Red Rock Canyon – Part Three

These are some of the canyon slots we climbed up and slid down, and the slots we passed through.

That’s me going through the canyon slot.

One of the places we had to walk along the edge.

Yes, I am sitting on the edge with my feet hanging over while taking in the beauty. It is truly unlike anything I’ve ever seen. I’ve never experienced this part of God’s great canvas.

This gives you a bit more of a visual of “walking on the edge” of life!

This is called a “tank”…only makes one wonder what happened to that big chunk of stone that is missing from the mountain! There are a few of these on the trail, but this is the only one where we went through.

This hike was much harder and longer than I had imagined. Every step was a challenge. We all had a few slips and falls, and one woman caught her hand on the canyon wall as she jumped from a ledge and either broke or severly dislocated her pinkie finger. Still, we all persevered and were thrilled with what we took away…an awesome physical,visual, and spiritual experience.

31 thoughts on “Red Rock Canyon – Part Three

    • It ended up taking about six hours. We had a total of thirteen people to keep together with rest breaks, lunch, and a few minor injuries. Sounds slow, but considering the terrain, not bad.

    • The Angels Landing trail is as dangerous in some places, but not sure if we’re going to forego that one and go on a less extreme one because we scheduled it the day before our Subway hike which is the one we really want to do…we certainly don’t want to be exhausted taking off without a guide!

      • I am afraid of heights as well…guess I am trying to conquer the fear…still don’t know if I’ll want to climb on the roof when I get back home though!

  1. Wow! I am sorry your fellow hiker got injured. I am happy all you got were sore muscles!! I think you are very brave to have worn shorts. If I did that I would have ended up with skinned lower legs!

    Beautiful!

    • I think I got a few small scratches from branches, and a little bruise where I caught my leg under the rock. Not terribly sore, however, even one of my eye sockets hurt…explain that one! Was I peering over the edges too much?!

      • Ha, ha. I am just guessing, but maybe while you were straining you broke a blood vessel around your eye socket. Or somehow something was actually strained from your effort. Not your looking/seeing effort, but your hiking. Ya know how the body is, it is all connected.

      • Terre, I actually think it is unrelated and it’s maybe a blocked tear duct. It was a bit red and swollen…used hot compress last night and feels a bit better today.

      • Owww. I was picturing the soreness being more on the upper part of your eye like behind your eye lid.I worked with someone that had one of those and it is painful. I hope you feel better.

  2. You are so much braver than I would be – first of all, I am not a huge fan of heights – I don’t think I would be able to dangle my legs like that!

    Looks gorgeous!

    • Surprisingly enough, even though I was panting at times, I was not whining inside like I usually do because I REALLY wanted to see what I cam to see! And it was so worth it!

  3. Looks like the scene from the last version we saw of “I Shouldn’t Be Alive.” A woman fell in the canyon and stayed there for 3 days or something with a broken hip while her dog hung out with her. Glad you were with company & you hiked it safely. It’s just beautiful.

  4. Hi Suzi!!!!!

    OMG, OMG, OMG…these photos are absolutely breathtaking!!!!

    I could actually FEEL the awesome sacred/spiritual energy coming from the images on your posts – I got chills!

    Looking forward to more of your trip!

    Have a wonderful time, dear lady!

    ((( Suzi )))

    X

  5. Your Red Rock series is fabulous! The rocks are amazing. We’ve been to Sedona, AZ and that place has some magnificent sights to see too. Your photos are breathtaking.

Leave a Reply

