An Autumn Song

 I am the crisp breeze

that splatters your soul

with myriad hues of scarlet and gold.

 

I am a cantata of leaves

that serenade and cajole

with words unspoken, secrets untold.

 

I am the pitter and patter

of soft falling rain

upon the brown decaying ground.

 

I am the heart of the matter,

the joy and pain

of all this green, life once found.

 

I am past summer’s end;

not quite winter’s death,

but life’s chosen state of rest.

 

I am the gentle bend

of that exhilarating breath

reaching nature’s vibrant crest.

 

I beckon you to wait and see

for all that is to come and be

This is my entry for One Hot Wednesday.

37 thoughts on “An Autumn Song

  1. Suzicate This poem is just simple beautiful and awesome all in one. You have painted a picture of beauty in my mind as your words softly brush across my lips as I read your wonderful words. Love and Hugs Viola

  2. This was lovely. Nice work. I especially liked

    that serenade and cajole / with words unspoken, secrets untold.

    although it might be better if it were not a ‘canvas’ doing the sounding off, but something more vocal or audible. Otherwise, a great poem with a picture to match. Very nice!

  3. I haven’t had time to start on my new book yet. I am busy trying to get the two I have already written ready to publish, and I spend a lot of my time helping families who has love ones with cancer. I also am spending a lot of time with my church. Of course my two grandkids keeps me very busy most of the time too so you see I am a lady with very little time on her hands. LOL. I read your stories as they come in my email. Most of the time I read early in the morning while I have my coffee before waking my family up to get them off to school and my daughter off to work. I just don’t have time to comment on them. But please know I do read. I miss you too sweetie. Hugs and Love Viola

  4. I love the colors and sounds that run off the page and at the end the anticipation mmm

    Thanks for sharing with One Shot my dear

    Harvest Moon glow

  5. *smiling*

    Oh, Suzi…you’ve no idea how much I LOVE this poem. Fall is my favorite time of the year, therefore your words touched me deeply!

    “I am past summer’s end;

    not quite winter’s death,

    but life’s chosen state of rest.”

    That’s why I love Fall…life’s chosen state of rest.

    Thank you for sharing, dear lady!

    X

  6. I am the gentle bend / of that exhilarating breath / reaching nature’s vibrant crest.” Beautiful poem, each stanza sounds so musical and paints homage to autumn.

  7. SuziCate,
    I am stunned by the beauty of this poem. I love it all and this particular stanza is simply divine

    I am the heart of the matter,
    the joy and pain
    of all this green, life once found.

Leave a Reply

