A Gentle Leaf

“Let one who wants to move and convince others, first be convinced and moved themselves. If a person speaks with genuine earnestness the thoughts, the emotion, and the actual condition of their own heart, others will listen because we all are knit together by the tie of sympathy.” ~Thomas Carlyle

Influence. A form of social influence.

It’s how most people get what they want.

How we influence others is in direct response to the results we achieve.

It’s all about our motivation, truly the heart of the matter.

People who rant and rave get results, but at what cost to others?

They resort to name calling and threats to get people to hear what they have to say.

Their main goal is to make us think like them.

Yes, those who demand attention get attention.

But seriously, how much respect do we have for those people?

Have you ever been forced to listen to someone? Did you really think what they said was worth your time? Did you actually place faith in their words? Or were you intimidated?

Do you want people to listen to you because they fear you?

And then there are the people who lead by example.

They are usually soft spoken, compassionate people who forge their way with love.

They don’t call us names.

They don’t even tell us what we SHOULD be doing.

If they have any goal other than to live a good life, it is to make us think.

They softly encourage us to do our best.

They pick us up when we are down.

They are our cheerleaders in this game of life.

In fact, they just quietly live their lives for the good of all.

They generate peace wherever they are.

Do you want to be a harsh force that shapes the world according to your standards?

Or do you want to be a gentle leaf of persuasion for good in this life?

33 thoughts on “A Gentle Leaf

  1. Excellent Suzicate. When I was policing, the best supervisor I ever had was the person in your description–supportive, quiet, led by example, and it motivated everyone around him.

    Enjoy your weekend.

  2. Faaaaaaaaaabulous words, Suzi!

    “How we influence others is in direct response to the results we achieve.

    It’s all about our motivation, truly the heart of the matter.”

    And you’re soooo right…..

    “And then there are the people who lead by example.

    They are usually soft spoken, compassionate people who forge their way with love.”

    There is MUCH power in gentleness.

    Thanks for sharing, my friend. Muchly enjoyed!

    Have a beautiful weekend……X

  3. My number one goal in blogging is to make people think about issues of import . . . including how they could be happier and more peaceful.

    Sometimes the responses are disheartening:

    * I tried meditation once . . . it didn’t work.
    * This is just the way I am. I can’t change.
    * Wow! That sounds too hard.
    * I can’t slow down my thoughts long enough to meditate.
    * No one can control their emotions.

    I guess they would rather collapse into a puddle of tears every few feet than learn techniques that would help them smile more often. :D

    Thanks for sharing some positive thoughts, Suzi!

    • I am the first to admit I don’t welcome change. However, when it ever so slowly creeps up on me, I find it’s wonderful. Actually, even sometimes when I dive head first into something new, I wonder why I never tried it before.
      …and who doesn’t like to smile?
      Happy you’re one of those gentle leaves on my blogging journey!

  4. I always say you can get more bees/bears/flies with honey than yelling, but I don’t really want bees/bears/flies! :-) But I do believe that being sweet or nice gets better results than yelling and telling people what they should or shouldn’t do.

    I really love that tree shot. Great results from just playing!

  5. So pretty, Suzi! And so true! I think we’ve all been exposed to people who push and shove and demand (and get their way out of intimidation). How much better to be that gentle voice, that positive example! Well spoken, my friend!

  6. Wuss, scary cat, no spine,… tho i ‘ve been called alot worst i choose to turn the other cheek,…. or be a Gentle Leaf,…. watching a leaf fall from a distance is so soothing. I think my blessings everyday for postive out put that i find online every lilttle bit helps. Hugs Suzicate……

    • I used to get called chicken for turning the other cheek, too. I’ve learned to not let people take advantage of me as often,but I’m tactful about it. I’ve found I am much happier and at peace by being positive, and I feel healthier, too.

Leave a Reply

