Soapstone, Rock Or Treasure

Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better.  ~Albert Einstein

Climb the mountains and get their good tidings.  Nature’s peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees.  The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop off like autumn leaves.  ~John Muir

As Dirt Man and I reached the bottom of the mountain, we looked up to watch the fog roll off the mountains. The picture truly doesn’t do justice to the majesty of actually seeing it rise off and disappear into the atmosphere. It is amazing to visualize in person a pallette of greens and blues that blend into one another from grass to cornstalks to trees to mountains to fog and sky and drift into eternity.

How strange that Nature does not knock, and yet does not intrude!  ~Emily Dickinson, letter to Mrs. J.S. Cooper, 1880

This is a soapstone quarry located on my father’s family property. Back in that day, I think soapstone was mostly used for sinks and tubs. It was mined in blocks and then cut into slabs and fabricated. Now, I see it used for sidewalks, oven stones, ash trays, clocks, pipes, bowls, vases, and other various artist sculptures. Soapstone is weatherproof, heatproof, and easily worked.

Everybody needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to body and soul.  ~John Muir

This is another view with a lovely reflection of the trees on the water. I don’t know exactly how deep this quarry is, but I do know that scuba divers have used it for many years to train. Family members also stock it with fish, paddle boats or floats on it, and swim in it. My sisters and I were never allowed to swim in it as my parents were afraid we’d drown. However, both of my brothers were allowed to swim and fish there. I always found it be be a place of solitude. I often just sat there and soaked in the beauty.

The poetry of the earth is never dead.  ~John Keats

This is a boulder of soapstone that was mined from the quarry but not deemed of good enough quality to be used for products. You can see the holes and ridges from drilling and working it out of the earth.

Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.  ~Lao Tzu

This is a creek bed not far from that quarry. If you’ve been reading my blog long and remember the river pictures I’ve posted, you’ll notice how different this rock is in comparison to the rock only about twenty or so miles a way. This rock is located at a base of a mountain where as the river is on a mountain. We noticed that some of the formations appear as if they might be on a fault line. I find geology fascinating, but I also know that I’d need a clearer understanding of geography to totally get it. At any rate, these rocks have been around a very long time, and who knows where they’ve traveled or what they’ve endured.

In wilderness I sense the miracle of life, and behind it our scientific accomplishments fade to trivia.  ~Charles A. Lindbergh, Life, 22 December 1967

This is a very important spot on this creek. This is the spot that Dirt Man reached down a picked up a treasure. It is the exact same spot I reached down thirty-five years ago and removed my own treasure.


One touch of nature makes the whole world kin.  ~William Shakespeare

This is the treasure. Do you know what this is? It is an Indian bowl. It is made from soapstone. Indians used handmade tools to carve and shape utensils. Soapstone was easily shaped in comparison to other rock. The mouth of this bowl is very deep. It appears to have been used as a mortar with a pestle for grinding cornmeal or perhaps crushing herbs. If you remember my love for all things Indian and connected with this land (if not see here), you will know that when Dirt Man handed that to me, I became the richest woman alive. No diamond could have made me happier, well maybe I’m exaggerating a bit.

Great things are done when men and mountains meet.  This is not done by jostling in the street.  ~William Blake

30 thoughts on “Soapstone, Rock Or Treasure

  1. Did you guys find that bowl this trip? That is amazing. How through the years these trinkets and treasures are uncovered bit by bit. I remember finding a larger bowl once with Aunt June but I think she took it back with her. I was so excited when we found it though! Great pics!

  2. How fascinating to find the Indian bowl – and to know that is what it is, which I would not have. Treasure indeed for someone who just loves such things as you do. What a lovely spot to spend time in too.

  3. “Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better. ~Albert Einstein”

    LOVE that, Suzie!

    OMG…what awesome photos! I have such an attraction for mountains, so I REALLY appreciated that one.

    So enjoyed hearing about finding your Indian bowl. How COOL is that???

    Thanks for sharing, dear lady!

    X

  4. These images are absolutely gorgeous, and you’re so right that nature gives us much. It’s tranquilizing and grounding. Maybe part of why children are so filled with awe when they sit in the grass, or watch a butterfly.

    Lovely.

  5. A mortar treasure is an awesome find. Wow!

    Most refreshing to see these pix. After I post this I want to go through my pix and find a refreshing nature one to post with my rally poem tomorrw afternoon.

    P.S. You are at the top on my sidebar in a link button today! The pic I chose is a tiny crop from one of the gorgeous shots you posted of your Father’s Day nature excursion.

    Thanks for these gorgeous pix today, Suzicate.

    And if I may, what camera do you use? It is nearing time for me to invest in one.

    xo

  6. Nice rock your husband gave you! HaHaHa! Lovely post about nature and geology and how time plays its part. Beautiful pictures, as well. Thanks for sharing your trip with us. heartspell

  7. Your last two posts have just sucked me right in! I love the nature theme you are using with the quotations and personal insights. Simply wonderful to read! I’d like to comment more, but I’m going back to read it again, and again, and again……

  8. I am so amazed by the bowl. Nature’s wonderful treasures literally at your feet. Once again, the words and photography are beautiful Suzicate. You’ve picked up some real gems during your travels.

  9. This is just wonderful and am amazed by the bowl…I find peace in nature…it soothes my soul and need to just get away on a regular basis. Your pictures are so beautiful and tranquil…thanks so much for sharing with us…I am always looking forward to coming here, you brighten my day!! Thanks Sizi oxox

  10. Wow! This was amazing Suzicate! The quotes, the pictures and of course the Indian bowl… Nature has a way to excite us and calm us all at the same time!

  11. All of this was so lovely! I am intruiged by the rocks with what appears to be a shift in them. Very interesting.

    I would soo go for a natural rock over a polished rock anyday! What a great find!

  12. Greetings-we are soul bloggers both loving nature and poetry. I am a new blogger to WordPress and would like to invite you to visit my blog at dianelasauce.blogspot.com

    I live in Central Virginia, and although I moan about the steamy summers, I cannot find another place to draw me away.

    Will look forward to subscribing. D.

Leave a Reply

