Natural Treasures Along The Trail

When I was young, my hiking consisted of woods, mountains, and streams on private property. Therefore, anything I wished to take home was mine for the taking. I’m talking about little things like walking sticks, cool stones, pretty flowers, and moss  or running cedar to place in a terrarium. In fact, I knew nothing about the well known fact that you are to NEVER remove anything from Federal or State property when hiking. I remember the very first hike I went on with Dirt Man through National Forest, I picked up a unique rock and was about to stick it in my pocket. Being an Appalachian Trail hiker, he was familiar with the rule and stopped me. I had no idea that I was about to break the law! After that, I learned to respect nature and all it’s glory. It often tantalizes my senses of sight, sound, touch, and smell. However, I  never take anything home with me nor do I ever leave anything I bring with me behind. We have been on many hikes that we see people allowing their children to take home these natural items. I don’t know if they don’t know any better or if they just don’t care. I usually show you pictures of trees and waterfalls. This time I am going to show you some other treasures that we’ve seen along the trails but left where God placed them.

These are two of the many butterflies we have seen along the trails. I don’t know what kind of wild flowers these are. but I like the shade of lavender. We come across many wild flowers and other plants. Maybe, someday I’ll get a handbook to take along and try to identify them.

Here’s another pretty.

Okay, I had to show you one tree. I found it interesting how the broken branch is hanging on another broken limb and has kind of formed a triangle.

This reminds me of Sedum or possibly some sort of cacti.

Various River rocks.

A cactus in the sand along a beach trail.

A single tendril of Spanish Moss.

This is some sort of fungus. It looks somewhat like a mushroom, but also like a flower.

I have no idea what these bright red berries are, but I am quite certain that it is not Ginseng.

This contraption appears to be some sort of homemade wheelbarrow or cart. We found it slightly off but visible from the Appalachian Trail. It was sitting on the private property side. Dirt Man figured someone probably took it there hunting to use for hauling a deer down the mountain. We assume the hunter didn’t have any luck or got tired and ditched the cart.

Here is a front view. They used half a barrel as the body.

And here is another view.

Then we found these sunglasses lying beside the cart. Morbid me tells Dirt Man that the cart could very well have been used to transport a body and the glasses could have belonged to the victim. Way to spook myself out! I usually do that when I see unusual items. But I hope it was just another hiker who decided to check out the cart. And Wylie looks like a canine celebrity sporting those shades. I am pretty sure that rule about leaving things you find pertains to natural elements and not man made objects left behind. At any rate, we did not let Wylie keep the shades!

34 thoughts on “Natural Treasures Along The Trail

  1. Just dynamite pictures! In the middle of winter it makes me want it to be summer time. I especially liked the homemade wheel barrel. Looks like something three rednecks and a case of beer might put together on a Saturday.

    Loved it.

  2. Is it sad that before I read your comment about the body, I was thinking the same thing? Hahahah. And the photo of your dog in glasses cracked me up! And the black butterfly is stunning! (I’ve never seen a black butterfly.) Also, I don’t know what bothers me more – people taking stuff or leaving stuff…wait…no, I think it bothers me more when people leave stuff, like trash and what not.

    xoxo

    • Really, you’ve never seena black butterfly? The blue on their wings is stunning…it will be my goal next summer to get a really good close up pic just for you. And our thoughts…guess we are both fruit loops!

  3. Beautiful photos, suzicate. Thank you for sharing. I am always fascinated by trees. The butterflies and the flowers, too, are lovely to look at. In my past life with my deceased husband, I enjoyed hiking and birdwatching in parks and reserves. Fond memories. I have a wonderful husband now, and my life is good, but different. Another chapter in a different world, it seems. Blessings to you…

  4. Such an enlightening post, Suzi!

    Ya know, I never thought of that before – taking things home with me from nature, such as a rock. But you’re absolutely right…everything that composes nature is needed, and should stay as God placed them.

    Awesome pictures! Beautiful butterflies!

    And the shot of Willie in the sunglasses is PRICELESS!

    Have a super day, Suzi!

    X

  5. Wylie looks silly! That was pretty clever to make the cart out of a half barrel but I’ll bet anything heavy would be a real pain regardless.

    I especially like the formation in the tree!

  6. I am frantically trying to get back in my rhythm, to catch up on reading blogs and am so very glad I took the time to read all of the ones you’ve posted since my last visit. The words are wonderful, of course, and the photos are fabulous!

  7. Very nice photos! Thanks for sharing.

    You know, I always say there is a very simply explanation for some of the strange things we sometimes come across, but I think your version that the cart was used to transport a body and the sunglasses belonged to the victiom is SO much more interesting!!

Leave a Reply

