Coloring A Life

The outline of my life has been drawn.

I’ve had the freedom to pick and choose my colors.

It’s up to me to color in the picture.

Only I can bring this sketch to life.

I glance at the black and white photograph.

When this photo was shot, did they see beyond the baby?

Did they see possibility? Did they dare draw a future for me?

I refuse to connect someone else’s dots. I will connect my own life.

Through time my outline has stretched to include all the eye does not see.

I am much more than an image, a sketch, a photograph.

I am a life. I exist in living color.

I am all that purple dares to be, yet I am a calming ocean blue.

I am scarlet, a sizzling fire, that melds to a yellowed moon.

I am the green grasses of home and the brown of forest’s deep.

I am all that hides beneath the darkness and all that sparkles within ice.

Maybe I should erase my outline and leave a rainbow instead…

after all life is possibility.

As difficult as it is to read the inside story of a black and white photograph, it’s impossible to read the colors of a black and white life.

I’m off to buy some color markers. Better yet, I think I’ll make my own paint.

41 thoughts on “Coloring A Life

  1. FAB-U-LOUS post, Suzi!

    LOVE it! Especially this line….

    “I refuse to connect someone else’s dots. I will connect my own life.”

    And might I add…I like to color my life ‘outside’ the lines.

    Happy Monday, my friend. Thank you for sharing this post!

    X

    • I wouldn’t doubt it a bit! When I was a teenager, my friend showed me a pic I did when I was little….I outlined my snowman in black even though I didn’t have a white crayon to color him in. All of my report cards said that I talked too much!

  2. Love it! Especially these 4 lines:

    I am all that purple dares to be, yet I am a calming ocean blue.
    I am scarlet, a sizzling fire, that melds to a yellowed moon.
    I am the green grasses of home and the brown of forest’s deep.
    I am all that hides beneath the darkness and all that sparkles within ice.

    • I think we are each meant to do different things in experiencing life and it’s not necessarily what someone else is doing or tells us we should be doing…you know like some people are called to be priests or doctors, while others maybe writers or artists.

  3. The greatest thing is we can mix an endless number of colors, shades and hues. We can stretch our boundaries and find our way in a maze of paths and shapes. We can be!

  4. WHAT? No way! As I was scrolling through the comments I see you say you debated about deleting the “most” colorful lines. That is what sealed this deal for me. Those are the lines that made my smile so big I can’t get it off my face.

    This makes me go “WAHOOOOOO!”

    Make your colors rich and lasting!

Leave a Reply

