A Touch Of Autumn

There is a harmony in autumn, and a luster in its sky, which through the summer is not heard or seen, as if it could not be, as if it had not been!  ~Percy Bysshe Shelley

The first touch of Autumn…

You feel it in the air as the chill tickles your skin, and every once in a while your bones rattle for a second or two.

You see the leaves are starting to drop, a bit of gold here and a little scarlet there. Soon the mountains will become a glorious speckled canvas of earth tones. The orange of pumpkins lay scattered across the fields.

You can taste it in a crisp apple as your teeth break the skin and the tart and sweet juices roll over your tongue.

You can smell it in the bales of freshly rolled hay. The sweet scent of apple orchards and vineyards waft through the rolling hills.

You can hear it in the hum of farm machinery, echoes of barking dogs, and the beating wings of the last hummingbird looking for sweet nectar.

The nights turn chilly and the mornings frosty as we break out our sweaters. The days end a little sooner as the nights fall upon us with thickened air.

Early Autumn harvests of pumpkins, apples, and grapes tantalize our senses. We are gifted with an array of color, texture, and taste…jack-o-lanterns, pumpkin pie, apple cider and pie, fresh grapes, and wine…I say bring it on!

Yes, Fall is right around the corner.

Winter is an etching, spring a watercolor, summer an oil painting and autumn a mosaic of them all.  ~Stanley Horowitz

210 thoughts on “A Touch Of Autumn

  1. That last picture is breathtaking. Such a gorgeous mountain!

    I can practically smell fall in this post! Unfortunately, we don’t get much of a fall. It stops being a 100 every day and we may get a few 60’s in the winter.
    One or two freezes…..SO glad the 100’s are over. We made it through a record breaking hot summer.
    🙂

    I really need to visit Virginia one day!

  2. OMG, Suzi, can I just tell you HOW MUCH I LOVED THIS POST!!!!!

    “Early Autumn harvests of pumpkins, apples, and grapes tantalize our senses. We are gifted with an array of color, texture, and taste…jack-o-lanterns, pumpkin pie, apple cider and pie, fresh grapes, and wine…I say bring it on!

    Yes, Fall is right around the corner.”

    *squealing with delight*

    Yup…..bring it on! This is my favorite time of the year – that gradual transition into Fall.

    Great post! Awesome photos!

    Thanks so much, my friend…..X

  3. That is beautiful pine cone, and it looks huge. Also … are those blueberries?! Ahhh, I love autumn. Not exactly the transition into it, because of the cold weather, but I love the colors and the scents and the homey feel. Congrats on being Pressed.

  4. Something about this post brings to my memory the many years of my life spent in Ohio and Michigan, where the apples smell so fresh at the mill where we purchased jugs of cider, where the colors of fall burst out everywhere. Thank you for a beautiful post. Blessings to you…

  5. Autumn seems to have hit with a distinction I don’t remember ever having experienced. One morning I went for a hike and it smelled like fall. There are no two ways about it, the season had changed overnight.

  6. You always have such beautiful photos. My favorite season is Autumn too. I love the berry shot. I’ve never seen those. But I live in the bluffs area of Wisconsin right along the Mississippi and I’m waiting one more weekend or two and plan to go hiking up the bluffs and get that grand aerial view of all the trees changed color. I know it will be awesome! Thanks for sharing this, and congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  7. Hi Suzi, congrats on being freshly pressed! I really like your writing style. Your post reads like poetry and is full of lyrical beats. Your photos are so rustic, simple yet enchanting.

    I’m a HUGE fan of nature myself and you’ve definitely captured that natural feeling in your photos.

    Thanks for posting!

  8. Hello from Northern England where Autumn is also starting turn the briefly purple moors back to their usual brown! It was good to read your post after I had just written about my Autumn thoughts here on Witchmountain. Enjoy the season x

  9. I’m one of those people who put my sweaters and winter clothes in a box for the summer, tucking them out of sight. This time of year is the big “switch around the closet” ritual…my personal true sign that Autumn as arrived.

    • I’ll bet the Aspens are incredible! They are such beautiful trees anyway. We went to an orchard this past weekend and they will be having their apple butter festival coming up soon. I was at one a few years ago, but didn’t have my camera with me…I’ll have to make a point of having it on me if we make the next one.

  10. Absolutely lovely! I was thinking about just how much I love fall during my run today and this perfectly encapsulated everything I cherish about it. It’s most certainly my favorite season 🙂

    • Mmmmm…what kind? I love the tart ones. Went to the orchard this weekend, but Granny Smiths weren’t in, however the Jonathans are really good. And so are the Grimes Golden and Galas!

  11. Thank you for your post! My favorite posts are those that inspire me to try something new with my own photography/post. I’m now thinking of how to capture lovely photos of the fall and put them onto my blog.

  12. Hi, Suziecate. Wonderful pictures. I am Puji Astuti, Indonesian.I am applying for a scholarship for PhD program in US. They will announce the result next week. Please pray for me so I can study there, enjoy its beauty, and be a better teacher. Thank you.

  13. I love Autumn, and I especially enjoy that crispness of the air, like everything just smells cleaner, fresher. And, it’s just one of my favorite seasons, along with spring. Your pictures are just gorgeous!

  14. As a Virginian, I am in love with this state. We moved here from Israel 26 years ago. We had our choice between two different states, and after much consideration, we chose Virginia. We’ve never regreted it. I think we’ve explored every inch of it, and like you we have the pictures that sing of its glorious beauty. Thanks for sharing and bringing back fond memories. In fact, I think I’ll go on a winery tour in a couple of weeks, just to roll around in the Fall. That’s what your pictures did for me!
    http://www.howthehelldidienduphere.wordpress.com

  15. I live in Montana and I can already smell it in the air. I love that smell, but it comes with a certain sense of dread, because I know the cold winter is soon to follow… consistently below zero temperatures before windchill is even factored in can be a bit depressing D:

  16. Very well done with the pictures and narratives. Fall by far is my favorite time of year. Things slow a little people seem to be not so stressed. The summer buzz seems to calm down, its time for hot apple cider camp fires and smores.

  17. Pingback: Colors of autumn… « amatulhafeez's blog

  18. wow.. is that your place? i love it..!
    the way you captured the majestic mountain is pretty much impressive!
    nice photograph actually.. you enhance the season change..
    congratulations!

  19. Pingback: I love Autumn! | Inside Out Cafe

  20. I thoroughly enjoyed this post, you make me miss home (NH) very much! Your writing is lovely and your pictures are fantastic. I will be checking back here for more, thanks!

  21. I love Autumn so much I named one of my daughters, born in October, Autumn Dawn. October is my birth month, too, and I always thought that must be why I love the fall season so much. But whatever the reason, when the sky gets October blue and leaves drift down and the earthy scents waft upward, look out! I want to cook, bake, craft, write, or create in general. Now…if we can just get rid of this rain…times a-wastin’!

  22. Pingback: A Touch Of Autumn (via The Water Witch’s Daughter) « My Media Arts Blog…

  23. Nice pictures! I think this is one of the reasons why I like to travel. You usually don’t see these kinds in Miami, FL.

    Congrats on being freshly pressed!

  24. My fiancee is half American, but has never had the opportunity to travel there. It is extremely high on our to-do list, even before kids. There are so many fantastic, breath-taking things to see in America that I believe you could spend a massive chunk of your life traversing it and miss a whole lot!!!

    Can’t wait, thanks for helping us add another, ‘must see’ to our list 😀

    • Being from the East Coast of the US, I only got to visit out West this past Autumn and I was totally blown away at the natural beauty, very unlike the region here but just as lovely in its own right. I don’t know that I’ll ever get to vist another country but there are truly so many places I’d love tos experience.

  25. Pingback: The Best Is Yet To Come « It Just Dawned On Me

  26. Pingback: Breaking News…Autumn Begins…Hooray « Doc Halloween Presents

  27. You’re in autumn and spring has just arrived. the wisteria is in flower and the jasmine is in bloom. But frankly I’d rather be going into winter. Pine cones always remind me of wonter and fires and hot chocolate. Thanks for the great shot

  28. Pingback: I love Autumn! « Inside Out Cafe

Leave a Reply

