…And She Rocks

Prompt is “lonely”.

…And She Rocks

She merely goes through the motions

Minutes into hours, drift into the sea

And she warms her soul with

Cup after cup of steaming tea

And she rocks her heart like a baby

In case tomorrow never comes

Crooked fingers deal out solitaire

As she bids her time day after day

She relies on the past, memories

To chase her enemy, lonely, away

And she rocks her heart like a baby

In case tomorrow never comes

At night she stacks the stars

Building a tower to the moon

Hoping to find him in the heavens

So she can be with him soon

And she rocks her heart like a baby

In case tomorrow never comes

Her hair has thinned to a soft grey

And her tears no longer flow

Her voice, a crackling whisper

Of days that move too slow

And she rocks her heart like a baby

Hoping tomorrow never comes

23 thoughts on “…And She Rocks

    • I thought of a lot of elderly people I know when I wrote this. It made me very sad, and was difficult to hold back tears. The pain they feel breaks my heart. And even if people are around them, they still feel lonely because they miss their lives as they were.

  1. I have to agree with rudrip, this brought tears to my eyes because it instantly reminded me of my mother’s father and mother. They truly were soulmates, so after my grandmother passed away, it was only a matter of months before my grandfather passed away also.

    Lovely poem, Suzi, just lovely!

    Hope you had a wonderful Saturday!

    X

  2. Girl, you are on a roll! This was both sad and lovely. It reminds me of my little mother, now age 83, who misses my dad so much and has been without him for so long. Excellent work, as always!

    When you have time, perhaps you can explain this prompt poetry. I’d like to give it a try.

  3. You painted such a lovely, poignant picture of aloneness and aging. Sad, but yet not. Patient. I see this gentle, patient lady, in her last days, content with her life but looking forward to being reunited with her life love.

  4. this was very sad Suzi, almost heart breakingly sad.

    you wrote it so perfectly.

    shubho bijoyadashami (Happy vijayadashami)! May the Goddess fill your life up with beauty and happiness.

  5. Powerful expression Suzicate–thanks for sharing.

    I have seen folks like that in my own family as well as those outside–it must be a very difficult situation for all.

Leave a Reply

