Are You Ripe Yet?

I recently purchased a cluster of vine ripened tomatoes. I made a caprese salad that night. Yesterday I noticed a bad spot on one. I threw it in the trash. Later I thought how I probably could have cut out the bruise and still used the tomato.

Today I noticed another spoiled tomato. This one could not be salvaged. I made another caprese with the rest of the tomatoes.

Of course, this discovery of rotten tomatoes only made me think of our human frailties.

Tomatoes…

Some of us are picked before our time. We’re ripped from the vine and taken from the sun. We’re left to come to fruition all on our own.

Some of us lay rotting on the vine, wondering if our time will ever come.

Some get tossed because of a rotten spot…no second chances to pare away the undesirable and see what can be utilized.

Cooking tomatoes tones down the bitterness and brings out their warmth. The same thing happens when we love people.

Both tomatoes and people are delicate. Handle with care. When time is taken and conditions are ideal, they ripen to perfection and burst with color and flavor.

Sometimes it’s all in the cultivation. What kind of a gardener are you?

52 thoughts on “Are You Ripe Yet?

  1. Man, those are gorgeous shots of the tomatoes. My mouth started watering the minute my eyes touched on the first photo.

    As for the comparison between people and tomatoes, most of it’s very apt. I never thought of myself as a tomato, though. Mostly, I have not been handled with care, and now I’m getting too shopworn to stay on the vine much longer. It’ll be one heckuva splat though 😛

  2. Oh my! That is a kitty bowl! How cute.

    I am still working on liking tomatoes.

    I like the homegrown ones, ya know, the ones that have flavor and don’t just LOOK nice. Yeah, I’m sure you get what I’m saying.

    🙂

  3. Lemme tell ya bout tomatoes. You have to plant them 47 miles away from your yard because the suckers attract all kids of bugs that destroy your other plants. The inch worms can be controlled but those leaf miners destroy the pepper plant leaves and even the bougainvillea. Now a good organic insecticide-get a Windex type spray bottle , cleaned and fill with water. Put a couple of cigarette butts in there and when it turns the color of tea you have the most excellent organic bug killer and it does not effect flower, vegetable or fruit plants and trees in any negative fashion. They way to get the beetles is to get those disposable waxed paint buckets. Merely fill them half way up with water and set at the ends of the garden rows. They are attracted to it, fall in, and you just scoop them out and bury them for more fertilizer. To prevent possums and raccoons and such, hang a rabbit’s foot key chain on a stick and it works like a scarecrow. Sometimes.

    • I haven’t grown tomatoes in years…takes up too much yard space! Thanks for sharing all of your organic pesticide solutions with us. I will have to remember them for later use and to share.

  4. Tomatoes are part of the deadly nightshade family…It’s nice to know they have a dark side too ^.^ I love the kitty bowl. it’s very colorful. Carl, hun what do the cigarette butts do? have you ever tried planting marigolds at the end of each row? They help keep the bugs off too.

    Happy Planting ^.^

    • Thanks…it is a cute bowl, a lovely gift from my MIL. I’ve heard that marigolds keep rabbits at bay. Also heard that cucumber peelings and salt keep certains pests away but can’t remember which ones…oh, and the wives tale that hair clippings keep deer out.

  5. I had never thought of comparing tomatoes and people, but how true! I’ve been slicing my red tomatoes and having them on sandwiches for lunch every day, using the green grape and yellow pear tomatoes in salads. And loving every minute of it! The grape and pear tomatoes seem to like to leap into my mouth as I pass the bowl. They are so silly! We’re about at the end of production for this year, with not enough to freeze for winter use. That might have to do with the quantity that I’ve eaten.

  6. I love this post … what a great correlation and the tomatoes look great. According to the doctors, I am not laying around rotting on the vine … I still have some bad spots, but we are working with the good ones. And, unlike tomatoes, by bad spots will heal.
    We had a weird hard freeze 2 weeks ago (then it warmed up again) … my tomatoes had to be picked green that night. They are ripening slowly, but taste great.

  7. Those look amazing Suzi!! I’m so jealous. Somehow, due to circumstances beyond my control, I was born with a brown thumb. 😦
    ~ Gina

  8. Our poor tomatoes didn’t have a chance this year, what with the drenching rains in spring, the heat and drought in summer, and the early coolness now. What we had, though, were delicious! I love your bottom photo, by the way, especially how the tomatoes pick up the spotlight from their light source.

  9. What a brilliant analogy, Suzi!

    BRA-VA!

    “Both tomatoes and people are delicate. Handle with care. When time is taken and conditions are ideal, they ripen to perfection and burst with color and flavor.

    Sometimes it’s all in the cultivation.”

    You said it!

    Thanks for sharing, my friend. Great post!

    X

    P.S. btw, I adore vine tomato’s!

  10. As always, I love the analogy, SuziCate. I’m hoping my own tomatoes will ripen as we weren’t able to plant very early this year. Luckily, the frost has stayed away. 🙂

    Your photos make me hungry.

Leave a Reply

