A New Lease On Peace

KPC Prompt “Starting Over”

Courage doesn’t always roar.
Sometimes courage is the quiet voice
at the end of the day saying,
“I will try again tomorrow.”
– Mary Anne Radmacher

Life often presents us with opportunities for fresh starts. Graduation from high school or college gives us the opportunity to reinvent ourselves. Moving, career changes, marriage, and the birth of children offer us new beginnings. These are usually pleasant and welcome new directions in life.

People are often forced to start their lives over. They may have been displaced by floods or fires and have had to rebuild homes or relocate. With the downturn of the economy, people’s businesses have gone under, their jobs have been downsized, and they may have been pushed to declare bankruptcy. No matter the cause or the situation, it is an emotional endeavor.

And sometimes life offers us a mind altering horrific experience to give us a new lease. That is exactly what happened to me. Being held up at gunpoint and praying to God for your life to be spared brings a whole new perspective to life. Escaping physically unharmed was a blessing, but it took a toll on me emotionally.

At first I didn’t view this as a beginning. I viewed it as an ending. An almost ending of life. But an ending to the way I lived my life. Gone was the trust. The simple task of going out alone to the grocery store was pure misery. Being alone was devastating. I was frightened, vulnerable, and felt betrayed. I let myself become a victim. My fear stifled my children.

While I was certainly happy to be alive, and stopped taking people, things, and time for granted, I was unable to live a life of peace. I was thankful for my blessings, and was grateful for He who gave me life and sustained me daily. Still I didn’t reach that place inside me where He resides.

“If one dream should fall and break into a thousand pieces, never be afraid to pick one of those pieces up and begin again.” — Flavia Weedn, Illustrator and Artist

When I found that spiritual side, I began to live life as a victor. It took many years and much self evaluation. I did not find this place inside the walls of a church. I held the keys within my self for years, but never knew how to unlock those doors. That was the point of starting over for me. No, there was no grand outer appearance to show off. It was a beginning that was probably not noticeable to others, but had a profound effect on me personally. I know that I am blessed in so many ways. I still have to remind myself now and then not to take people or things for granted. I try to look at each day and find the extraordinary in the ordinary. I live a fairly simple and what most people would consider boring life. But what I have is a deep rich inner life that is difficult for me to explain. I have peace. And I’m happy to say that nothing material in this world equates to that. The beginning of peace is a new lease on life.

“Our greatest glory is not in never failing, but in rising up every time we fail.” — Ralph Waldo Emerson, Author, Philosopher, and Poet

27 thoughts on “A New Lease On Peace

  1. I’m so glad you found peace after your scary experience. Peace in our lives is so valuable.

    I also like how you mentioned graduation. When I was younger I always thought it was odd that it was called Commencement. But now I understand.

  2. Hello. You have touched on something that I’ve been thinking on for a long time. So many people are literally victims of circumstances. Their happiness, purpose for going forth and identity are tied directly to physical success and material acquisition. And when it’s suddenly taken away, they go nutty.

    the book of Isaiah such trust is referred to in the chariots of Egypt. There was a tendancy to trust in them because they were many; much like we trust in our military because it’s second to no other. But Isaiah goes on to write that the Egyptians are men, and not God. Their horses are flesh and not spirit. I don’t know what your thoughts are concerning scripture, but this analogy is perfect. (Isaiah chapters 30 and 31)

    I still remember the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. There were horrific stories of loss and despair. One lady who was interviewed, however, commented like this: “Well, we lost our house, we lost our restaurant, everything that we’ve worked for our entire lives is gone…..I’m going fishing.” It was so refreshing to hear someone not be overwhelmed by the loss of things that cannot be taken into eternity anyways.

    Sory for the long comment. I just found your site while viewing the WordPress readomatic feature and thought to add my two cents. Thanks.

    timbob

  3. Isn’t finding inner peace the ultimate quest? I do believe this to be true. Though I was not held up at gunpoint like you, my mom and dad were and it also had profound effects on their lives. I am glad you were ultimately able to use the experience as a tool to learn more about yourself and further you on your road to a peaceful existence.

  4. Although we’ve never met, you strike me as one who would not be content to be a victim for very long. There is strength in your quietness. And that strength can overcome anything.

  5. A very beautiful and heartfelt post. I am glad that you are here today to share it, Suzicate. It makes me happy and able to evaluate where I stand spiritually. Thanks.

  6. It’s very easy for me to forget about the violence you endured because the way you write is so peaceful, optimistic, loving. Unfortunately, sometimes people cannot overcome the emotional obstacles generated by such an event, but you did. I love the way this is written, and it fits in with our theme on religion and faith this week. Let me know if you want to link up.

  7. Beautifully put. I love the quote at the beginning.

    I think a lot about kaliedoscopes. They are these incredibly beautiful pictures made from broken parts. When you talk about picking up one of the broken pieces, this image came rushing back at me.

    I am so sorry you were hurt. I find it inspiring you’ve been able to turn that pain around and find something inside it. Something worth burnishing and making lovely. Or at least worthy of a new beginning.

    Because begin again is all we can do.

    Thank you for telling this story. It’s a big one to read. I imagine it’s a big one to tell.

  8. Our world is sometimes difficult to navigate, and has many ways in which we can be traumatized. It’s always good news when someone comes out of it stronger and at peace with themselves and their lives. Cheers for you! For dealing with the trauma, for finding the door to the new beginning.

  9. Life throws situations at you and it’s up to you whether or not you let them get you down or get over them, I know this had to scare you to death and put a fear inside you that is very hard to overcome, I am proud to see that you are not a victim because you are not going to let this keep you down.

    Life is not always fair and this does tick me off to know that you were faced with this type of fear.

  10. Those are great quotes. And I am so glad you have found peace. I, too, tend to take things for granted and have to remind myself quite often to really enjoy life, because life is so fragile and precious. And it can be gone in the blink of an eye.

  11. Oh, I would be exactly like you had been – seeing “it as an ending. An almost ending of life. But an ending to the way I lived my life. Gone was the trust.” I think you are so awesome to have risen above and beyond this.

    Thank you for sharing.

    I love all the quotes you used.

Leave a Reply

