A Cloud Performance

We could hear the wind whipping around our truck and feel it jostle us here and there. We had driven to Moyock, North Carolina to pick up some fresh seafood. I know we live at the beach  in Virginia and drive to the beach in North Carolina to get our seafood, crazy. If anyone can tell me a local place to buy fish/shrimp fresh off the boat, please speak up! The clouds festered with a threat of rain. We had thought about taking the ferry home, but due to the ferocity of the wind and the possibility of rain, we decided not to. However, we did take a scenic route home. What a joy to stumble across a new treasure…the Cavalier Wildlife Management Area. We weren’t prepared to hike, nor was the weather cooperative. We shall return to hike or bike. It consists of two parcels of land, 750-acre Dismal Swamp tract adjoining the Dismal Swamp Canal and the 3,800-acre Cavalier tract that abuts the North Carolina state line. The refuge is a tract of  mixed uplands and seasonal wetlands.

The area was bursting with color, fresh deep green grass, red budding trees, blue skies with white puffy clouds, and the tanic water of the canal. Spring was in the air, and April was marching in with a storm. Most of these pictures are of the fabulous cloud formations rather than the actual wildlife area. I promise to post more when I return to hike or bike it.

The wind whistled through the pines. The clouds loomed over us and dropped as if they were going to swallow us. The rain pounded on us, a quick burst and it was over. The sun snuck in and out while we were exploring the area.

A gravel road and a dirt road stretch along each side of the canal.

Fields flow along the dirt road side of the canal, and thickets and wooded areas extend along the gravel road side.

The clouds put on a spectacular performance.

The trees and grounded objects appear menial against the magnitude of the sky.

This marker is one of the George Washington monument markers placed along specific points of the Virginia/North Carolina borders. One side of this marker has VA on it and the other has NC…you can stand in two states at one point! I think George Washington surveyed this property in his earlier years.

This is my favorite photograph of the day. In case you’re wondering what this is, it is a cattail. It appears to have exploded…it has sloughed off, been rained upon, and dried up…a product of time and natural elements.

“A cloud does not know why it moves in just such a direction and at such a speed… It feels an impulsion… this is the place to go now.  But the sky knows the reasons and the patterns behind all clouds, and you will know, too, when you lift yourself high enough to see beyond horizons. ” ~Richard Bach

The clouds are sweeping through the sky and dancing across the land. It was a splendid display of nature.

This was our farewell scene as we drove away. I can’t wait to go again and discover what’s hidden among the grass, water, and trees, as this day I was focused on what the sky and clouds had to offer.

44 thoughts on “A Cloud Performance

  1. “A cloud does not know why it moves in just such a direction and at such a speed… It feels an impulsion… this is the place to go now. But the sky knows the reasons and the patterns behind all clouds, and you will know, too, when you lift yourself high enough to see beyond horizons. ” ~Richard Bach”

    I LOVE that, Suzi! What a wonderful lesson in how to live life.

    BEA-U-TI-FUL photos!

    I adore clouds. I actually prefer seeing a sky filled with billowy clouds, than clear.

    Isn’t it something how when we least expect it, our day will sometimes cause us to stumble upon a new treasure?

    Thank your for sharing your treasure!

    Have a wonderful Thursday…..x

  2. Amazing cattail! The clouds looked like cotton candy in some pictures, and near enough to reach up and grab a handful. I know you will enjoy exploring this area. That green was really GREEN!

  3. Beautiful. BTW: I know that there are some places near Chincoteague with fresh off the boat seafood, but not on your side of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel.

  4. Beautiful pictures Suzicate! And I would drive that far for fresh seafood also! Makes sense to me. Besides, if you hadn’t, you wouldn’t have discovered this brand new playground.

    ♥Spot

  5. While I don’t like storms, I love trying to capture the clouds that build up to it. Strange, huh? Your cloud captures are wonderful. And I do like the cattail explosion…it’s shape is fascinating! You just can’t beat Mother Nature for these things.

    • I never liked storms until recently. I was always afraid of them, I think because my mother was. I’ve begun to see the power as beauty and am captivated by them now.

  6. That George Washington marker is so neat – I love stuff like that. We probably all drive by interesting things all the time and don’t realize their significance.

  7. I’ve always had a thing for clouds, so I loved your pictures! Like some of the other commenters, the cattails picture threw me off. I also thougth it looked like a skull of some kind. So glad that it wasn’t 🙂

    I’m glad you found a new place to explore!

  8. Thanks for letting me know what that cattail was. I was thinking it was the head of something and I saw it say, “This is my favorite . . . ” Whew!

    “The rain pounded on us, a quick burst and it was over. The sun snuck in and out . . . .”. Our weather has been doing the same thing. Lovely pictures!

  9. I would just love to wander the path in that one photo. That cattail photo is unreal. I didn’t know they’d just explode like that, but then again I guess they have to reproduce too:)

Leave a Reply

