Who Paints Your Picture Perfect?

Water runs across the earth. The ground reaches into the sky. Colors blend and burst forth into life. Elements work together to give and sustain life. Picture perfect in my opinion. But who am I to set the standards?

Sometimes life seems picture perfect.

Maybe the perception depends whether we are on the outside looking in or on the inside looking out.

But who painted the picture? Is it our dream or someone else’s dream?

What is ideal anyway? Does it depend on how you were raised? Where you grew up? Where you currently live? Your religion? Your finances? Your occupation? How you dress? Your moral ethics?

Who sets the goals of achievement? Each of our ideas of success vary.

Who determines what constitutes balance in a life? We each need different things to ground us and to motivate us.

Does picture perfect equal being healthy, happy, and at peace?

Do you let others set the criteria for your life or do you set your own?

Are your expectations reasonable and attainable?

How do you define success?

Have you achieved balance in your life?

36 thoughts on “Who Paints Your Picture Perfect?

  1. Some days are picture perfect, some day the picture is full of rain. Perfect would not be appreciated if it were not for the imperfections. Balance? Sometimes I’m on,sometimes I’m off. It’s my life, and I’m doing the best I can with it!

    • IMO, rainy days are also picture perfect. I love them! Except, maybe, for torrential downpours that run on for days and make life unbearably complicated. Super hot days when green leaves are wilting and turning brown around the edges are my least favorites, along with dirty, slushy snow melt and bitter cold

  2. All good questions, Suzi. Thank you for another thought provoking post.

    Who decides in the end of life what balance should have been in any person’s life? Are we the captains of our fate? To some extent, we are. We make our own choices. You are right that what we believe, which may develop from our exposure to many factors, determines how we think and how we act. Whether we take control and accept responsibility for the direction of our lives or not, we will, thereby, shape our own destinies. Blessings to you…

  3. Great questions Suzicate. The choices we make for ourselves define the picture we want to create. Whether they are perfect depends on how we evolve and react to the outcome of these choices. Very complex and multi-layered. Sometimes the best growth comes in moments that aren’t “pic” perfect.

  4. The reality of life is that we can’t have the perfect picture even when we paint it. There are always others who are going to add their brush strokes and change it; however, the painting is often enhanced. And that’s a good thing. :)

  5. Most days I feel balanced . . . even if others see me as “off kilter.”
    Maybe that “kilt” is the Scot in me. :D

    When I return to the moment, I smile. Be here now. :D

  6. Today is supposed to rain heavily. Last month, this rain stuff depressed me. Today I am looking forward to it with joy! Summer rains are the best! Still, it’s all the same rain, isn’t it. I guess it’s my mood that determines if it’s horrid or blissful. I need to try and look for the bliss.

  7. My life is good but if it was picture perfect I would be in Heaven and that would mean I was dead to this life. For now I like being alive in this life so an imperfect picture is fine.

  8. Which question to answer? There are billions of people in the world, and I guess their perfect picture is where they are at the moment. I love Texas with the heat, the dryness, the flat nature of the state; I live in the east coast, much cooler, but I hate the never ending hills. I was raised in the tropics, so I miss the white sandy beaches and coconut tress, like in Florida. We are all so different, we each have our own perfect picture.

  9. You’ve read my blog- there’s no balance in my life. It’s utter chaos. Always. I keep thinking that someday there will be balance. Probably, that’s just wishfull thinking. Or I’ll get balance and realize I can’t work without chaos. That’s how the universe works, you know!

    ♥Spot

  10. I am mostly happy with my life, but it isn’t a perfect picture by any means. At times there is balance, but often there is none.

    You’ve brought up so many good questions to ask ourselves in order to examine if our lives are all that we want them to be.

  11. I know I always seem to say this but…. if only more people thought the way you do! I sometimes wonder if most people skate through life doing absolutely as little thinking as possible. Great post, Suzicate!

Leave a Reply

