A Walk On The Beach

The cure for anything is salt water – sweat, tears, or the sea.Β  ~Isak Dinesen

Saturday we walked along the bay. We could see the ships near the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and more off of Fort Story.

The sun was bright, the heat intense, and the water refreshing.

Wylie loves the ocean as long as she doesn’t go out too far. She has even gotten brave enough to charge into the waves. Of course, the waves are quite small and gentle on the bay side. She would probably be a bit more intimidated at the ocean front.

While I love walking in and out of the water, wet sand squishing between my toes, my head focused on the spectacular cloud display.

Wylie made many friends, people and dogs. This dog became her buddy. The dog chased the toy and Wylie chased her.

Wylie enjoyed the freedom of being able to run the beach without a leash…one of the great canine joys after Labor Day weekend.

I call this natural beach art.

Apparently “Dave” had staked his claim for the summer. Maybe Dave’s done for the season or maybe he had other plans…but there was no one hanging around his sign.

We had our fill of sand, surf, sun, and an ever slight salt breeze and hit the pavement heading back to our world.

For whatever we lose (like a you or a me),
It’s always our self we find in the sea.
~e.e.

****An added footnote: We saw these rounds things all over the beach. I thought they were stone until my husband asked me what they were and told me they were soft. Sure enough I poked it with my toe and it felt spongy. However I did not sniff them so I wouldn’t have known they were smelly! They made today’s news http://www.wvec.com/news/local/Smelly-blobs-wash-up-on-Va-beach-129655218.html

54 thoughts on “A Walk On The Beach

  1. I live very close to a beach, but quite different to yours. My beach is pebble, and right now it is wind-swept and probably cold. However, I always like to walk there and consider myself blessed to live by the sea.

    • I love quotes…always love searching for them. I wanted to go back at sunset and take pics until the hubby convinced me I wouldn’t be able to get sunset pics from there…still a stroll along the beach at dusk is nice.

  2. Pingback: Altared Spaces » summer’s sharing harvest

    • That is such a sweet story. I want mine scattered over the mountains and a river, two of my favorite spots, but maybe I should request a third of them to be scattered here at the beach.

  3. Lovely pics. I chuckled at Wylie and friend. I have, for so many years, lived in landlocked areas, yet I love the ocean. Maybe someday…

    Loved the mystery of the smelly lumps. However, after following your link, I found the mystery solved. Would make a good flash story though, don’tcha think?

  4. Nothing like sea breeze, salty air, and the rhythmic rolling of waves to make a person feel that all’s right with the world! I so miss living on the water — at least when it’s NOT hurricane season! Thanks for jogging my memories.

  5. After a whole week of rain we didn’t want to take a chance with our beach trip so cancelled it. Your post revived some of the desire to go and am glad I stopped by. I love the beach in good weather and the occasional rainy day. Didn’t want a whole week with rain there. I miss it already. Haven’t had a break this summer. Haven’t gone on vacation.
    Poor me. 😦 . Your pics will have to do. There’re great!

  6. Looking at your amazing photos, Suzi, it trulymade me miss my time spent living in Florida and being so close to the water.

    There is something so theraputic about spending time on a beach.

    The air, the water, the sand. It’s so healing.

    LOVE the shot of Willie and friend!

    And that blob most definitely looks like a rock – WOW!

    “The cure for anything is salt water – sweat, tears, or the sea. ~Isak Dinesen”

    Agreed!

    Thanks for sharing your day, my friend. I feel refreshed just reading about it.

    X

  7. Yay! Fun. That is a great picture of Wylie. Her tongue looks super long. πŸ™‚

    The reporter says, “Well the Health Department said there harmful.”

    A commentor on that page is not believing the “potato sponge” explanation.

  8. I was thinking of the contrast between this post and the one not long ago before Hurricane Irene was upon you. How great to see people at play so soon after such a scare. It’s not a surprise that the hurricane would affect life in the water, but I certainly had never heard of potato sponges. Glad I haven’t had to smell them.

    • It was nice to see kids romping in the water and flying kites, parents unwinding, and dogs living it up! I didn’t smell anything foul…but then again I did not stoop down and sniff!

  9. Great Photo’s, Suzi…I did love those mountainous shots you posted before, but on this post…you’re talking my language.

    Oh, and by the way….ewww…you kicked a “Whale” turd?

    Sorry…couldn’t resist…

    God Bless You
    paul

  10. Pingback: summer’s sharing harvest

  11. That’s pretty cool about the potato sponges. I’m glad you found out and shared what they were. . .all the way from the depths of the ocean.

Leave a Reply

