It’s A Beautiful World!

Beauty isn’t a special inserted sort of thing. It is just life, pure life, life nascent, running clear and strong. –HG Wells, quoted in Michael Foot’s The History of Mr. Wells

It is a beautiful world. So walk in it.

Enjoy these gifts that have been bestowed upon us. 

Let your senses take over and transport your mind away from the worries of the world.

Bask in the aroma of the flowers, the touch of a gentle breeze, the taste of sea salt, the colors of the sunset, or the cadence of a bubbling brook.

Whatever you choose, walk in beauty. Joss  reminds us daily to walk in beauty, and I feel obligated and honored to pass on the sentiment.

My dear,

A soul that sees beauty may sometimes walk alone.

For the world has given up on beauty. It doesn’t believe in fairytales anymore, or happy endings.

So a soul that sees beauty is a soul thought to be insane by the majority. They call it stuck up, delusional, and abnormal – all because it sees something better that it can hold out for.

But, if my words mean anything – hold out for that beauty. Walk alone until you grab it. The pain of walking alone against the stream is worth it.

Truly yours,
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Native American Prayer

Oh, Great Spirit
Whose voice I hear in the winds,
And whose breath gives life to all the world,
hear me, I am small and weak,
I need your strength and wisdom.
Let me walk in beauty and make my eyes ever behold
the red and purple sunset.
Make my hands respect the things you have
made and my ears sharp to hear your voice.
Make me wise so that I may understand the things
you have taught my people.
Let me learn the lessons you have
hidden in every leaf and rock.

I seek strength, not to be greater than my brother,
but to fight my greatest enemy – myself.
Make me always ready to come to you
with clean hands and straight eyes.
So when life fades, as the fading sunset,
my Spirit may come to you without shame.

46 thoughts on “It’s A Beautiful World!

  1. Oh My! Your sky shot took my breath away. BTW, I didn’t include you in the meme on my post today b/c I figured your sister already tagged you with it months ago. But, for the record, you are awesome! 🙂

    • I hadn’t gotten over to your blog yet, but I will. Thanks for the awesome compliment. I don’t do the memes or awards any more and haven’t for probably a year. It just takes too much time away from the kind of writing I want to do. I am thankful for the sentiments, but I always seem to have things I want to write about when I get the time to actually write.

  2. Beautiful prayer. If I wasn’t a Christian the Native American spiritualism would be my next choice. Their prohibitive animism is actually very sophisticated because it inspires a reverence for all thing living and inanimate as well.

    • They are respectful of all. I grew up on what was once indian territory and was told my great grandmother was native. However, when my cousin did the dna testing for genealogy it concluded there was no native heritage…imagine my devastation. I still claim it as my heritage anyway; it is by heart and soul!

  3. Suzi, this post felt as though I was in meditation.

    Between your AWESOME photos and beautiful words, I literally feel like a took a walking meditation. It was faaaaaaabulous!

    And so is that last photo of the sky. Geesh, you capture a perfect image!

    Enjoyed the Native American Prayer too!

    Thank you, my friend. You are so intuned to nature!

    X

  4. This soothes my soul after learning about the fires in your last post. Your photos are grand! I identify very much with Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. I will keep walking, even against the current. Beauty is everywhere.

  5. Lovely, lovely, lovely! 😀

    My fave: Bask in the aroma of the flowers, the touch of a gentle breeze, the taste of sea salt, the colors of the sunset, or the cadence of a bubbling brook.

    Aah . . . that’s better.

    • That waterfall was on a hike we went on while on vacation. The entire creek was filled with beautiful falls. I hope to go back there again, maybe in the late fall and camp over ngiht.

  6. Your nature shots and poems are almost as good as actually being there. Makes me want to hike and swim in the wild just like you. If the weather holds we just may this weekend. I’d like to drive to the Skyline Drive and see the views.

    • Actually, I do that quite often. This time I wanted to post today so I can respond to comments. I always have stuff in my draft files…but not always sure what I want to schedule to post…silly, I know!

  7. I must have heard that Native American Prayer somewhere before, but I don’t remember it. Anyway, it’s just beautiful, and I thank you for posting it for all of us to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

