To Have And To Hold

When Dirt Man and I decided to get married the big question was where. My parents were not members of a church, and I was not brought up in the church. I briefly considered my grandfather’s church and quickly dropped the idea. I have always been a nature girl. Fall was and still is my favorite season. I love the colors and the gentle breeze of Autumn. I decided I wanted to get married at the foot of a mountain (didn’t care which one) with all of the changing leaves flowing over the meadow. I thought it sounded quite romantic. However, my mother in law to be did not. She retorted, “No son of mine is getting married on a mountainside!”

We gave in to MIL and made arrangements at the church that she belonged to but did not currently attend. It was a lovely small country church. We had to go to a few premarriage counseling sessions with the preacher. There was a bridal shower given in my honor. There was a rehearsal dinner as well. We decided to have the reception at the church after the ceremony. Hubby and I each paid for our own attire and the flowers. A friend who owned a florist offered to direct the wedding for us. Lucky for us, we didn’t even know we needed one. We thought we were simply going to just walk down the aisle and say yes. And of course seal it with a kiss!

 I asked my sister, Peg, to be my matron of honor. My friendfriend, cousin, and sister of the bride were my bridesmaids. My niece was a  jr. bridesmaid and my cousin a flower girl. Dirt Man had equal male attendants to pair off with mine. The women wore wine colored dresses and the younger girls wore dresses of dusty rose patterned after Princess Di’s wedding dress. My dress story is here. The men wore grey pin stripe tuxedos with Dirt Man’s being a long tail.

Before the ceremony, my father and I walked out of the side of the church and came back in through the front. My father was super nervous. He said to me, ” She (referring to director) told me to just keep talking to you so you won’t get nervous. I swear to God I don’t know what to say. You don’t have to do this if you don’t want to.”

I think he was more nervous about walking down the aisle in his “monkey suit” as he referred to it than he was about me actually getting hitched. After all, he was quite impressed that Dirt Man asked HIM for my hand in marriage. Anyway, I assured him that I indeed did want to get married to Dirt Man.

I remember trembling so fiercely during the ceremony that Peg tried to grab my flowers to stop them from shaking and I ripped them back. Later, I gave them up to do the ring and unity candle parts.

The reception was simple. It was punch and fingerfoods made by my mother. There was no music or dancing. So I never had the so called first dance which was just as well since I can’t dance anyway.

The part about my wedding that most people do not know is that I was quite sick (not a hangover!) at my wedding. I guess I had some sort of a virus. By the time we made it to our honeymoon lodge, every bone and muscle in my body ached and I was exhausted. We borrowed a ski lodge in the mountains from a friend of Dirt Man’s family. What we didn’t know was that it only had bunk beds in it. What honeymooning couple would complain about that?! However,upon entering the cabin (and yes I was carried over the threshold), we discovered why the owner questioned if we were SURE we wanted to spend our HONEYMOON there. Regardless, we were together in the mountains that we so loved.

You may notice how young we were (19 and 21) in the wedding photograph. The picture below was taken last year on our 27th wedding anniversary. In a few short months we will be celebrating our 28th anniversary.

41 thoughts on “To Have And To Hold

  1. You were beautiful then and you are beautiful now! And we have the fact that we were both married at age 19 in common! How cool is that?

    However, you just hit 27 and I just hit 25 and as we both know, 25 is the last one we will be hitting. I wish you many, many more years of happiness!

  2. Sounds like an awesome wedding to me, Suzie.

    Simple and all about the love.

    And honest to god, you can’t tell at all from your photos that you were sick – you look GORGEOUS!

    You two make such a handsome couple – woo! woo!

    Fall is my favorite time of the year too. And for the reasons you mentioned.

    Thanks for sharing, my friend!

    X

  3. Isn’t it fun to look back? Congratulations to you on making the right choice the first time, and on your (nearly) 28 years. I gather it runs in your family – successful marriages, that is. You were a lovely bride, and you are lovely still.

  4. Wow! What a trip. Neither of you really look that much different. He, of course, doesn’t have the mustache or brown hair, but you both look so young and happy still.

    Yay! I love to hear it!

  5. Oh my gosh Suzi, you guys were so young! Oh but I love those pictures! I’m sorry you were sick when you got married, but you look beautiful nevertheless 🙂

  6. You’ve hardly changed a bit, Suzicate? I’m with TheKitchenWitch on this one. What is your secret?

    Many couples today could learn a lot about the beauty of simplicity from your wedding story. So many people seem caught up in the wedding and not the marriage.

  7. You have hardly changed at all! You looked lovely then despite the virus and just as lovely today. You really were a young bride and groom, but your marriage has clearly stood the test of time which is a very great achievement.

  8. Sweet story! My wedding was simple like that too…no DJ, no dancing, no “party.” Just finger sandwiches and cake in the church hall. My sons’ weddings were so much more elaborate than mine was, but it was fun! Great story, and great pics!

  9. Bunk beds…hahahahah…oh my….

    And you two were such a cute bride and groom! Awww! And you’re so pretty, Suzicate! So beautiful!

  10. My sister got married in a hotel. What I liked about that was the room that they used for the ceremony was the same room they used for the reception. They just herded us out into the hall for finger-foods, then called us in when they set up the tables. Too bad we couldn’t drive around and honk obnoxiously.

  11. Oh sweetie you were so beautiful and still is. I love reading about your wedding it all sounded so wonderful and just think 28 years WOW you made history for this day and time. Larry and I were married 38 1/2 years. Thank you for sharing your special day with us.

  12. I really love your idea of your dream wedding, it sounds like it would have been gorgeous.
    But, really the wedding doesn’t dictate the marriage! Congrats on sticking together for 28 years!

  13. Were you both cuter then, or now? Hard to say! SO cute both ages!

    LOVE the blue sofa.

    I hope you weren’t sick the whole honeymoon?

    Almost 28 years, yay!

    Thanks for sharing such great things.

    xoxo

  14. You were so brave to get married so young (or maybe just young and foolish). Awesome that the love that you lived on in the years that came fed you so well. You make a handsome couple.

  15. What a great story! Isn’t it funny what we remember when we look back on those photos now? I’m behind reading your posts, but will make it a point to read the dress story asap. You and Dirt Man are still a stunning couple! Congrats on making your marriage last longer than the national average. ;-O

Leave a Reply

