Weeping Rock (Or Was That Me Crying In Fear?)

 

It is no secret that I was awestruck as I laid eyes on the first mountain as we entered the West. There seemed to be a tremendous shift in size from Nevada to Utah. Then, as we entered Zion National Park, I began to feel overwhelmed. Not in a bad way, but in a way that is difficult to express. It’s more of a spiritual thing. I was in pure wonderment. However, it was at this point, Weeping Rock that the sheer magnitude enveloped me. From below, I was amazed, but when I reached the top and looked over the many shades of crimson, gold, and green in the canyons between the rocks of white, gray, sand, terracotta, and mauve. I was astounded and absorbed in the creativity of God. I never knew so much color and shape could exist in one area and in such magnitude. There were series of smaller mountains sitting on larger mountains. Ledges jutted out throughout the mountains. From wherever I was, there were mountains towering over me or waiting below. There were mountains in front, behind, and to each side of me. I was engulfed in rock. I began to think WAY too much…so much, I began to scare myself. I felt so small and insignificant.

I am not going to do a lot of writing in this post. I will let the photographs speak for themselves. I will explain a bit about weeping rock when I get to those photographs. I want you to see what leads up to this rock, and then tell you about it, and then tell you about how I was when I left there.

Springs drip from within the walls of Weeping Rock, hence the name. Ledges protrude from the soaring walls from which hanging gardens flourish.

We found out that Hidden Canyon is located between the walls of the mountains we could see from that point. Dirt Man thought it would be a great hike, not too strenuous, but would involve some rock climbing. So, I did that in Nevada…no big deal, or so I thought. Then, we got back to the hotel, and he showed me some photographs on Google Earth. The photographs showed people hanging on to chains to make their way up. I thought I had conquered my fear of heights at the mountain I climbed in Nevada. I was way wrong! This mountain made the last one seem like a mole hill. I could not sleep when we went to bed. I tossed and turned with worry. I didn’t want to break it to Dirt Man that I just didn’t have it in me to climb it. When I told him, he was fine about it and suggested some other things that would be just as beautiful but less intimidating. It ends up that we later did Emerald Pools which was even more beautiful and just as difficult in some places. I guess I have a phobia I need to work on. I need to remember that things look much different from a distance than when you are on top of them…

See the face on the side of that mountain? I found “ancestrial ” faces as I call them on every mountain.

33 thoughts on “Weeping Rock (Or Was That Me Crying In Fear?)

  1. Zion is beautiful. We were there in the spring and Weeping Wall was literally dripping and we got a bit wet. We were there when Turbo was almost two. We are definitely going back.

  2. Oh it is bringing back so many memories for me, reading your posts and seeing your photos. I know what you mean about Zion, it is somehow almost overwhelming in size and grandeur to begin with.

  3. This area is so gorgeous! Did you get to see Brice Canyon by any chance? That’s almost other worldly. I would have never been able to hike around these places, but they are spectacular when you can, I’m sure. (I have a terror of heights. And there’s the shoes as well, as you know.)

    • We didn’t make it to Bryce this trip, but hopefully, next year. There is so much to see everywhere. We missed so much even though it seems we saw a lot. I also have a fear of heights whcih I only made a small dent in conquering! And yes, heels would be a major problem! My biggest fear was Horseshoe Bend (I’ll post that at the end of this week or early nest week) which is the start of the Grand Canyon in Utah…much more unnerving to me than the mountains or even the grand Canyon.

  4. Utah is one of the few states I’ve never been to, but I hope to visit someday. The sheer magnificence of these mountains, the staight-up ruggedness of the rock sides – intimidating! I would marvel from below, never attempt to go up. Unless there was a nice path away from a sheer edge. Sometimes those “don’t do it” feeling are sensible and protective, you know.

  5. OMG, Suzi…I actually got chills while looking at these INCREDIBLE photos!

    I could somehow feel the energy of them – almost a sacredness.

    “See the face on the side of that mountain? I found “ancestrial ” faces as I call them on every mountain.”

    Yes, I saw the face. AMAZING!

    “I felt so small and insignificant.”

    Isn’t it something how mountains make you feel that way?

    FAB post, my friend! LOVED IT!

    X

    • The height thing was a problem for me, but not nearly as bad as I first thought it might be. However, I thought I’d conquered it after cliimbing the mountain in Nevada, but the magnitude of the mountains was no comparison.

  6. you captured their beauty perfectly in your photographs. if i lived at your place i would have requested for a copy of some of your pix. they are so very beautiful.

    thanks for sharing them.

Leave a Reply

