a table decoration for Thanksgiving with gourds…

  1. I love the spot-color effects on the photos you’re using. This series would do so well in a simple volume of simply profound wisdom. Maybe now that eBooks are tiptoeing into color …

    Gourds. For nearly fifty years the mere sight of a gourd is enough to trigger the memory that a certain long, smooth variety of gourd on a string (used to … who knows about today?) serve as the only clothing worn by men on some Pacific Island visited by Margaret Mead. Papua, New Guinea, I think.

    A versatile fruit, the gourd. Bowls, cups, table decorations, and preserver of manhood. Thank you for this lovely and uplifting tribute!

    • Thanks, Sharon. Ha, I did not know about the gourd loincloth! I will never look at a gourd the same way! Now if I make a Thanksgiving decoration from them and snicker during dinner everyone will think I”m nuts!!!!

  2. Excellent comparison Suzicate. Stories of those who overcome perceived imperfections are always inspring for me. Our kids have as much decorating with gourds as they do with the pumpkins.

  3. AWESOME post, Suzi!

    And what a TRUTHFUL reminder….

    “When we stop worrying about what other people think about us,

    when we stop trying to impress others,

    when we accept ourselves, horns and warts,

    when we embrace our authenticity,

    we will feel worthy.”

    A-MEN!

    When we accept and embrace our authenticity.

    Thank you, my friend!

    Have a great day……X

  4. It’s a shame that we listen to the “not good enough” message from early on — we hear it when we’re compared with our siblings, our classmates, our fellow workers, and so forth. We read it in magazines, hear it on TV. Eventually, the message sinks in and we accept it. Good job pointing out that not all species live under such pressure — maybe we all should buy a wheelbarrow filled with gourds to remind us!

  5. I’m good enough . . .
    I’m smart enough . . .
    And doggoneit people like me . . .

    They do . . . don’t they??? 😉

    Nature does not ask, “What do THEY want me to be.” Its beauty lies in its authenticity.

  6. Guess who I will think of now when I enjoy my Yerba Mate each morning with my Argentinian Gourd with its bombillia. I love the artwork done to gourds by South Americans – hopefully the Creator is doing the same with me! Well, it is possible! 😀

  7. I cried when I read your post. I think it was a healing cry. I’ve tried to deny that I didn’t feel good enough…deny to others and try to prove it…deny to myself and feel split in two and never good enough.

    One of Nancy’s posts helped me with a breakthrough on being happy. I have been very strict with myself, policing negative thoughts and turning my own thoughts and hands to positive action. It has worked and I am much happier than I was before.

    But I realized that the struggle is not over, because one of the demons that will flay my happiness into submission is the feeling of not being good enough.

    So, thank you Suzi. You spread sunshine in dark places.

    • I also struggled with this for a very long time. But you are good enough. You are just as worthy as love and acceptance as the next person and all those you love. Not just anyone could have written your book…you did because you are special. Never forget your unique gifts. Remember you are the sunshine…you are awesome!

      • Here is a quote from Power of Intuition:

        Our sorrows and wounds are healed only when we touch them with compassion. —Buddha

        I think that is what is happening to me. I’ve finally been enabled to touch them with compassion, rather than self-loathing. And I think you and Nancy Hatch’s Spirit Lights the Way have really helped.

        It’s one thing to know in your mind that you are worthy and just as good as anyone else. It’s another thing to believe it and accept it in your heart. That is what I was having trouble with. But the kindness of you, Nancy, and other bloggers has helped me to start opening up the compassion to myself. The good news is that will open up my compassion to others as well.

        Thank you all.

      • I like that quote. You’re right to know it is one thing but to believe it and accept it is totally another…most difficult for most of us. I highly recommend the book “The Gifts of Imperfection” by Brene’ Brown…it is most excellent, talks much about shame which is what many of us deal with.

  8. Those comments come pretty much from the voices in my head when I’m depressed about something. 😦 I know I shouldn’t pay attention to them, but when you’re in a weakened emotional state, it’s hard not to.

  9. The combination of hearing the Carpenters (in my head) and your encouraging words are enough to bring out a smile. I do feel this way, all too often. Now I’ll try to see myself as a unique and fascinating gourd. 😀

Leave a Reply

