Wake Up Little Suzi!

Sleeping is no mean art:  for its sake one must stay awake all day.  ~Friedrich Nietzsche

There is no denying that I am a person who loves to sleep. That is until recently. I still love to sleep; it just doesn’t like mingling with me these days. It tries its best to evade me. It seems that the older I’ve gotten, the less sleep I need. I find this a shame as I miss my days of slumber.

I was always the first person to fall asleep at slumber parties. I used to also be the first one up as I used to be a morning person. That was once upon a time, that is. I remember those days of nodding off and trying my best to hold my eyes open. Now, this only happens if I sit down to watch a movie. Even if it’s a good movie, I am sure to fall asleep before the ending. Now, if I got up and went to bed, I’d lay there awake for hours just waiting for the Sandman to sprinkle me.

My husband used to work out of town at times, and I hated night when he was gone. I used to fear every creak I heard. I envisioned kidnappers, burglars, and rapists. I just knew someone was coming after the kids and me. When he was home, it was everything I could do to outlast the kids.

Somewhere through the years that started to change.  As my kids got older and turned into night owls, the nosey and worrisome mother in me came out with a vengeance. However, they got to sleep in the next morning. My body clock changed and I started waking up early. I hate it that my body doesn’t want to sleep in because my mind really does!

At one point I was only getting a few hours of sleep a night. I thought my insomnia was due to hormones or other some physical ailment. My doctor attributed it to being the mother of teenagers. Eventually, I forced myself to come to peace and let go of control.

Most days, I stay up until eleven, midnight or later. However, if I am over stimulated, my system shuts down. A rush of adrenaline used to make me giddy. Now, it completely exhausts me, mind, body, and soul. I never realized I had a party pooper reputation outside of my family unit about eight years ago. I recall that on a retreat I went on some of the women were planning a late night beach walk, and one of them remarked that I’d never be able to stay awake that late. I was highly offended. It was true; I fell asleep before they left!

Nothing cures insomnia like the realization that it’s time to get up.  ~Author Unknown

Recently Dirt Man had to be out of town for a few days. I could not sleep. This time it was not due to fear of anyone getting in the house. I just can’t sleep alone now. I need his warm body and to be able to throw my leg over him. Hey, who needs a body pillow? Besides, I even tried that, but it didn’t work. And the dog wasn’t having any of it…she likes the whole bed to herself! I watched the clock all night long, hour after hour. Of course, I fell asleep just before I had to get up! I thought of so many things to write about and they all disappeared with the ringing alarm.

If a man had as many ideas during the day as he does when he has insomnia, he’d make a fortune.  ~Griff Niblack

My brothers and sisters used to sing “Wake Up Little Suzie” to me when I’d drift off at inappropriate times or if they just wanted me to get up in the mornings. They’re so used to me falling asleep early, to this day they’re weary of calling me after nine at night, though I assure them that I am always up well past then. Every once in a while, Dirt Man belts this out to me as well. What can I say? I really want sleep to be my friend; I sure miss him!

26 thoughts on “Wake Up Little Suzi!

  1. I’m just the opposite – of course, for me this has happened over the past 3 or 4 years, so it could happen to you too. Later in your life. A Lot later. Now we’re usually in bed by 9:00 and read for awhile. Depending on the night and the book, I might read until 10:30 or 11:00 or I might only make it until 9:20. Sleeping in? Not likely anymore! Bailey always thought 7:00 was get-up time – Shasta leans more towards 6:00-ish, and she’s converted Bailey. Hub? He might get up and fill their food dishes when I take them out, but then he’s back in bed and sleeping instantly.

  2. I am a night person. I mean really. I asked my mom if she worked graveyard when she was pregnant with me and she did. I wonder if that has anything to do with it. I am NOT a morning person. And I love to sleep.

    When it really starts to bother you, you might seek out other things to help you sleep, like yoga, exercise, warm milk, meditation, or something. There are so many healthful things. 🙂

  3. This one resonates….I don’t sleep a lot but the minute I have to watch a movie, not even halfway through, I’ll be asleep and when I go to bed, alllll wide awake!! I use to stress about my sleeping habits so much, now I get up and come downstairs to write. Good one Suzi!!

  4. I guess I’m with Dirt Man, I have a heck of a time watching TV because I get comfortable and you know what happens then Ha Ha

    I fall asleep whenever and wherever I am I tell my friends it’s because I am comfortable on their couch too, Cindy is used to it by now 🙂

  5. My mother does that fall asleep watching tv thing. If I try to read at three or four in the afternoon these days I can’t keep my eyes open,, but at night I could easily read until 4 a.m. I always have trouble falling asleep and I always have trouble waking up. Sleep is a huge source of anxiety for me.

  6. Ok, I just want you to know that I’m snapping my fingers and dancing in my chair, while listening to this song. I love it! I heard this one in ages!

    I’m the same way, Suzie.

    “It seems that the older I’ve gotten, the less sleep I need.”

    I can literally get along with 5-6 hours a night. I stay up very late and get up about 9 a.m. I’ve always been more of a night person.

    The only time I can fall asleep during the day is if I’m on a train. The movement of a train is so relaxing to me.

    Zzzzzzzzzzz

    Fun post! Enjoyed!

    Have a great weekend!

    X

  7. I am soooo not a night person! I fall asleep somewhere around 11 and wake up at 5.30 am! Or maybe 6… if it’s Sunday.
    I don’t know what’s wrong with me LOL!

  8. I am an insomniac. I get it from my mother. Some nights are better than others. I usually catch 3 hours of sleep, and the rest of the night is tossing and turning in the gray area. It’s really annoying. The nights I hate the worst, though, are where sleep completely escapes me.

  9. I am a morning person, but only when I get my full-uninterrupted sleep at night. Sometimes that doesn’t happen with a four year old. But when I do get that continuous sleep, my day goes smoother.

  10. I have never been one to need much sleep, but I am with you on watching a movie, if I am tired and find it hard to sleep all I have to do is put a movie on and bang I am gone out like lightning. LOL Love your post my friend.

  11. Oh gosh, my mom would so relate to this post… And I do too! When I was a kid, I could sleep forever. In my early teens, I could sleep for twelve hours straight, no problem. Now? Nah. Once in a while, mostly when I’m with my boyfriend, I’ll manage to sleep in. The rest of the time – hard to sleep, and early to rise, which sucks because I never feel like I’ve had enough sleep.

    THAT’s the feeling I miss most – the feeling of waking up completely and 100% content with a good, calm, peaceful, restful night’s sleep.

  12. I just love ALL the quotes.

    I’ve had temporary bouts of insomnia here and there and it’s never fun.

    Lately my sleep is not as plentiful as I’d wish, we are going through that back-to-school readjustment and I am looking very forward to having it settled again.

    I hope you have sweet restful dreams tonight and all nights!

    xo

  13. I also used to be such a great sleeper — like the little one in the great photo — but now I toss and turn at night often. Hormone changes I suppose. Though it’s getting better, thankfully. Sleep is so underrated in our society!

  14. I used to be able to sleep in any day. Now I wake early, no matter when I went to bed.
    I love that you can’t sleep alone. I’ve slept alone so long I worry I’ll never be able to share a bed again!

  15. Of Suzi… I soooo hope you get back to the usual (normal) sleeping hours… I have weird sleeping hours too.. I go to bed REALLY late, but thankfully, I get my hrs of sleep!! My mantra is, if sleep ain’t getting to me, I won’t waste time lying in bed, TRYING to sleep. Instead, I try to write, or read others’ blogs…or SOMETHING! And then, around dawn, when my eyelids feel heavy, I plop on the bed, and in seconds, I am asleep! hehehe
    But the MAIN reason I particularly starting reading this post was cuz of the title… My husband sings this song to me to wake me up. I am quite a sound sleeper. Once asleep, it is quite a task to wake me up!! And he had recorded this song in his voice, and set it as my ringtone for him. Then he calls me from work, and as soon as I hear my phone ring with this song by him, I wake up in an instant! It’s like magic….
    Enough of my story… phheeww
    Have a pleasant and restful week, lovely lady… 🙂 (hugs)

Leave a Reply

