Choice or Chance?

I spent way too many years rushing through life rather than savoring the moments.

I rarely noticed the extraordinary moments within the ordinary moments.

I always had a preplanned destination. Not to say I always made it there as I am the type of person who is easily sidetracked.

I was not one to venture far from my route. Change upset me greatly.

I still dislike change, but I am now more open to veering off course.

I’ve never been one to hop the train or jump the tracks.

I know the tracks head straight back to where I came from and I’m free to return at any time. That knowledge makes each bump a bit easier for a fickle person like me.

Now I seldom have a destination in mind.

And even when I do I realize there are many ways to get there.

I am one of those people who opt for the long scenic route.

I’m not in a hurry, and I certainly don’t want to miss out on the good stuff along my way.

How about you? Are you goal oriented? Do you have a life plan?

Are you easily distracted? Do you welcome change?

Do you prefer routine or adventure?

44 thoughts on “Choice or Chance?

  1. Ha. I want to just say, “Yes,” again. Because with somethings I am like a horse with blinders and I need to get to where I am going and do what I gotta do, but with others things, I can flex and bend and I don’t mind veering off the path. So it really just depends.

    I am not very goal oriented nor do I have a life’s plan. But I do have some little ideas and I like to set a course and get those done. But I am easily distracted.

    In every day life I like a routine, but when I am on vacation or I am on an “adventure” I like to just go with it.

    Happy Monday! I’m off to bed~

  2. I guess I’m just the opposite of how you used to be. I love change and detours and new adventures. Routine makes me feel like a caged animal. I have goals and I have a vision of where I’d like to head in my life, but nothing is set in stone. You never know what will happen along the way that will open you to new ideas.

  3. I’m not big on change either, I’ve lived in the same town for 28 years 🙂 I want to be more adventurous and I do have goals / dreams I want to achieve. Here’s hoping 🙂

  4. I don’t know what it is, but pictures of train tracks are interesting. I’m pretty “live in the now.” A few long-term goals, but mostly: save money for kids to go to college, save money for retirement, pay off debt. That’s it.

    • I think train tracks are awesome. When hubby was in college, he took this really cool shot of one in the dark, of an oncoming train, the lights are like a halo around the engine and flaring into the night sky.

  5. Wonderful post, Suzi!

    Change has always been a central part of my life . . . I’ve lived in 6 states (SC, NC, NJ, VA, MD, FL) and 10 places (6 apartments and 4 houses) since graduating from college.

    I’ve changed careers and locations . . . with one constant. My BFF remains by my side. He’s the “wind beneath my wings.” 😀

    These days, I focus more on enjoying the journey than on reaching some pre-conceived destination.

    How do I know where I want to end up . . . until I get there.

  6. Yup….here we go again, because you and I are soooooooo much alike, Suzi!

    “Now I seldom have a destination in mind.

    And even when I do I realize there are many ways to get there.

    I am one of those people who opt for the long scenic route.”

    For me, it’s now about the ‘journey’ not the destination.

    I’m both frightened of change and love it. Change presses all my ‘fear buttons’, but I like that.

    I think I have a healthy balance of both routine and adventure.

    Fab post! Have a great Monday….X

  7. I used to be a lot more flexible than I am now. I like to plan. I don’t usually deviate from a plan either. My daughter is a “fly by the seat of her pants” persona. I have to laugh about how opposite we are.

    • Being flexible is good. Funny how we change as we get older and how different our kids are. Mine are very much “go with the flow” personalities. They sledom sweat about things the way I do…maybe they got that from their dad.

  8. I’ve learned to be flexible. We can be flexible or breakable. Flexible is better. I like planning, but again, somewhere along the predictable journey, the unpredictable may alter my plan and press me in another direction. I may slow down a bit to get my bearings and find my way. Sometimes what presses is good; sometimes it’s not.

    I enjoyed your post, Suzi. You always give us great subjects and present them in a creative way. Blessings to you…

  9. No, I’m not a big fan of change and I LOVE routine. But as we move along through life, there have got to be changes. I’ve learned to be flexible over the years. It doesn’t mean the I look forward to change but I usually survive it. 🙂

  10. There are positive things about being focused. It helps in accomplishing tasks and goals. But, I have learned through life that, “blessed are the flexible, for they shall never get bent out of shape.”

  11. We need to learn to relish in the journey instead of being preoccupied with the destination. This has been said many different ways by many different sages over thousands of years. It is good to be reminded, however.

    • We need to learn to relish in the journey instead of being preoccupied with the destination. – exactly, but not always easy to do when we’re preoccupied.

  12. I’ve learned in the past few years that I love routine, and it often makes me feel like I’m a very boring person. That being said, I think that routine wouldn’t be comforting to me without having the occasional adventure, and I’m working harder on being aware of the good moments I have even when they’re unsettling because they involve change of some kind.

  13. I really feel like I am two people sometimes. The usual me despises change and sticks very closely to small routines and finds them very comforting. Then there is the side of me that just wants to break out of the everyday jail I put myself in and walk on the wild side! I have no life plan though, the thought of that boggles my mind.

  14. Your post got me thinking and the best I can come up with is that I like semi-structured change. I like to have a general idea of where I’m going, but I keep an eye out for stopping points along the way. Like when we go on vacation, I never create schedules because then it’s stressful when things don’t go according to plan.

    I don’t see myself jumping in the car and driving with no destination in mind. I wouldn’t know what to wear!

    • I don’t see myself jumping in the car and driving with no destination in mind. I wouldn’t know what to wear! – Funny! I wouldn’t either and I’d be either under or over dressed!

  15. I was always the relishing type, i took joy in the smallest things around me. Then lost that nature for few long years. i am hoping that it will return again but you know…

Leave a Reply

