Taking Time To Play

In every real man a child is hidden that wants to play. ~Friedrich Nietzsche

 

Most of you know that I get to spend a lot of time playing. I play during the week with the kids I watch, and I always play with my dog, Wylie. It keeps me young, at least on the inside. On the weekends, I usually take time to play in the great outdoors by hiking or biking. I also have hobbies I engage in. I enjoy sewing and various other crafts.

This weekend I focused on playing. I spent all day Saturday with my goddaughter. Then that night I got to see my godson who taught me how to play a video wrestling game. It was very important to him that I learn how to play it. You just never know when those skills might come in handy! We played and we laughed, and I felt better for it.

As adults, we tend to forget the importance of play. We even forget quite how to play. I remember telling my kids as teenagers to act their age, to cut out the playing and get to their school work. What a spirit breaker I was! Not to fear, they still remember how to play and still engage in lots of fun activities and sports.

There are many reasons that we adults should continue playing our way through life. Play fosters creativity. Artists need to make time to play and get their creative juices flowing. It stimulates the imagination and allows self expression. This is yet another plus for artists. Participating in playful activities and games alleviates stress, boosts our immune systems, and lifts our spirits. This is beneficial for all. Playing energizes and strengthens our mental and physical skills. I know with my own lack of clarity and coordination skills, I am one who needs fun and rewarding brain and body exercise. It brings our inner child to the surface thus making us feel happy, free, and even lighter. Yes, play is healthy for us. It gives us a connection to other people, our community, and our environment. Playing satisfies our curiosity. Playing is just plain fun. Generally, when we play we wind up laughing. Everyone knows that laughter is contagious. It puts us all in better frames of mind. It makes us feel good from the inside out.

Do you take time to play? Do you have any hobbies or activities that you engage in on a regular basis? Do you swim, hike, or play golf? D you sew, wood work, paint, or write? What do you do for fun? Taking time to act like a child is not a waste of time. It is a necessary nutrient to a healthy lifestyle. There’s no need to turn it into a major competition. Just take it from dogs and small children and enjoy it for the fun it is.

One of the virtues of being very young is that you don’t let the facts get in the way of your imagination. ~Sam Levenson

28 thoughts on “Taking Time To Play

  1. I do play but not as often as I’d like. I found I was in trouble last year when I’d reached the point where I scheduled fun as a one hour slot on a Saturday in my diary. Since then I’ve learned to chill out a bit more.

    I love how free children are with it all. The picture is fabulous.

  2. We play constantly at my house. I’m not sure whether its for fun or just that we are crazy competitive. Board games, card games, dominoes, or on the Wii. I play online computer games. We swim in the summer, hike whenever and sled in the winter. I write, read, sew, craft and adore movies. I’m beginning to think I need to cut down on my play time with some work time. Lol.

    Excellent post Suz, we all need a reminder sometimes.
    ♥Spot

    • Kids are great. It’s difficult when you live far away. I used to see the Godchidlren all of the time and they moved several hours away so now it’s only every few months.

  3. oooh I love to play!! I play with Nathan ALL the time- plus, in my spare time (when I have some, that is!) I like to read, draw, paint, sew, do crafts, and anything creative. Play is fun, and I think it’s what helps keep me young!

  4. I think of play as a mindset. Therefore I’m playing far more than I’m working. I’m a big laugher. I do feel the connection that play brings. When I”m on the outs with someone and we play…no more outs. Whatever it was just vanishes. I love that.

  5. Okay, first I have to say….I LOVE THAT PHOTO, Suzie!

    OMG, how adorable she is! And the little duck is beyond precious!

    “In every real man a child is hidden that wants to play. ~Friedrich Nietzsche”

    I sooooooooooo agree with this hands down! I’m a little kid living inside a 55 year old man, because I refuse to lose my child playfulness. And for all the wonderful reasons you shared. Especially…….

    “Play fosters creativity. Artists need to make time to play and get their creative juices flowing. It stimulates the imagination and allows self expression.”

    Anytime I take a day of play, I come home feeling so creative and jazzed! I also enjoy spending time with children because their curious nature rubs off on me, and I begin to see things thru their eyes.

    “One of the virtues of being very young is that you don’t let the facts get in the way of your imagination.”

    So true! Awesome post, Suzi! Thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Hope you had a playful day…..X

  6. I wish I had more time to play! I was a big one for playing with the kids though, and I left them tons of unstructured, unscheduled time so that they would really grow up knowing how to entertain themselves and play. Today’s kids do not know how to do that!

  7. I heard an amazing author speak here, Stuart Brown, MD, who wrote a book called Play. It’s all about the evidence that play is necessary for truly productive adults–the kind who make breakthroughs in creativity and science. It’s a great read. I really enjoyed the plaly this weekend with my nieces and nephews. Amazingly refreshing!

  8. We do play. I skip along the sidewalk. I play hopscotch on invisible boards. I do impromptu “happy dances” . . . just because I’m happy to be alive.

    We play shuffleboard and ping pong. We walk, bike, and dance. We laugh.

    Play is such a wonderful part of life ~ definitely worth fitting into our adult schedules.

    Thanks for a terrific post, Suzi!

  9. Nothing wrong with playing, I so agree with you, I am so proud you learned to video wrestle, it will come in handy when you least expect it. 🙂

    Great message my Friend

  10. Put me in the “love to play” category! I like games, jigsaw puzzles, riding bkies, pool time, horseback riding, tennis, running, roller skating, blogging…whatever! Some on these, I do with my family, some with the girls, some alone.

    I’ve always had these desires, but was almost 50 before I allowed myself to spend sigficant amounts of time doing so.

    Is it Nike whose motto is, “Work hard, play hard.”

    I totally agree with what you’ve said in this post. Continue to enjoy the company of the little beauty in the pic and the rest of your family!

  11. I don’t play, but we do “play” in Nia. It is understood that playing keeps the mind, body, and spirit young so we “play” and do somethings that we did when we were young. Crawling, jumping, spinning, running, skipping, being loud, moving without a care in the world . . . . act as if . . .

    Good for ya.

    When I worked at an assisted living place the faces of the adults would light up when we got out the ball. They would toss it and kick it. GREAT exercise for them and it allowed them to laugh and have fun.

  12. You are sooooo right on this! Most people lose the ability to play when they “grow up.” It’s so sad to see someone who has lost touch with their inner child. Mine keeps reminding me to stop masquerading as a responsible adult and enjoy life a little more!

Leave a Reply

