A Matter Of Time

I have always had an affinity for grandfather clocks. I don’t know when or where in life this started. In fact, I can not remember a grandfather clock in a home of anyone I knew personally. At any rate, I have dreamed of owning one and listening to the hours chime away. That of course, was before I was aware of how quickly time does slip away.

This grandfather clock was gifted to Dirt Man and I by his mother. His father had an artisan in their community build it for him. Dirt Man’s grandfather had been a clockmaker, and we were fortunate to be gifted one of his clocks as well.

At times, the chimes on this clock transport me. They sound like church bells. Now, I did not go to church as a child. However, and this could be my imagination rather than memory, I recall listening to the church bells from the Baptist church down the road from my childhood home. I do remember Sunday mornings, Mrs. Hall’s booming voice as she reached the top of the hill. She would be bellowing “Amazing Grace” or “Jesus Loves Me”. I was intrigued. I don’t know if it was due more to the fact that it was unfamiliar to me or that I was in wonder how she should shout out her love for God for the world to hear. Thinking about that now gives me goose bumps, and I am in awe of someone who could stand up to the world with her beliefs.

Back to my chimes…the clock has a lovely fifteen minute chime, a bit longer melody for the half hour with the hour chimes being followed by the number of dongs according to the hour. The music is beautiful, inspiring, and soul lifting.

Old Time, that greatest and longest established spinner of all!…. his factory is a secret place, his work is noiseless, and his hands are mutes.  ~Charles Dickens

So often time escapes me. I will start doing something, and before I know it, it is three hours later! How does that happen? I joyously tap away at the computer and listen to the chimes. It energizes me and gives me such a feeling of completeness that I find difficult to explain…until I focus on how much time has elapsed.

Why do I think I must always have something to show to prove my time was well spent? Must I have a well-raised child to prove my years at home was not wasted? Must I show off a quilt for hours of piddling away at the sewing machine? Must I have a book to prove my words are more than mere thoughts passing through my head? Is anyone making me feel this way or is it self-imposed? Did this need of being accountable for time rear from my childhood?

Time is what we want most, but… what we use worst.  ~William Penn

I am a horrible procrastinator. Yes, I waste precious time. The guilt eats at me as I listen to the chimes mark the hours of waste. It amazes me that I can sit down and start writing or reading blogs and the hours zoom by. Is it really a waste of time? I am learning invaluable lessons from other people’s experiences. I am connecting with wonderful people. And my writing? If I touch at least one person with words I’ve weaved, were those minutes truly wasted time?

Time, the cradle of hope…. Wisdom walks before it, opportunity with it, and repentance behind it:  he that has made it his friend will have little to fear from his enemies, but he that has made it his enemy will have little to hope from his friends.  ~Charles Caleb Colton

Every aspect of living (and dying for that matter) involves the process of time. Yes, time is valuable. We never know for sure how much of it we have. How do we know whether or not we are spending it responsibly? Is it necessary to spend it responsibly? Shouldn’t we allow ourselves the luxury of just being? Lifting our souls? Playing? Loving? Surely, they cannot be considered time wasters! Who is the czar of time anyway? We are our own keepers of time. I think for myself, it is “time” for me to let up a bit. I think I need to enjoy life, guilt-free.

Time is an equal opportunity employer.  Each human being has exactly the same number of hours and minutes every day.  Rich people can’t buy more hours.  Scientists can’t invent new minutes.  And you can’t save time to spend it on another day.  Even so, time is amazingly fair and forgiving.  No matter how much time you’ve wasted in the past, you still have an entire tomorrow.  ~Denis Waitely

 

The Grandfather Clock

 

Grandfather stands tall and proud

as the golden pendulum swings.

His chimes are consistent and loud.

Every hour his mighty soul rings.

Oh, how his hours slip away

as I go about living my day.

Minute by minute, his hand moves

Followed by hour upon hour.

Time does not stop, he proves.

I think he alone holds the power.

Oh, how his hours slip away

as I go about living my day.

Through time, memories are made.

Some significant, others small.

Too often these memories fade

As if they never existed at all.

Time is relative or is it not?

If the pendulum were to stop,

would time cease to be?

What would become of me?

This is my entry for One Shot Wednesday at One Stop Poetry.

43 thoughts on “A Matter Of Time

  1. “I have always had an affinity for grandfather clocks. ”

    Me too, Suzie! I love the sound they make.

    Also, church bells.

    I live close to City Hall here in Philly, and they have a HUGE clock on the tippy-top, where William Penn stands. I can actually see the clock from my apartment window. I LOVE the way it sounds as it chimes every hour.

    Loved your share on time. I too wonder how it fly’s so fast when I’m on the Internet. Five hours fly by like minutes.

    I use to be someone who was overly aware of time, so about 10 years ago I stopped wearing a watch. And you know what? I’ve never been late for work or anything else where I’ve had to be somewhere at a particular time. I seem to sense what time it is without really knowing.

    Loved your poem! And the video was so beautiful. I listened to it with my headphones on.

    Thanks for sharing, dear lady!

    X

  2. yay suzicate is in the house! smiles. this brought back wonderful memories of a grandfather clock at my grandparents house…it had wonderful chimes…if it stopped would we…hmm…nice oneshot!

  3. Ah time. I am feeling it passing as of late, as it ticks by towards my girlies starting school in a mere few weeks. ACK! oh, I often wish it would stand still a bit more, but tomorrow’s lessons are always waiting.

  4. I am amazed at how I feel the need to account for time as well- I have a mental what I did today list to prove I didn’t waste a lot of time- why is that? I’m learning to be more relaxed about it, because quite frankly, time spent on whatever I wanted to do is still time well spent.

  5. we had one of these clocks at my grandfather’s house too!! he loved it, as a kid i was sometimes scared of it..standing tall in the hall..:) ah,you brought me back to good times..thanks,lovely post..:)

  6. A lovely post suzicate, I can relate; I think there is an inbred Calvinist work ethic in us that demands we have something concrete to show to account for every minute.

  7. Enjoy how you weave your thoughts about time through those deep quotations… “Oh, how his hours slip away / as I go about living my day.” A reminder to seize the day, your poem questions being in time eloquently.

  8. I enjoyed your poem.

    I can relate to how time feels as if it just flies by. I never understand how I can sit down to read a blog or two and two hours have past. I must read very slow.

    I think it is society and the way we are “programmed” to feel as if we must be “DOING” somthing all the time. There is a commercial on right now where a woman is trying to connect to the internet and one phone does it seconds slower than the other and they make it so that her life is sooooooo much better because she “saved’ a few seconds. We are in such a rush. We (as a society) don’t slow down to just be. It is evident in our stress levels and as a result our health.

    I envy people who can just relax and just be. I am trying to learn to accept that what I do online or just sitting to think is ok and is not a waste of time. As you said, I am learning, meeting wonderful people and connecting.

    Thank you for sharing.

    • I think as a society we are held accountable to something tangible for our time…crazy isn’t it? I am trying to learn the art of relaxing and just being…need to get rid of the guilt associated with it. Fortunatley my children inherited the ability from my husband!

      • I think being held accountable and doing some things in a timely manner is nice, but I think that as a society we take it too far. It is a the “get-ahead-of-the-Jones attitude” that is the bad part.

        Maybe learning to be able to just “be” might help you sleep too!

  9. Awesome Suzi, it brought back memories from long ago…(when I wished that darn clock in my grandmothers house would break down)….beautiful sentiment in this…Carpe Diem my friend!!! Loved the music too:):):)
    Oh…excellent for One Shot!! oxoxox

  10. Great words on time. Flowed beautifully. I’ve always thought our appreciation of time is dependent on what we use to measure it. In the deep past, when they went by rising and setting sun, time was a gentle affair. The wristwatch imprisoned us in a rush.

    • I’ve always thought our appreciation of time is dependent on what we use to measure it. – Good point, Anthony. I need to start measuring mine by the heart rather than ego!

  11. I love poems that make the reader reflect on the subject. We all have a story or a memory that you have helped us relive

    Thanks for letting One Shot share this

    Moon smiles

  12. a lovely post..but i went off on the grandfather clock..i love them..we have a history of clockmakers in my family from a long long time (lol) ago..one of my ancestors was responsible for the grandfather clock that sits in the masonic headquarters in london..such was the quality of his work..cheers pete

  13. your beautiful poem reminded me of the grandfather clock in my grandparents house…like the question at the end of your poem…would time stop…?

  14. That is a very pretty grandfather clock! My mom has one, and it does the same thing every fifteen minutes, half-hour and hour. I love the sound of bells. And near my house, there is a church that rings their bells, and I love that sound, too.

  15. Even though I have some issues with time- I have to say, the idea of time being an equal opportunity employer is great. Time treats us all the same!
    Love that clock Suzicate, I have a thing for old clocks 🙂

  16. I love grandfather clocks too. I love the deep sound they make. I am obsessed with time, the passing of it, reflecting on it, and the future of it. Love your take on time.

  17. Love those tall clocks, we had one when I was a little girl and it always fascinated me, as does the notion of time in this fabricated 3-d world we live in. Your poem was excellent, as was your observation about time and your reflection. Well thought out.

    Cheers, and yes Carpe Diem,

    Joanny

  18. I liked both your poem and your reflections on time. Time can be a demanding taskmaster if we let it. But sometimes what we see as “wasted time” is the most precious time of all.

  19. That old WASP (white Anglo Saxon Protestant) work ethic, which is what Cindy said. And you know what? Shaking that is not “lowering my standards”. Heck no. Modifying that – getting it to where you do what you must but do not feel a need to record it so that you can explain yourself to those around you – recognizing that time spent for yourself is not time wasted, but time maintaining a healthy emotional balance – that’s time spent constructively. I used to be able to tell you what I did every minute of every day. Now I cannot. I do what I must and I do what I want. And I take naps, and read, and read blogs, and write blogs. And I think I’m turning this into a post.

  20. Pingback: Wanderings of an Elusive Mind » Blog Archive » Time Well Spent

  21. Time is so precious … the older you get the more you realize it. I too procrastinate far too much. I also get lost in time and wonder where it went .. especially a day off during the summer .. and I feel the guilt of that. Until, I remind myself that throughout the entire school year I dream of a do nothing day. (I am writing myself a reminder note for the middle of February when I am wishing for a do nothing day – I have had some and it was not wasted time, it was mental health time) … Thank you for the Eagle and Don Henley … they are my all time favorite … I have seen them in concert, right up front twice in the past few years …. the concerts were never wasted time.

  22. Why is it so difficult to just let ourselves live in the moment? I can do it sometimes, but not very often.

    As an aside, we had a grandmother clock which I have fond memories of to this day.

Leave a Reply

