Writing For The Soul Of It

Living Out Loud volume 29: On Writing

Writing is the axe that breaks the frozen sea within us. ~Frank Kafka

I almost continuously have a running dialogue going in my head…in some ways I consider it writing even if those words never hit the page. I often lack the courage to give those words a voice, and other times I might not be anywhere near pen and paper or computer. Many times these things hit me in the middle of the night, and I even visualize the words appearing on my keyboard though I never rise to do so. By morning I’ve forgotten the words, but sometimes I carry the basic sentiment into the light of day. This usually leads me to dig a bit deeper until I find some hidden truth . Other times it’s a catalyst that leads me on an unexpected journey. I find connections between objects and life that I never knew existed. When I am writing poetry the images and words rumble through my head, yet I feel them gnawing in the pit of my stomach. When I finally get where I’m going it’s as if I can physically feel it travel up through my chest and jump out onto the page. I experience both relief and elation.

Writing is a voyage of discovery. ~Nadine Gordimer

Writing has become a way of analyzing and reflecting on my life and choices. It has become a tool of healing. I’ve gone through periods of writing poetry, memoir, fiction, and essay. I must say that the most rewarding has been poetry and essay. Both have given me opportunities to explore. I’ve come to know and accept who I am. I’ve grown through this process.

The role of a writer is not to say what all can say but what we are unable to say. ~Anais Nin

I have only recently become comfortable having anyone I know read my work. There are still times I struggle with showing my words. I find when I put those risky words in public, I get the most resonance from readers. I think often writers hold back because they fear acceptance from others, and yet we find others are waiting for us to say what they can’t find the words or the courage to say. I am often connected to other writers through the emotions of their words. I am thankful to those writers who say the things I don’t know how.

You’re a writer and that’s something better than being a millionaire – because it is something holy. ~Harlan Ellison

My writing road is ever changing, from poetry and fiction to memoir and essay. I haven’t sent anything out for publication in probably eight months. I’d like to publish more, but it takes work to research venues and to put myself out there which takes away from writing time. When it comes right down to it, I’d rather be writing than publishing. The personal satisfaction from the written word far surpasses any notoriety I receive. Writing has helped me get in touch with my soul. Writing has been a sacred passage. I have learned how to live with both passion and compassion. Most importantly, I’ve found a world of inner peace I never knew existed…and you can’t put a price tag on that.

Writing isn’t about the destination – writing is the journey that transforms the soul and gives meaning to all else. ~Sue Grafton

42 thoughts on “Writing For The Soul Of It

  1. FAB-U-LOUS post, Suzi!

    You’ve shared so much in this post that I TOTALLY resonates with me.

    “Many times these things hit me in the middle of the night…”

    OMG…me too! Often times, when I’m just about falling to sleep I suddenly get an idea for a post, and if I don’t get up and jot it down on a piece of paper, I forget it by morning.

    ” There are still times I struggle with showing my words. I find when I put those risky words in public, I get the most resonance from readers. I think often writers hold back because they fear acceptance from others, and yet we find others are waiting for us to say what they can’t find the words or the courage to say.”

    Agree 100%. Often the topics I feared sharing, where the posts that resonated with my readers.

    “You’re a writer and that’s something better than being a millionaire – because it is something holy. ~Harlan Ellison”

    Love that!

    X

  2. writing has been more than a blessing to me. it helped me in easing burden on my mind, having the joy of creating something and above all it gave me friends like you (I mean it).

  3. You said well all the motivation and inner inclination for writing. Some of us are made that way. We must write or feel stifled. I agree that writing demands that we take risk. It feels dangerous, like swimming with sharks.

    Your writing opens the reader to aspects of living on our planet that one might otherwise not consider. Blessings to you, Suzi…

  4. I’m so glad you’ve found such joy in writing and I love sharing the journey for you! I’ll admit I do have dreams of getting published but the satsifaction of seeing your imagination on the page even if just for your eyes is pretty amazing. Don’t stop Suzi 🙂

  5. Each of your quotations is succulent, and we’d all do well to spin off from them as you do. Thanks for sharing them.

    I’m especially taken with your comment about the Kafka quote, that you visualize the words appearing on your keyboard. I assume you also visualize your fingers moving, complete with the sensations — a fascinating concept. That should activate the brain centers involved in much the same way as actually typing, so it’s not surprising that you get similar results.

    Not long ago Amber Starfire conducted an informal, small-scale experiment with about a dozen people comparing thoughts about journaling by hand or keyboard. She reported the results, probably in March, on her blog, Writing Through Life. Nearly all reported a difference, most surprised by their own results. In light of that and hunches, I’d suggest that you try varying that by visualizing your hand moving across paper on occasion. Since you don’t have tangible results in either case, you have nothing to lose by changing modes…

    • Oh yes…and the reason I resort to keyboard rather than pen and paper is that sometimes when the words flow they come so fast that I can’t keep up by hand.
      I think I read that (unless this was another site I read this)…was surprised that most preferred hand jouranling. I do often make hand notes and start things by pen but always resort to keyboard…I do usually outline by hand though.
      I often think things through for a very long time, jotting notes here and there, and then diving into it…and then sometimes though not as often, it all happens suddenly and I go at it and am done.
      If I got up out of bed when the muse hit, I’d do well…I just am not one to forego my sleep (though I do remain awake thinking about it!). I suppose I don’t want to disturb anyone else in the house. I might try rising a time or two when I wake up and see if it’s worth it!

  6. I am so often amazed at the way you are able to put things into written word.

    I love when you “find connections between objects and life that I never knew existed”. It is so . . . . so . . . . well, it is many different things. (Oh, I got it!) It is so thought provoking. Usually your connections make me go, “Hmmmm. For many reasons, could be I agree, could be I don’t, could be I had never thought of that, could be I think it is funny, could be sad, whatever the case it usually gets me thinking. And the pictures! Ooooh-weee! You always share such beautiful pictures.

    I am happy that writting is special to you. I know that your writings are special to me. I love to read your posts. I don’t always comment because sometimes you have so much in one post I could typed for days. Even if I don’t comment, I try to read every post.

    • Thank you so much, Terre. You are so kind, and happy we’ve connected through our blogs and on FB! Your blog is quite informative, teaches me a lot even if I’m too much of a wimp to try some of it! Ok, maybe not a wimp, just lazy I am!

      • I am happy we connected too, on our blogs and FB. The internet is an amazing thing.

        I am expecting you to think about the Ten Minute Workout while you are on vacation and then get to it when you get back. I will too . . . get to it again!

  7. I started keeping a pen and paper next to my bed, because sometimes the words come so quickly, and I know I’ll never recall them in the morning. (tried that, already.)

  8. I constantly have writing ideas floating around in my head too! Just don’t have the time to flush them out into anything worth reading. 😦 Maybe some day….

  9. “Writing has helped me get in touch with my soul. Writing has been a sacred passage. I have learned how to live with both passion ” I can so relate to this. This is true for me, too. Writing is a sacred passage. I need to write in order to live. Writing is my life.
    When the time is right you will submit your work for publication and it will be accepted. You have a way with words that expresses the soul. And people can relate to it.

  10. Pingback: … in a Bottle » Blog Archive » Recap of Living Out Loud 29: On Writing

  11. Since I wrote my piece for LOL, I have thought more about it – maybe the comments I receive on what I do blog are enough if I never get around to writing the G.A.N. – maybe 😉

    Love that you wrote inspired quotes about writing.

  12. Your writing is beautiful… you should think about getting more of it published. I also love to write, but like you, I mostly think about writing when I am on the cusp of sleep or while in the shower. And then my two-year-old distracts me and I never get around to it… ah, such is life!

Leave a Reply

