Recognizing And Rectifying Our Scratches

When we are wounded, the healing process often leaves a scar. Some scars are visible. Others are not.

I have scars all over my body. I was what I like to refer to as “an adventuresome child”. I have scarred knees from sliding into base while playing kickball on gravel. I fell out of trees and wrecked motorcycles. I ran through briar brambles and got poked with sticks. I wouldn’t trade a single scar for a childhood with less freedom to roam and explore.

Sadly, I’ve grown into a clutzy adult. And I can’t be trusted with sharp objects like knives and scissors because inevitably I will cut myself. I have a permanent scar on my knuckle from my hairdressing days, and generally cut it in the same spot every once in a while when I cut the hair of family and friends. In fact, my friend Patti once bought me a t-shirt that read “Runs With Scissors”!

While I’ve never been thrilled with the appearance of multiple scars, I’ve never been obsessed with them or considered trying to “shrink” them. Most of them have a story attached. Some of them include lessons I’ve learned.

And then of course, some of us, get scars in the way of stretch marks from bringing forth new life. I couldn’t begin to tell you the massive amounts of those I have. No one sees them, but I wear those with honor. I carry scars from surgeries as well. Those, also, are just bits and pieces of my life.

Like most people, I have carried emotional scars from my past as well. Those are the ones that others don’t readily see. Those are the emotional badges of the pain I have endured. What I have learned though is that I had the power to heal those scars. I had the choice of remaining a victim by holding onto those wounds or I could heal them by becoming a victor and moving on with my life. When I held onto them, I could not heal…they were festering sores. Healing emotional scars takes time and forgiveness. It takes a desire to want to move on. Sure, there might be a few scars, but I wear them proudly. Maybe the scars just prove that I have lived. Most importantly, I have endured.

When I was out walking this past weekend, I noticed the visible scars along the trunk of this tree. It had outgrown around the barbed wire fence that housed it. The property owner must have seen the damage caused to the tree. He rerouted the fence to the back side of the tree, and placed a board between them so that the wire would never again cut into the flesh of the tree.

How gracious of this landowner to see what he was doing to this tree and to make amends to prevent further damage. It makes me wonder if we realize the restrictions we put on others. Do we realize when we are holding someone back, hurting them, or scarring them in ways that might not be visible to the naked eye? How often do we think about how our choices affect those around us? Even when we do not intend harm, how truly innocent are we?

37 thoughts on “Recognizing And Rectifying Our Scratches

  1. That was really cool that the owner moved the barbed wire.

    I have scars on my knees from gravel as well. Only I was playing Chinese Fire Drill, and I think I was 16. I also think the gravel permanently colored my knee gray.

  2. Scars contribute to what we become – the good and the bad, the wise and the foolish. We can learn from our scars (I learned not to hang by my knees on a clothesline pole with bolts sticking out after I put a huge gash in the back of my leg) if we don’t let them rule us. Great post!

  3. A very thought-provoking post about scars, all kinds of them. Emotional scars may be the most difficult to heal, even though they may be invisible, but not always undetectable.

    The scarred tree trunk is a stunning example of the reality of injury. Perfect photo for your post. The huge tree trunk bears cut marks that are long and deep. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on wounds and healing. Blessings to you, Suzi…

    • As soon as I saw the tree I knew I had to take a photo because the words were rolling through my head…just took me three days to get around to writing and posting.

  4. I am so glad the tree is now free of its barbed wire restriction.
    I hate to see pain in anyone or anything.

    Surely I must have caused it sometimes myself; I also know that I have been hurt by others, perhaps they didn’t realise it like I didn’t realise it.

    May everyone of us at least try not to cause hurt deliberately.

    • I like to believe that we are all innately good, just some led astray. I know it’s probably not true that everyone is good, but it gives me hope to think they might change their ways.

  5. So thankful that our bodies were designed to heal. The mark left behind might serve as a reminder of how fragile life is. I also was touched by the fact that someone made the effort to protect that tree.

  6. ” I have a permanent scar on my knuckle from my hairdressing days, and generally cut it in the same spot every once in a while when I cut the hair of family and friends.”

    OMG, so do I! It’s on one of my left-hand knuckles. Must be a hairdressing ‘thing.’

    Such a wonderful post you share, Suzi! For me, the emotional scars are the most challenging. It’s incredible how when things happen to us as children, the scars will stay with us until they are healed.

    “Healing emotional scars takes time and forgiveness. It takes a desire to want to move on. ”

    Exactly.

    The photo of the tree is so perfect for this post – BRAVA!

    Hope you had a super day!

    X

  7. We are on the same wave length again, my last post was about being aware of how our choices affect those around us and ripple through our life.

    Outside scars are visible and have a story to tell and usually a lesson we learned. The inside scars have a story and a lesson as well, but they are hidden deep inside. Those scars shape us, our choices, and inevitably who we are … but, are only shared when we choose to. I think those inner scars we hide relate back to your other post about whether or not we really know anyone … the more inner scars a person shares, the better we know them.

    Great post.

  8. Your post reminded me of a passage in the book Little Bee by Chris Cleave.

    “We must see all scars as beauty. Okay? This will be our secret. Because take it from me, a scar does not form on the dying. A scar means, ‘I survived’.”

Leave a Reply

