Pinnacle Rock

Climb the mountains and get their good tidings. Nature’s peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees. The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop off like autumn leaves. ~John Muir

The trail to Pinnacle Rock is one that Dirt Man and our sons have hiked several times. This was the first time for Wylie and me.

The hike starts at the meadows of Crabtree Falls. Wylie enjoyed the coolness and scent of the meadow grass. I think she would have been content to have rolled around in it for the remainer of the day.

There were uncountable fallen trees across the trail. We could climb over most of them, but a few were high enough that we walked under them. Others were so large that we had to crawl through or detour around them. The fallen trees were the most challenging obstacles of the hike as it was relatively simple.

The flora of the area is lovely and aromatic. There are many wildflowers, plants, mushrooms, fungi, and fruit trees.

This looks to me like something that should be thriving on the ocean floor rather than the forest floor.

This is a fascinating specimen growing on a log.

This is Pinnacle Rock. I am sitting on top of the mountain taking in the majestic view of the surrounding mountains.

Huckeberries (a wild form of blueberries) grow around the crags of the rock formations.

The air is fresh and the view is breathtaking.

I love to think of nature as an unlimited broadcasting station, through which God speaks to us every hour, if we will only tune in.  ~George Washington Carver

What else can one do but sit in awe and wonder of our mighty creator?

41 thoughts on “Pinnacle Rock

  1. Beautiful post, Suzi. I think we may have climbed Pinnacle Rock at one point ~ it sounds and looks quite familiar to me.

    Except for the sea creature. 😀

  2. Suzi, that view from Pinnacle Rock is stunning!

    Your photographs are wonderful because they truly capture the essence of your day.

    “This looks to me like something that should be thriving on the ocean floor rather than the forest floor.”

    That’s exactly what I thought when I saw it – almost looks like a coral.

    “I love to think of nature as an unlimited broadcasting station, through which God speaks to us every hour, if we will only tune in. ~George Washington Carver”

    I LOVE THAT!!!!!!!!

    Thank you for sharing the awe and wonder of our mighty creator.

    Amen!

    X

  3. It all looks so pretty. And I’m glad you and Wylie didn’t get taken by aliens or bitten by spiders or fall off the edge. Those trees look like they could have evil intentions and I’ m glad you went, so now I don’t have to.

  4. Wow, gorgeous view! This would be right up John’s alley, he wants to hike with me in our area, only everything is so flat, we’d need to go up North to do anything remotely “hike-able”.

  5. absolutely beautiful photos and how you describe….we do have an awesome creator and so glad He put us here to enjoy it

    Cheryl

  6. Wow, that place is beautiful. Tell me there are no mosquitoes and I’m there.

    My kids would have a field day with the mushrooms, I’m forever screaming (across the playground) at them to “DROP IT!!!” after they pick up strange looking varieties. I guess it sounded like I talk to them like dogs…

  7. Thanks for letting us tag along and get a glimpse of the view without working.

    Also nice for the authorities to clarify that no hang gliders are allowed–I am sure you all were just dying to broad side a tree in one of those.

Leave a Reply

