Stairway To Heaven

We climb to heaven most often on the ruins of our cherished plans, finding our failures were successes. ~Amos Bronson Alcott

We often follow the manuals of life provided by others. We take it step by step not expecting to be waylaid from the instructions…however things don’t always turn out the way others tell us or we plan.

Nature’s stairways lead us to beautiful places. Life’s stairways do the same. Sometimes we aren’t aware that in fact we are taking the first or second step to a new scene in life. We just look back someday and see the stairs we climbed.

We have literal staircases, natural and manmade, and we contain internal stairways. Among these passages we each have our own personal staircase/connection to the Almighty. So do we really need someone else to build us a staircase or an escalator to get there?

We often think we build our own staircases, but do we really? Maybe we simply climb the stairs provided. Or maybe we are just treading along and heaven scales the staircase to walk along with us.

37 thoughts on “Stairway To Heaven

  1. Actually, I love that song (and this post and your gorgeous photos). Still, I am so glad you didn’t have music playing here. It almost gives me a heart attack when music starts pouring out of my computer when I reading something. I find it very distracting!

    • I think everyone loves that song! I hate going to sights with music playing as well. In fact, I don’t usually read blogs with music on them…only one which has great photography and inspirational words.

  2. What an excellent post!

    LOVE the title!

    “We often think we build our own staircases, but do we really? Maybe we simply climb the stairs provided. Or maybe we are just treading along and heaven scales the staircase to walk along with us.”

    Amen, Suzi!

    You and I share the exact same thoughts on this.

    Life creates me.

    “We climb to heaven most often on the ruins of our cherished plans, finding our failures were successes. ~Amos Bronson Alcott”

    Love that quote!

    Thank you for another thought provoking post, my friend! Great photos too!

    X

  3. Loved it, Suzi!

    When we are open to possibilities, I expect the staircase appears before us . . . one rung at a time. Once we’ve experienced that rung, the next step on the ladder appears.

  4. I have noticed that sometimes in life we don’t even realize that there is an incline, that we are actually climbing or the distance we have climbed until we look back or see the view at the top. Love the picts of your natural steps ….

  5. d she’s buying a stairway to heaven! I will have that stuck in my head the rest of the day. But I guess it could be worse. I happen to love that song so I guess it’s not so bad to be stuck in there!

  6. Hmmm. I have never actually thought of stairs in relation to life. Or at least not in depth. The closest I have related stairs to life is in connection to “House of Stairs” I read as a child.

    I love the pictures. But you know I love your pictures. 🙂

    • I try to throw thoughts out there to make everyone else as dizzy as me because I seem to always be wondering about one thing or another whether I verbalize it or not.

  7. All the stairways I’ve built for myself to climb have led me back to the bottom to start over again, Those God has put before me, however, have led me to the top.

    And, please, don’t equate those words to the Beetles song, Helter Skelter…

    But, speaking of “Ear-Worms” I am bad about leaving those impossible to get rid of ones in peoples heads…like
    “Five … Five … Five dollar foot…Longs…
    You can thank me later…He he
    God Bless You
    paul

Leave a Reply

