Living A Life Of Grace

When I was young I interpreted grace as elegance. I thought of it as an outward elegance of the way in which one carried herself. I visualized grace as Jacqueline Kennedy or Grace Kelly. I thought it was physical beauty in fluid movement. Then as I became older I saw it more as kindness, and also as a blessing. I’ve come to know grace as an internal goodness that is both an elegance of it’s own and a blessing.

I have been fortunate enough in my lifetime to have known more than one person whom I have considered to be the epitome of grace. Today we laid one of them to rest. He was a refined, soft-spoken, and kind man. He was a selfless man. I took a look at his life today at how he quietly touched lives. He did the things he did out of love. He did not want or expect anything in return. I am honored to have known him as both a friend and neighbor.

This was a man of grace. This is the kind of person I can only wish to be.

“Amazing Grace” is a hymn sang at many funerals. It always moves me. Today, I looked at it a bit differently. We each have the ability to exemplify grace every single day. It’s a choice. It’s an internal attitude. We also have the opportunity to edify others daily. This also is a choice. Both are blessings in fluid movement.

I want to share with you both the lyrics and song.

 

Amazing Grace

John Newton (1725-1807)

http://www.constitution.org/col/amazing_grace.htm

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.

T’was Grace that taught my heart to fear.
And Grace, my fears relieved.
How precious did that Grace appear
The hour I first believed.

Through many dangers, toils and snares
I have already come;
‘Tis Grace that brought me safe thus far
and Grace will lead me home.

The Lord has promised good to me.
His word my hope secures.
He will my shield and portion be,
As long as life endures.

Yea, when this flesh and heart shall fail,
And mortal life shall cease,
I shall possess within the veil,
A life of joy and peace.

When we’ve been here ten thousand years
Bright shining as the sun.
We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise
Than when we’ve first begun.

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.

10 thoughts on “Living A Life Of Grace

  1. You just brought tears to my eyes. God has been speaking to me a lot about grace, the past couple weeks, and showing me how much I need his and also how often I fail to extend it to others. Just as I’ve had trouble giving grace to some people in my life, I started reading “What’s so amazing about grace?” by Yancey. And here’s yet another reminder for me!

  2. Truly an amazing rendition of a wonderful song. My sympathies for the loss of your loved one. I especially like the description of grace as an internal goodness. Many of the “ungraceful” in movement are the epitome of grace. While I love the original, Chris Tomlin has a rendition of this song and added a bridge that I think you will like.

    http://bit.ly/gTpl7u

Leave a Reply

