Swinging The Gates Of Soul

“Love is the master key which opens the gates of happiness.” ~Oliver Wendell Holmes

Somtimes, we open our gates and invite others in to visit. We let the gate creak back and forth. We don’t wish destruction upon ourselves, but we also don’t want to be isolated. We have a healthy sense of security. We are responsible gatekeepers.

Sometimes, we only let others step inside the gate for a glimpse. We are weary of how well others know us. We refuse to let them reach our hearts or souls. We guard them and only the select receive the key to pass through the corridors.

Sometimes, our gates are fortified. They’re tall and heavy. They come with instructions and warnings. Should others not heed our signs, our gates are  ready to swing shut and be bolted on a moment’s notice. Our gates are solid enough to protect what is inside and keep out intruders. We need to be careful not to suffocate ourselves by shutting out the world.

Sometimes, our defenses are down. Our gates are decrepit. People slide through. We might experience pain, disappointment, embarrassment, or anger; but we might also experience pleasure, satisfaction, pride, and joy. We’ll never know if we don’t take that chance.

Sometimes, we build a stronger gate than the actual structure. We even add a chain and lock. We’ve been hurt, cheated, or used. We won’t take any chances of being hurt again. We might miss out on growing and evolving. Life just might pass us by.

Sometimes, we leave the gate wide open to the experiences of life. We’re open for communication. We are open to truth. We are emotional and vulnerable. We love and let ourselved be loved. We truly live. Sometimes, we are a gateway to the rest of the world.

The world is all gates, all opportunities, strings of tension waiting to be struck.” ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

A Segment Of Sometimes Series

32 thoughts on “Swinging The Gates Of Soul

  1. I read this TWICE, because I wanted to be sure to absorbed every single word.

    Truly, my friend…I must reitorate “Linda’s” comment.

    “You are one amazing woman!”

    I LOVE these photo essays!

    Thank you for sharing your gifts.

    ““Love is the master key which opens the gates of happiness.” ~Oliver Wendell Holmes”

    X

  2. Hi Suzicate! I love your latest post and in a weird way it goes well with the recent blog I posted. I have let some through the gate in the last year I never should have. I am not sorry to have let them in…I learned many lessons and have come to realize there is a very good reason some people were left in the past. For some people in our lives it is best not to reopen the gate but leave them on the other side…in our memories. Love the post. Thanks!!

  3. “Sometimes, we build a stronger gate than the actual structure. We even add a chain and lock. We’ve been hurt, cheated, or used. We won’t take any chances of being hurt again. We might miss out on growing and evolving. Life just might pass us by.”
    I’ve been there, it’s not a good place to be… When someone betrays our trust we tend to build the strongest gate we possibly can but life is all about taking chances, risks and I learnt that it’s OK to “forget” those gate doors open from time to time 🙂

  4. ah- guilty as charged. I’ve built a nice one inside me that I try not to shut- but it isn’t easy.

    I love the passage and the pictures that go along with it, wonderful

  5. I love this. I am one of those people who has a gate up…. but over the years, I have been able to open that gate for certain people here and there. It’s hard to let people in sometimes, because the closer someone is to your heart, the easier it is for them to hurt you.

    • Jen, I used to be the very same way. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve been able to let my defenses down. Occasionally, there are those that will still take advantage, but when you’re able to pinpoint that type of person, you able to open and close…kind of like a drawbridge.

  6. These posts you do in this vein are very clever and I really like this one, the words and photos go together so perfectly. I am definitely a person who keeps their defences up, afraid of letting to that little bit and being hurt that big bit.

  7. I think this post will resonate with so many. We all have gates to enter, cross and exit. It depends so much on us – how much grace we muster as we pass through these various gates.

Leave a Reply

