Horseshoe Bend

Of all the sites we saw on our trip out West, this is the one place that totally freaked me out. It was by no means the tallest or even as gigantic as the Grand Canyon. It was something about the cliffs (no gates or barriers) of the canyon and the water together that totally unnerved me. I calmly (I was most likely holding my breath!) took my photographs from a safe distance and walked away. I sat on  the rocks with my back facing the canyon. Dirt Man tried to call me over to where he was (precariously, in my opinion) taking photographs to show me the incredible view from his vantage point. I explained that I could not. He could tell from the look on my face that I was near a full blown panic attack, so he knew not to press me. I seriously had to exercise deep breathing and could only glance over the cliffs every now and then.

This astounding feat of nature is Horseshoe Bend in Page, Arizona. This twist of water is the Colorado River as it meanders through Glen Canyon. The trail is about  a three quarters of a mile long  from the parking lot to the lookout point. The trail is a mixture of sand and sandstone with a lot of dips.

I admit the view is breath taking…and heart racing for those afraid of heights.

Those red and blue dots at the base are tents, campsites, of whitewater river rafters. I can not imagine being that adventuresome. I realize from this view, the water looks serene, however there are rapids along the river.

I guess that is a boat that is anchored in front of the camp area.

See how crazy Dirt Man is? That is one of the reasons I was a nervous wreck. And yes, I did keep my eye on him when I could bear to look. And yes, I did take a picture as proof! I wish I could be as daring because I do feel like I hold him back sometimes…but then again, one of us has to be sane!

The ground was not smooth at the tope of the canyon. This photographs shows the waves and ledges on the area where we were walking.

This is another area of walking surface.

That speedboat looks like an ant zipping down the river!

We did witness a gorgeous sunset over the bend. I admired it far from the edge!

40 thoughts on “Horseshoe Bend

  1. OMG, that first shot made me gasp and become breathless!

    How GORGEOUS a view! It’s amazing!

    “He could tell from the look on my face that I was near a full blown panic attack, so he knew not to press me. I seriously had to exercise deep breathing and could only glance over the cliffs every now and then.”

    Yes, Suzi…I wouldl have been the same as you. I’m deathly afraid of heights and get panic attacks looking down from a high heights. I live on the 21st floor, and can look OUT, but not DOWN.

    “See how crazy Dirt Man is? That is one of the reasons I was a nervous wreck.”

    OMG, my palms were sweating just looking at that photo of him so close to the edge – yikes! Love the sunlight in that photo.

    And love the sunset! Bellissima!

    Happy Monday, my friend!

    X

  2. It’s mesmerizing in its beauty! I do tend to get a little squeamish with heights sometimes. I like to hold on to the fence and then push back a full arm’s length as I hang on before really taking in the sights. I need to feel grounded to some extent, I guess.

    But, wow…nature is something else, isn’t it?

  3. There’s a reason we haven’t been to the Grand Canyon, and my fear of heights and my boys going over the edge are why. I can’t do it! Lovely pictures though. I’ve just spend an inordinate amount of time going through your previous posts and I’m in awe.

  4. I am in agreement with everyone else here …. that first picture is really terrific. What a gorgeous place. Why is it that so many of the most beautiful places are so high up? My stomach would have been doing flip flops the whole time … I would not have ventured any where near the edge … I can picture myself falling so easily .. one little loose rock, a little bit dizzy, a misplaced foot …. those kind of heights are not for me … but, the scenery was gorgeous. I admire your courage to get that great picture.
    Thanks for sharing.

  5. Gorgeous! Truly beautiful all the way around. I can’t believe how high up you guys are.
    I am afraid of heights too (now that I’m older, wiser, and less balanced- ha!), but I think I would have ventured to about your spot. Not Dirtmans spot, but somewhere where you were with a big hook or something in hand. 🙂 What a fantastic trip!

  6. Great pictures! I’m with you, I wouldn’t be that close to the edge either.

    I haven’t been out West since I was in middle school, and then I didn’t really appreciate it. I need to go again!

  7. Wow, is all I can say.

    I think I need to make a list of all the places you visited so that I can go to some of them too. I would love to see some of this beauty in person. Especially that cavern place.

    Thank you so much for sharing your travels.

  8. I’ve been there three times, it is an amazing place, good thing that I am afraid of heights. People should visit Horseshoe bend and when in Page, Az also the Antelope Canyon.

Leave a Reply

