Feeding The Beasts Within

We are all hungry beasts.

We hunger for success.

We hunger to be heard.

We hunger to be known.

Yet, we are gentle giants.

We hold back in fear.

We fear failure.

We fear ridicule.

We fear we will be misunderstood.

It seems our biggest obstacle is fear.

Maybe the things we fear aren’t so large after all.

Maybe we just allow fear to grow out of hand.

Very possibly we are afraid to know our own power.

Though hunger is painful, fear is immobilizing.

How will you feed the beasts within?

47 thoughts on “Feeding The Beasts Within

  1. I think that is so true! We are often our own worst enemies & self-defeating. We need to feel the fear & do it anyway like the book by Susan Jeffers states. Not easy to do but worth it to grow as a person. Love your blog!

    • Thanks for reading. People have been calling some of these shorts I’ve written poetry, but I haven’t meant for them to be…I put those on my poetry site. These are more ramblings, just thoughts that rumble through my head!

  2. Your words are true for most of us, Suzi . . . until we tame the beast.

    These days, the only success I seek is inner peace and happiness . . . I do not fear its pursuit. 😀

    When we have conquered the enemy within . . . there are no enemies left to conquer.

    Aah . . . that’s better.

  3. BRILLIANT post, Suzi!

    *thunderous applause*

    “It seems our biggest obstacle is fear.

    Maybe the things we fear aren’t so large after all.

    Maybe we just allow fear to grow out of hand.

    Very possibly we are afraid to know our own power.”

    That’s it! We ARE afraid to know our own power! I remember when I was acting as my profession, and it wasn’t the fear of failure I was afraid of – it was the fear of success.

    Thank you for sharing this wonderful reminder, my friend!

    Have a great Monday…..X

    • This is so true, Ron! Your blog will still not let me post a comment…I wonder if it’s a probelm between WordPress and blogger…I see other people are leaving comments.

  4. Though hunger is painful, fear is immobilizing.- this phrase is amazing, beautiful and true. i will keep it in mind. 🙂

    the poem is in toto a fantastic poem like all your poems are but this phrase is stupendous!

  5. Speak softly to fear, to that beast within, and if it does not listen, shout, scream, let it know it will not conquer! Deep breaths and faith. So easily said, not so easily done.
    I too normally click away from poetry; I simply to not relate to it. This one I love!

  6. I read this earlier today as I rode the ferry home from a day of errands off-island. I discovered that I can be one of those people I used to be so impatient with on the highway.

    That took some self-Love talk to calm that beast!

    • Thanks, Lisa, but these words are not mine…they were inspired in a time of meditation…sometimes the words come and I don’t know if they will touch anyone unless I have enough courage to post them.

  7. It’s interesting. When I was still a young mother I wrote a little poem about the beast within me. Maybe I’ll post someday.

  8. Hi Suzi,
    I am discovering your blog via Ron.
    Thank you for these very profound thoughts with an equally profound photo.

    These are very interesting seeds of thought.
    Thanks for the thought and happy to know you!

Leave a Reply

