Traces Of Childhood

We could never have loved the earth so well if we had had no childhood in it.  ~George Eliot, The Mill on the Floss, 1860

…creeks that invite you to take off your shoes and roll up your pant legs

…red clay dirt road runs uphill to the base of the mountain where family gathers

…power lines stretch for miles, eventually leading to “civilization”

…nature’s homegrown fence post

…grassy knolls that lead to sunshine and laughter

…fields of Black-eyed Susans and Queen Anne’s Lace inviting you to run wild and free

…clinging roots and mossy banks remind one of life’s delicate balance, the place in which we all hang

Home is a place you grow up wanting to leave, and grow old wanting to get back to.  ~John Ed Pearce

49 thoughts on “Traces Of Childhood

    • Funny how we don’t appreciate the beauty when we’re young. We can’t wait to leave because we think it’s “boring”! It takes growing up to be appreciative of nature in all it’s glory…at least it did for me.

  1. I have said it before and i will say it again, I found my piece of nature where I live now with six and half acres of land and a small fish pond with an heron in it and frogs. Our dog runs free. there are over three hundred acres behind us full of streams and mountains and paths for exploring if you can ignore the no trespassing sign. And since we live right there we feel the land is part ours and we ignore the no trespassing sign for we are friends of him who is in trust of it. We leave it better than when we found it.
    One day I’ll come home with a new camera.

  2. How I wish I had photos of the mountains and canyons of northern New Mexico that I long to revisit. There is no going back. After the fires, the mountains look like bald chemo victims. “My” canyon is intact, but would not be the same. I am so thankful for memories!

    • Memories are to be cherished. I am fortunate that all of this several hundred acreage homestead still belongs to the family and I can roam the land at leisure when we visit. (well, except during hunting season. I went out west for the first time last fall. I was surprised at how vastly different yet equally beautiful the landsacape was. I thought everything would be a dull brown without greenery…I was quite wrong. I also was surprised at the shades of green which are much unlike that of the east coast. All I can say is that nature is truly amazing.

  3. Suzi, I can’t tell you enough how much I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE when you share these pictorial narratives.

    They’re always so incredibly enlightening!

    Beautiful photos. Especially the one of the fence post.

    Stunning words…..”clinging roots and mossy banks remind one of life’s delicate balance, the place in which we all hang.”

    You said it, girl! And again, thank you for sharing.

    Have a wonderful day……..X

  4. You could do multiple calendars. “Childhood Planet” “Waterfalls” “Weeds (crossed out then it says Flowers)” “Wild Wylie” You could sell ’em. I know you could. Beautiful pictures!!!

  5. Children really are the ones who most experience the earth. They take the time to study bugs and flowers and dirt. Lovely pictures, that ‘natural’ fence post is cool.

  6. Your last quote is so true … I am one of the lucky ones that got to move back home. Traces of my childhood would be … a log cabin, fishing boat/poles, pine trees, dirt roads, the lake.

  7. That John Ed Pearce quote is so true (hence me moving back to my hometown and losing an assload of money on our old house to do so).

    The Black-eyed Susans and Queen Anne’s Lace remind me of my gram. We don’t have them growing wild here in FL but every summer while I was in NY, she and I would keep the vases stocked with them from our side of the road picking trips.

Leave a Reply

