The River Of Abundance

Sometimes we have dry periods in life. This happens with creativity and matters of the soul. We level our surface, grade it, stake it, and still it is what it is. And then sometimes, we take a second look and it isn’t all what it appeared to be.

Sometimes we seem to be living in a barren wasteland. As far as the eye can see, there is no fertile ground. Sometimes, we have to look deeper than dirt. We must be willing to dowse the soul to come up with a moist chunk of earth.

Sometimes, we just don’t know where to start. Maybe the possibilities are endless. Maybe we just don’t know what direction to head out. Maybe we’re just plain scared of failure. Maybe we just need a little push or a word of encouragement. And sometimes, we just need to hold our breath and take a plunge.

Sometimes, we venture in unsafe areas. We get stuck in the mud. We feel like giving up. We have no desire to pull ourselves out. Sometimes, starting over is a bigger challenge than we’re willing to take. And sometimes, we’re not nearly as entrenched as we think we are.

Sometimes the rivers of creativity and life flow with abundance. Ideas come from everywhere. You become a channel of inspiration. Sometimes when we feel we are running dry, it is necessary to remember that we each have a stream trickling within us. We only need to reach within our own fountains to cleanse our hearts, quench our thirsts, and refresh our souls.

Segment Of Sometimes Series

40 thoughts on “The River Of Abundance

  1. Love this.

    Especially: “And sometimes, we’re not nearly as entrenched as we think we are.” and “We only need to reach within our own fountains to cleanse our hearts, quench our thirsts, and refresh our souls.”

  2. You know what I think? I think you should bundle all these photos and posts about inspiration/life and such and make a book. I really do. It would be a handy book that would make people happy, and it would be thought provoking as well.

    xoxo

    • I’ll bet publishers wouldn’t touch it with a ten foot pole! I have heard that publishing photography is expensive and they steer clear…at least, that is what I was told at my writer’s conference.

  3. Good message for the new year; a time when people are assessing their lives, which some times sums up to disappointment.

    We’re all in this together. I’m sure you have encouraged your readers.

    Have a peaceful and fulfilling new year.

  4. Another fabulous pictorial narrative, Suzi!

    I so enjoyed how you shared this….

    “Sometimes, we have to look deeper than dirt. We must be willing to dowse the soul to come up with a moist chunk of earth.”

    You’re so right!

    “Ideas come from everywhere. You become a channel of inspiration.”

    Love it!

    Have a super Wednesday, Suzi!

    X

  5. Sometimes we are too shallow to absorb deep thoughts. 🙂 I feel that the New Year has lifted me out of a dry spell, but I do need to get out the shovel and dig a little deeper on most days. The last photo is great – what river is it?

  6. I needed this inspiration Suzicate. My novel writing is so stuck right now and the creative juices seem to have halted. Sometimes that is part of the process and I need to accept it. The flow will come again, but I need to be patient.

    • I understand that…I’ve dried out on a project myself, and I’m patiently (ok, not so patiently) waiting for the inspiration to return. I will wait though because forced work is usually not ever quite as good as the stuff that just flows seemingly out of nowhere.

Leave a Reply

