Flora And Fauna

I love nature, I love the landscape, because it is so sincere. It never cheats me. It never jests. It is cheerfully, musically earnest. I lie and relie on the earth. –Henry David Thoreau, journal, November 16, 1850

Fire burst through the bank, ash clinging.  No, we did not eat the mushrooms.

I didn’t know zebras lived in the woods! We did not eat these shrooms either…my luck is that I’d pick the poison ones and kill myself!

Sunshine tap danced through the fields and kicked just one step higher than its counterparts. No, I left the beautiful wildflowers so that others could enjoy the view.

The sweet scent of wild cherries was an invitation to dessert. I did not try these, but Dirt Man said they were both sweet and tart.

Every once in a while, it was as if God whispered for us to stop and behold the beauty of what He has placed before us. We left these beauties in nature’s canvas for all to view.

Huckleberries (wild blueberries) grew abundantly in the tallest (and seemingly dryest at times) areas of the mountains. Huckleberries are much tinier and sweeter than blueberries. Ok, I ate these by the handfuls…so delicious!

Delectable red raspberries graced the valleys. I ate these, too. They were wonderful alone and in fruit salad.

We even saw coffee trees. No, we did not pick beans or try to make coffee from them.

We did not have these trout for dinner. However, Dirt Man did catch some on the river, and I must say that smoked fresh river trout is divine.

We watched this little guy swim across the creek. No, we did not make turtle soup!

There is much in nature to sustain us physically and spiritually. It is a wonderful journey.

As a husband embraces his wife’s body in faithful tenderness, so the bare ground and trees are embraced by the still, high, light of the morning. I feel an ache of longing to share in this embrace, to be united and absorbed. A longing like carnal desire, but directed towards earth, water, sky, and returned by the whispers of the trees, the fragrance of the soil, the caresses of the wind, the embrace of water and light. Content? No, no, no—but refreshed, rested—while waiting. –Dag Hammarskjold

50 thoughts on “Flora And Fauna

    • I thought about grabbing some of those beans to take home and roast and grind, but the hubby didn’t think it would be good. (We have discriminate tastes when it comes to our coffee!!!)

  1. I am wondering what the difference is between your “huckleberries” and our wild blueberries. The plant looks different … wild blueberries grow close to the ground and the leaves are smaller than what is in your picture. But, the blueberries are very small (and packed with more flavor) compared to the blueberries farmers grow.
    This time of year is a great time to go hiking in the woods … hunting for food .. it is everywhere if you know what you are looking at. Wild raspberries are growing right outside my door.
    I would have been tempted to try the coffee beans (that is something that would not be found up here)

  2. “There is much in nature to sustain us physically and spiritually. It is a wonderful journey.”

    You said it, Suzi! You and I feel the same way about nature. It’s a spiritual experience and I so enjoy taking these tours you offer us.

    Loved ALL these photos!

    And I have to chime in with Cindy….

    ” I don’t think I’d have been able to resist the coffee. :)”

    Have a lovely day, my friend!

    X

    • Oh, thank you so much. I live in the city, too. However, I was born and raised in the sticks, so I”m just a country girl at heart and head to the woods every chance I get!

  3. Take only pictures . . . and as many Huckleberries and Raspberries as you can consume! 😀

    Wonderful stroll.

    I wouldn’t have recognized that as coffee pods without your narration. Thanks.

    • The coffee tree is actually on the side of the road back in the country. I admire them every time we drive by…did not know what kind of tree until Dirt Man told me. I made him stop that day so I could take a pic.

  4. Something just kept bothering me and then I searched.

    The “coffee” tree is a Dragon Tree (http://dendro.cnre.vt.edu/dendrology/syllabus2/factsheet.cfm?ID=895); related to the Royal Paulownia. The trees are fast growing and their wood is very valuable! I suppose the tree adapted a “local” name, but I wouldn’t eat their fruit.

    Now there is a Kentucky Coffeetree (http://dendro.cnre.vt.edu/dendrology/syllabus/factsheet.cfm?ID=158); you can even roast the beans, as the poor did in the Depression.

  5. Beautiful photos. OH! how it feasts the eye!

    What you call raspberries we call wine berries. We have enough on our property to make four pies and eat as many as we want before they go bad.

    We always look forward to picking them. And making pies.

    Thank you for this luscious post!

  6. Thanks for the berry sharing. We have missed the ones in the forested areas of our neighborhood as the land was cleared for more homes, and the kids just aren’t ready for long hikes yet.

  7. I agree with LeRoy Dean. And I laughed at your reply. Never boring, my friend. I LOVE your outside pictures because I am not an outside person. When I do go to the forest I love it, but I don’t make it there often. I seem to be allergic to so much it is easier to just stay inside.

    You do make me long to go . . . I’ll let you know when I do!

Leave a Reply

