Peace Can Be Found Within The Storm

When we are present in each moment, the past gently rolls up behind us and the future slowly unravels before us. ~Rev Richard Levy
                                                                          

It’s true I’ve never given much thought to “symbolism” of animals or insects until recently. After a visit from two lunar moths in two days, I looked up the symbolism, it just so happened to fit with things that were happening at that time.

Saturday, just hours before Hurricane Irene’s arrival, while all was still quiet and calm, a praying mantis made his presence known in our back yard. So again I did a bit of research to see if the symbolism fit into our scheme of things…and again, maybe it’s coincidence.

Though I think if I were a bit more mindful, I’d find synchronicity all around me. I know that I often do when I’m in tune, but many times I let chaos flood my mind and I lose that connection which grounds me.

I found that it is said that praying mantis come to us when we need peace, calm, and quiet. What more of a perfect time than between an earthquake and a hurricane?

The symbolism of the mantis include stillness, awareness, creativity, patience, mindfulness, a sense of calm, balance, and intuition. This is why the mantis is referred to as a symbol of meditation and contemplation.

During a time of chaos, what could be more comforting than the feeling of stillness? Maybe it was an assurance that all would be well. Though I was at complete peace throughout the hurricane, I didn’t look up the mantis symbolism until well after the storm had passed.

I think in knowing that we had done all humanly possible to prepare and trusting in God to deliver us was enough. However, I did take comfort in knowing we had friends and family all over who were praying and sending positive thoughts and well wishes along the east coast. And of course, we had a growing Wylie trying to intimidate Irene!

43 thoughts on “Peace Can Be Found Within The Storm

  1. ” found that it is said that praying mantis come to us when we need peace, calm, and quiet. What more of a perfect time than between an earthquake and a hurricane?”

    “The symbolism of the mantis include stillness, awareness, creativity, patience, mindfulness, a sense of calm, balance, and intuition. This is why the mantis is referred to as a symbol of meditation and contemplation.

    That’s AMAZING, Suzi!

    I for one, truly believe in the symbolism of animals and insects.

    Wonderful post as usual, my friend.

    (((( Suzi ))))

    Thank you.

    Have a wonderful week…..X

    • I remember being told as a little girl that you’d go to jail if you killed one because they were on the endangered list…don’t know if there was any truth to it or not, but I was always fascinated when I came upon one.

  2. You should write/photograph for National Geographic, Suzi. Your pictures are amazing.

    I’ve heard lots about animal symbolism. It seems the entire North American Indian culture was (and maybe still is) based on animal totems. However, I’ve never heard of insect symbolism. Fascinating! And very interesting in your particular case. Where did you find this information?

  3. Every year we see one or two of these elegant creatures on our deck or lawn. Now I will see if they are related to when there is chaos in our lives. Thank you for this post.

  4. These insects, while fascinating, have always given me the creeps. Maybe it’s the “spikes” sticking out of their front legs; maybe it’s their big-eyed expression. Still, it’s cool the way they fold their legs and look for all the world like they’re praying!

  5. One of the harmless little creatures, coming to you for comfort and offering calm in return.

    This is so beautifully symbolic, SuziCate! Thank you for sharing soul warming contemplation.

    We are all one…lest we forget.

  6. I love praying mantis . . . even more now!

    The symbolism of the mantis include stillness, awareness, creativity, patience, mindfulness, a sense of calm, balance, and intuition. This is why the mantis is referred to as a symbol of meditation and contemplation.

    Aah . . . that’s better. _/!\_

  7. YES! and you had ‘blog’ friends praying for you out here on the west coast too. Taking time to pray with positive intent in a peaceful way is a good thing, perhaps the praying mantis was a reminder as well as asking for human help to include all species who would potentially lose their homes and lives at this time.

    When I lived on the east coast I looked forward to the “praying” mantis in my backyard during the summer months, each season brought forth certain creepy crawling & winged & four footed creatures that would grace us with their beauty—-I hope they return after all these storms.

    joanny

    • I am grateful to each of you…I felt the love my way.
      It had been a long time since I’d seen a praying mantis. I’ve wondered where some of these little creatures seek refuge during bad weather.

  8. I think it’s good and easy to find spiritual peace in our sychronicity with nature. Maybe it’s coincidence or maybe it’s the universe finding a way to say trust in your faith. I like the latter idea though.

    ♥Spot

  9. The praying mantis was perhaps sent to you as a living, breathing, reminder of all the prayers that were being sent for your safety and well-being. I do believe that The Divine speaks to us through creation. We need only, as you say, to step out of the chaos and be attentive.
    walk in beauty, dear one.

    • When I’m closed I miss things all around me…when I’m aware, oh the beauty of the world. And that is why I like being out in nature, I wake up and feel alive!

  10. I remember as a teenager finding one in the cedar tree outside the trailer. It bit the crap out of me so it wasn’t so peaceful. I think I thunked it on the head in retaliation and it bit me again! So much for my brush with symbolism and praying mantis!

    • Only you that would happen to! Kinda like hitting your head, not once but three times, on the pole at Lumpkins…got a pic when we went through there a few months ago…and no more poles, somebody else musta’ hit their noggin, too!

  11. Interesting post. My sister always loved preying mantises. I found them to be a bit creepy. Not exactly sure what that means.

  12. I’ve always liked earwigs –
    and I’ve had two encounters
    that struck me as wierd –
    once an earwig pushed a
    dead lady bug into my path
    and left it at my feet like a
    gift – on another occiasion,
    I found an especially large
    and attractive one with a golden
    thorax in the sink while washing
    dishes.

Leave a Reply

