The Scenic Route

In God’s wildness lies the hope of the world—the great fresh unblighted, unredeemed wilderness. –John Muir, Our National Parks

Dirt Man and I drove the Blue Ridge Parkway on Saturday. We stopped at a few of the scenic overlooks to view mountains and valleys. I had to get a shot of this tree for Linda as she sometimes gets a little freaked by trees.

This is at the same overlook.

This awesome rock is at the Humpback Rock picnic area. How many faces do you see staring back at you?

Our favorite scenic overlook is Ravens Roost.

From here you get a clear view of both the nearby mountains and the valleys below.

This also a favorite spot for rock climbers.

These guys are repelling. They are tying off to the tree. You can see their equipment hanging from the tree.

Adventure is not without danger. You can see a monument left at the tree base in between the rocks for someone who didn’t make it back up. I think someone was killed back in June due to equipment failure. This overlook is also a favorite spot for hang gliders as well. I’m not brave enough to attempt either of those sports, but I do find it fascinating to watch others.

The clearest way into the universe is through a forest wilderness. –John Muir, John of the Mountains

41 thoughts on “The Scenic Route

  1. It’s so beautiful. The colors are amazing. I can’t wait to see mountains at the end of this month. Right now, all the concrete of Dallas is blazing. We are about to break the record from 1980 of the most over 100 degree days in a row. Yikes!

    The pictures sure look nice (and cooler). 🙂

  2. Some things never change. These views look just the same as I remember from 1961 when my family made a pilgrimage from New Mexico to the Capitol. We went the long way round, coming home through Boston, New York, Providence, Niagara Falls and Chicago.

    We did not see the rappelling people though. I don’t think all that gear had been invented yet, though the technique had surely been around for eons.

    How do you manage to write such gorgeous and provocative pieces every single day?

    • What a lovely compliment, Sharon. Thank you. I have no purpose in mind or wisdom to share when I write…I just take things from my surroundings and write from the heart, sometimes it ends up being about nature and life and other times snippets from the past.

    • That was at the recreation area…we didn’t actually hike humpback this time. In fact it’s been a few years, but the view is gorgeous from there…will post pics if we end up doing it at some point.

  3. I absolutely love driving along the Blue Ridge Parkway/Skyline Drive. It is so breathtaking. Literally for me. I love it but in some places I get so scared I literally feel like I can’t breathe!

  4. Stunning photos, Suzi!

    The ones of the overlook took my breath away!

    “These guys are repelling. They are tying off to the tree. You can see thier equipment hanging from the tree.”

    Yikes….I would freak!!!!

    That last shot is wonderful because you really get a feel for just how HIGH up you were.

    Thanks for sharing, my friend! Have a great weekend!

    X

  5. Okay, now you get it. You know that tree is scary looking too! I’m so glad it’s not just me!

    Gorgeous scenery but since I’m terrified of heights, I couldn’t go there. Plus, I’m sure there are a lot of nature things in that area like bugs, and corpses and even aliens. But you take wonderful photos and that’s just like being there without the nature part. Thanks Suzicate!

    • Yes, she is so I tease her now and then with trees that I think are a bit haunting! I won’t be doing any of that adventurous stuff either…way too chicken!

  6. Wow, this place is gorgeous. I broke into a sweat looking over the edge into the valley. There is absolutely no way I could ever rappel down steep rocks.

    Sad picture that showed the memorial cross near the rappelling gear. The risk of living is death.

  7. Love the Blue Ridge Parkway! Drove it on the way from SC to NY. I really liked the way it was hardly wider than the road in places. It was strange to see valleys on the left, then a hundred yards down the road valleys on the right. It really is like a wall stretching up the East Coast.

  8. I miss the mountains a lot! We lived in Denver when I was little and I really want to go back and visit the Rockies. Sean just went through them on a train to New Mexico. He was amazed!

    Beautiful photos Suzi! Thanks for sharing them!

    ♥Spot

    • Sean is really getting a great summer of experience and adventure this year…Go, Sean! I hope he takes lots of pics to share with you guys. I know his stories are fabulous as he gets that ability from his mom!

  9. Ohhh I love this! On my author page I have a link to a series I titled “journey in pixels” & i have pics from the Cherohala Skyway and such. I love driving through the mountains. Is inspiring, spiritual and peaceful. Your photos are beautiful! Makes me wana go for a ride! 🙂

Leave a Reply

