Cloudy Mountains Majesty

“ I believe that there is a subtle magnetism in Nature, which, if we unconsciously yield to it, will direct us aright.” ~Henry David Thoreau

I am mesmerized by the beauty of nature. Amazing cloud formations pull my eyes to the sky and the majestic mountains and greenery pull me downward…and I always return to the clouds. There are times in life we feel the need to be lost in space, let our heads drift among the clouds and forget the stresses of life. This scenery was a mini retreat away from the mind clutter.

Sometimes I am awestruck…it takes a moment to catch my breath. This was one of those times. We were on a road trip and were graced by this scenery. The photos were taken by Dirt Man.

“When I go out into the countryside and see the sun and the green and everything flowering, I say to myself Yes indeed, all that belongs to me!” ~Henri Rousseau

48 thoughts on “Cloudy Mountains Majesty

    • This was one of those times, I asked him to pull over so I could take a photograph and he offered to take it for me, He has much better photography skills, so there are times I tell him exactly what I want captured and he delivers. He has offered to teach me, but I’m hesitant if it’s anything like teaching me computer skills…he gets aggravated at me and then I get annoyed at him, lol! However, I might just give it a shot this weekend while we try to get some Autumn mountain shots.

  1. How lovely those clouds are.
    I used to lie in the grass as a child and watch clouds roll by. Then, came the teens years where you have to prepare your future, and the clouds rolled by without me.
    I am long overdue to start cloud gazing again 🙂

  2. GORGEOUS photos!

    Bravo Dirt Man!

    “Amazing cloud formations pull my eyes to the sky and the majestic mountains and greenery pull me downward…and I always return to the clouds.”

    The more I discover of you, the more and more I see just how similar we are, Suzi.

    I’ve always been fascinated with clouds too. I can sit for hours; gazing at the clouds. I LOVE THEM!

    ” I believe that there is a subtle magnetism in Nature, which, if we unconsciously yield to it, will direct us aright.” ~Henry David Thoreau”

    Amen! Nature heals.

    Thank you for sharing this post, my friend. Really enjoyed it!

    X

  3. There’s something so uplifting about looking up! The vastness of the sky reminds us how small we are. A God who can paint such beautiful skies can surely take care of our measly problems!

  4. Ahh, clouds. So many different kinds, creating different moods. Stormy, inspirational, whimsical. Yesterday I saw many varieties myself, flying across the United States. I wish I could have captured some of them on camera as you did, but I figured it wouldn’t be the same through an airplane window.
    I love your poetic descriptions and the way you manage to capture your ideas. You inspire me to try to describe what I see! Thanks.

  5. I run out of superlatives after a while. These are gorgeous and peaceful.

    On my honeymoon a long time ago, we were flying to our destination and the cloud formations were lovely with the ground so green and lovely below. I kept taking pictures, even tho my hubby predicted they wouldn’t turn out. Turns out he was right.

    I now have close to 50 pictures all entitles “Clouds…as seen from the airplane.” lol

    • Doesn’t it just kill you when our hubby’s are right? I do because it means I’m wrong! I love the clouds…I ought to since I’ve been accused my whole life of having my head in them.

  6. Nature amazes me, too. There are no real mountains here in Minnesota, but there are many times when the clouds above the trees on the horizon could easily be mistaken for mountains. The “cloud mountain range” of Minnesota is incredible if you get the privilege to ever see it. ;0)

  7. Both Sides, my first thought too. Nothing nicer than seeing clouds, from below or above. Watching the clouds is soothing, calming and endlessly entertaining. This morning’s sunrise looked like brushstrokes of shades of pink in the sky.

  8. There is a serenity in places like those you’ve photographed. The hustle and bustle of every day living has been left behind. I need to bookmark these so I can visit often. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  9. I love the concept that we are all connected. Jung visualised us all as islands in an ocean. Above sea level is our consciousness, below sea level is our subconscious, and deep down at the ocean bed is what connects us all. I wonder if Nature is what connects us all, I know that my soul awakens when I find myself among the trees.

Leave a Reply

