Chasing Rainbows

God puts rainbows in the clouds so that each of us- in the dreariest and most dreaded moments- can see a possibility of hope. ~ Maya Angelou

The rain beat upon the roof more diligently than a strumming woodpecker in the forest. Thunder clapped its progress. No lightening. Still we watched and listened. Other than the frizzing of my hair, I found it somewhat soothing. We were overdue for dinner somewhere, so we headed out into what had halted to a drizzle.

 As we were driving we were delighted to find there was a rainbow in front of us. Yay,we were chasing a rainbow…actually rainbows. It was a double rainbow! However, it seemed to disappear when Dirt Man pulled over to take a picture.  As we turned off on another road, I decided to take a few more shots. Though I could no longer see the second rainbow, to my astonishment it showed up faintly in the photographs.

So does this mean there are two pots of gold? Or must we eat two bowls (or one and a half since technically we can only see a part of the second rainbow) of Lucky Charms? Or do we simply have double vision?

The Christian symbolism of a rainbow is God’s covenant with HIs people. Therefore, some say a rainbow symbolizes blessings. Does this mean a double blessing? (Or a blessing and a half?!) Others say that a rainbow is a sign of peace or hope. They also say that a double rainbow symbolizes transformation. Remember that was the symbolism for the luna moth? And others just say it is a sign of good things to come. Hmmmm….I just say life itself is good.  There are always good things waiting for us if we approach life with the right attitude, rainbow or not, single or double. And yes, even the rain is nice.

The soul would have no rainbow had the eyes no tears. ~John Vance Cheney

36 thoughts on “Chasing Rainbows

  1. Beautiful pictures! I just love rainbows…

    I agree that our attitude has a lot to do with what we get out of life. If we look for the good, that’s what we will remember. Of course, bad things happen, but we can’t dwell on that – especially if we’re chasing rainbows 🙂

  2. “God puts rainbows in the clouds so that each of us- in the dreariest and most dreaded moments- can see a possibility of hope. ~ Maya Angelou”

    I LOVE that quote!

    And holy cow….what GORGEOUS rainbows, Suzi!!!!

    I had no idea that a double rainbow symbolizes transformation!?! How cool.

    This made me howl…..

    “So does this mean there are two pots of gold? Or must we eat two bowls (or one and a half since technically we can only see a part of the second rainbow) of Lucky Charms? Or do we simply have double vision?”

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    And you’re so right, my friend…..

    “There are always good things waiting for us if we approach life with the right attitude, rainbow or not, single or double.”

    Thanks for sharing, Suzi! Have a wonderful Wednesday!

    X

  3. Rainbows are delightful. I’ve always felt they were magical. They really are like a little surprise gift! Kinda of like a ladybug. I love those too. Great photos and lovely write up, (as always).

  4. You always some of the nicest pictures on your posts. And I got a lesson in rainbows. There was much I didn’t know about it. Hugs, Marie.

  5. I love rainbows. And I love that quote! I think it reminds us that if we didn’t have pain, we wouldn’t recognize joy. And that is an important point to remember.

    Great post! Lovely pics!

    ♥Spot

  6. I love rainbows. They are so pretty. The way the rain happens and the light reflects in this area must be specific because we often have rainbows in a certain spot near the hills where we live. It is odd and wonderful. It (and sometimes two) can be seen when driving to our house.

    I will call my hubby when he is on his way home and tell him to look out for them.

    Such a happy feeling they seem to incite.

    Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

