A Year Of Loss

We never understand how little we need in this world until we know the loss of it. ~James Matthew Barrie

This has been a year of loss for most of us.

It’s no secret the economy sucks. Most of us have been greatly affected financially. Many of us have lost our butts. Do any of us remember what a 401K plan was?

Due to the declining economy, many have lost their jobs. Small businesses have been hit particularly hard. In turn, many of those people have lost their homes. Some have found other jobs, but needed to relocate to make a living, leaving their families and friends behind.

Others have lost their homes and material possessions due to natural disasters such as flooding, earthquakes, and tornados. They’ve had to somehow gather resources and rebuild their lives.

We’ve lost our pride for trusting in the wrong people to help us out of this mess. Unfortunately they’re the very ones who got us into it in the first place. When we will ever learn? But then again where else can we turn? Those very people lost their heads; I’m talking about Congress here. It seems their own welfare means more to them than the people…maybe they will just lose the votes at election time…

Many of us have suffered the loss of loved ones for various reasons. My family has lost a number of relatives this year. Loss of life is the most difficult loss of all. People can’t be replaced.

And throughout this year of loss, we have gained in terms of infinite wisdom. We’ve learned that we really can live with less “things”. Even though money does make life easier, it doesn’t buy happiness. We’ve learned how resourceful we can be. We’ve learned to lean on one another and to share with others. We’ve even come to know ourselves through the grieving process. Above all, we’ve learned to appreciate all who are in our lives and all we have.

Though we seem to lose more and more time every day, we gain memories to replace those moments. Throughout our losses, love still sustains us.

38 thoughts on “A Year Of Loss

  1. You wise young woman, Suzicate. You speak the truth – the very thing that does set us free. It can be unkind to say that there is purpose in all things, but, in truth, it is only through experience that we gain the essentials in life. We never gain them from theory. Or from being untrue to ourselves.

    A great post, my friend.

    • Losing my brother was difficult, but I’ve learned much about life (and death) through it. I only wish I’d opened my eyes to the lessons he was living while he was here.

  2. Ah, Suzi – you’re inspirational. It’s so easy to see the glass half empty in this day and age, with everything that’s going on, but you’re looking at the positive side, at the way people have banded together and comforted one another, helped one another. It’s incredible, and I think that your outlook is so much healthier than so many others. Thank you, as always, for seeing the good side of things. You help me remember that we’re all able to do that, and that it helps.

  3. Future pretty bleak for today’s grads. If you get a job its no pension, no health care or other benefits, few holidays and no sick time and no vacation. $8.50 an hour. Take it or leave it. In Miami with real unemployment at 20% most people take it.

  4. What an uplifting and inspiring post, Suzi!

    Your last paragraph sums it up so perfectly…

    “And throughout this year of loss, we have gained in terms of infinite wisdom. We’ve learned that we really can live with less “things”. Even though money does make life easier, it doesn’t buy happiness. We’ve learned how resourceful we can be. We’ve learned to lean on one another and to share with others. We’ve even come to know ourselves through the grieving process. Above all, we’ve learned to appreciate all who are in our lives and all we have.”

    Amen!

    Thank you for sharing this reminder, my friend!

    Have a great day……X

    • You are certainly welocme, Ron. Peggy told me you called her to check on me about the earthquake, Thank you. Scared the crap out of me, but otherwise fine. Now, we’re bracing for Irene.

  5. What a wonderful post. I’ve been teary all morning for no reason anyway, but this made me tear up again. Even as we lose things, we do fill the space of loss with wisdom, strength and the light of love and hope.

  6. Suzicate, I know you’ve had a very difficult year. On thing though, it seems that you are a person who knows how to “capture some happy” and hold it for yourself. Sure, money is tight for a lot of people and that sucks, but when I see the photos you put on here, and read your beautiful words, I know you’ve been successful. Walking in beauty has far more value than money. And you do that very well.

  7. I agree with Linda in the above post…absolutely.

    In my seven decades on earth, I have seen many different things affect the world…the end of WWII, the beginning and end of the Korean War and the Viet Nam War, the terrible droughts around the world, and famine, the Tiananmen Square massacre.

    I’ve also seen bobby soxers dance and danced with them, the opening of the gates to East Germany in Berlin, the decade of the flower children and make love, not war, periods of great prosperity.

    I have learned:

    1. Tragedy brings people together on a deep level that joy and prosperity does not.

    2. Some people dig deep into their kindness and courage when faced with deprivation.

    3. Some people become greedier in times of prosperity.

    4. Although you can see the best of humanity in times of both tragedy/deprivation and joy/prosperity, but strangely more often in the former.

    This year of loss will pass, and the survivors are the happy ones who know how to reach out to others and retain their hope in themselves, their community, and the future.

    • You have much wisdom to share from you life experiences. I think we do have a choice in life of living as a victim or a victor…and we both know which ones are the happy ones!

  8. It’s probably true that what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger. At least it makes us re-prioritize what’s important in life. Yours are wise words. We had one of those years in 2005; lost 2 uncles to cancer, had to put down our family dog (for lymphoma); death of a friend in a tragic accident…and I had back surgery! Yes, I look at like differently now.

  9. Yes, it’s been a rough year all around, and you’ve captured my feelings exactly! As my dad used to say, There’s enough pain and misery in this old world for all of us. He wasn’t being pessimistic, just practical. While we have troubles here, our faith tells us to hold on for the best is yet to come. And those of us who’ve read the Bible know the end — God wins!

    • I htink appreciating what we do have and not focusing on the things we don’t have lessesn our loads…and no “we” are never in control of life, only in the choices we make.

  10. Beautiful post, Suzi.

    At first I wondered how all that money “evaporated” so quickly. And then I realized that the rich had siphoned it off to have more and more and more than they could ever use in a single lifetime.

    I wonder what they think of themselves when they look around at the devastation they have caused?

  11. Money comes and goes. Personally, the happiest times in my life have been when I’ve been near the brink. My best friends are still the guys I lived with during the lean months at the beginning of recession, when we were all just graduated, unemployed. We’d walk through the snow putting in applications, pick up odd jobs, and check supermarket dumpsters for food–then combine what we had at the end of the night. Some of us would cook, some of us would chop firewood, because we couldn’t afford to turn on the gas heater. Later on we’d play ping pong, laugh, and feed the fire in our one lit room.

    We’re never so alive as when life is hard.

  12. Well said Suizcate. It is time to focus on living with less. Though I tend to be overly pessimistic, we (as a country) have been writing checks that we can’t back for too long. I don’t see things getting better any time soon.

  13. The sea consumes all – ships
    our homes our livelyhoods, and
    if you visit a beach – like I did
    this summer – you shall see that
    it also consumes . . .

    – human dignity 🙂

  14. Couldn’t agree with you more. I have been living without for a long time,… by choice thank-you. I’am very greatful for all that i have which makes me ok with my living status. For people who have loss so much more and can’t get back to center my heart gose out to them. Taking more control fof your life is better than leaving it up to someone else. When people run for office they often don’t tell the truth,so you adjust, not to what they promise but to what if they don’t keep there word. Saying that you want the country to default. Is reckless and mean sprited. When i think of all the lives that would have been lost it boggles the mind. We need more love in the world.Period.

    • Often, we have no idea how we can get back without the things we want until we don’t have them.
      I can’t imagine anyone really wants the country to default…most are hoping for some good changes because the economy currently stinks.
      In the end, love does prevail.

    • It take a lot of reflection (for many anway) to get to the certainty , or what I perceive it is, to where I can accept the loss for the benefit of the triumph…not saying it is easy but it is the better choice. I remind myself of the lesoon involved.

Leave a Reply

