Precipice

This is my entry for One Shot Wednesday. This was inspired by Linda’s post Stepping Back From The Edge.

 

Precipice

Standing on the edge

I listen to the song of life

whipping through the tree limbs

And I wonder if time is eternal

It is the same distance up as it is down

All seems smaller looking down

The exhilaration is greater at the top

And going down can be easier than the climb

But would the view from the top be nearly as great

had I not endured the climb up

From the bottom, obstacles met me head on

I got smacked in the face by tree limbs

the very ones that sing so sweetly

And I slipped upon the rocks

the very ones upon which this mountain sits

Standing on the edge

I am in awe of the vastness that surrounds me

I am a part of God’s glorious canvas

And he has chosen me to live this day

So I listen to this hymn of life

of all above and below me

And I am humbled

I am

Standing on the edge

47 thoughts on “Precipice

  1. beautiful suzicate…(do i say that too much?)…the journey is not easy, if it was all would do it…and see the canvas laid out before them…and them in it…nice one shot!

  2. Metaphors in vistas this week, on a train, from a mountain summit. Nature has gripped us in the turn of the season and made us realize its quickness and its mutability. Lovely work. Thank you, Gay (@beachanny)

  3. I had a post this week that pitted me against a mountain as well. I agree that the journey is the important thing, but the gift of the destination is all the sweeter. Lovely poem Suzi

  4. Awesome photo! Love the inclusion of so much sky.

    I imagined myself standing there and wondered if I would feel as you do. I think so.

    A feeling of power to look over the mountains, but humbling to realize its vastness against my small body.

    All random thoughts here: Miley Cyrus’s “It’s the Climb” just popped in my head. 🙂

    Your words are beautiful and expressive, as always.

  5. Life is beautiful and this is so beautifully captured in this poetry… Suzicate…
    Loved your words in the beginning

    “I listen to the song of life
    whipping through the tree limbs”

    And so lovingly ended in the end… with

    “And I am humbled
    I am
    Standing on the edge”

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Connect with me on Twitter @VerseEveryDay

  6. This is a strong piece of poetry, from the powerful imagery and through your words, it really grips one soul.

    Beautiful work, and the “let go” boy do you have to have a lot of faith and trust standing on the edge….

    Nice one stop,

    Joanny

  7. The climb, the scenery, the success of reaching the top – all caught in this poem. … and the majesty of the Maker

    Thanks Suzi for the One Shot

    Moon love

  8. Susan, I absolutely love your website. A week ago my husband tells me about this great website and it happens to be yours…… Love the photography of the bridges….lot’s of memories.
    Thank you[:-}

  9. I’m catching up on posts I missed. Awe-inspiring. This was truly incredible word imagery and pic.
    You blow me away with your talent. You are going to come back from that workshop a famous writer! 🙂

Leave a Reply

