The Great Outdoors Of Virginia

Never does nature say one thing and wisdom another. -Juvenal, Satires

I was excited to find the theme for Spin Cycle to be “The Great Outdoors”. You all know how much I love nature from the mountains to the rivers to the sea. I often talk about the serenity I feel in nature, and how I love to be absorbed in the middle of it. I thought at first I’d share pictures and tell you about each of them. Instead I found some fabulous quotes from people who can say it much better than me. I live their words when I am in the midst of God’s great glorious canvas. So instead of my original plan, I will share some photographs with their words. I’d like to note that all of these photographs were taken in the state of Virginia. Now, do you understand why they say Virginia is for lovers?
 
A man does not climb a mountain without bringing some of it away with him,and leaving something of himself upon it.”– Sir Martin Conway

I chatter, chatter, as I flow, To join the brimming river, For men may come and men may go, But I go on forever –Alfred Lord Tennyson The Brook

Rocks do not recommend the land to the tiller of the soil, but they recommend it to those who reap a harvest of another sort –the artist, the poet, the walker, the student, and lover of all primitive open-air things. -John Burroughs
 
 
The wind blows where it chooses, you hear the sound of it, but you do not know where it comes from or where it goes. -John 3:8
 
 
The mountains lie in the curves so tender I want to lay my arm around them as God does. -Olive Dargan, Twilight
 
 
The whole secret of the study of nature lies in learning how to use one’s eyes. -George Sand
 
 
The substance of the winds is too thin for human eyes, their written language is too difficult for human minds, and their spoken language mostly too faint for the ears. -John Muir
 
 
The clearest way into the universe is through a forest wilderness. -John Muir
 
 
The wind shows us how close to the edge we are -Joan Didion
 
 
There can be no very black melancholy to him who lives in the midst of nature and has his senses still. There was never yet such a storm but it was Aeolian music to a healthy and innocent ear. -Henry David Thoreau, Walden
“We don’t stop hiking because we grow old, we grow old because we stop hiking.” — Finis Mitchell,
 
One touch of nature makes the whole world kin. -Shakespeare Trollus and Cressida

Every formula which expresses a law of nature is a hymn of praise  -Maria Mitchell

This is my Spin on The Great Outdoors.

26 thoughts on “The Great Outdoors Of Virginia

  1. One of these days I have to get to Virginia because I work with a few people who are originally from there and they all say the same thing….it’s GORGEOUS.

    And looking at your beautiful photos…I’d have to agree!

    Bellissima!

    “The clearest way into the universe is through a forest wilderness. -John Muir

    Love that! Thanks for sharing, Suzi!

    X

  2. “Never does nature say one thing and wisdom another.”
    I love this quote Suzi! It’s so true…
    And thank you for sharing those amazing photos with us 🙂

  3. This is one of the reasons I am connected to the religion I have- the focus is on natural beauty, the earth, nature, and all the gifts we have been given. There’s something magical about fresh air, mountains, and streams. Your pictures are always so pretty!

Leave a Reply

