Playing Tag In The Comfort Of My Air Conditioning

My wonderful friend, Nancy, has tagged me to tell you twenty-five things you never really wanted to know about me. If you haven’t read Nancy’s blog, f8hasit, you need to get your butt over there now because you are really missing out! Gee, is there anything I haven’t already told you?! I don’t think I have anything juicy or hair raising at the moment. If I think of something, I promise to blog it! Here is my attempt at telling you something you don’t already know about me:

1. I have not watched the news in months. I have depended on the internet or radio as my source of local and world news. Heck, since Grey’s Anatomy season finale, I haven’t even watched tv at all.

2. I can not for the life of me read and follow directions until I screw up said assembly and must resort to them!

3. I am loving our new grill. I use every opportunity to have someone else grill the meat, and I place myself in the air conditioned kitchen to toss salad. Lame aren’t I? For example tonight, I sent hubby out with the London broil and prepared veggies for the grill. I stayed in and made a caprese salad. By posting this, I am risking that my gig is done. I might end up being the one on grill duty now.

4. My herb garden is dying out except for the cilantro which flowered way too early and the flat leaf parsley and rosemary which are beyond gorgeous…almost makes up for the dead dill and the oregano and basil the dog dug up.

5. My flower beds are full of weeds. Sad thing is I don’t care. The blooms are lovely and the weeds add character! Did you buy that? Why don’t I weed it? I’m lazy, stooping hurts my back, and one bed has poison ivy. I really don’t want to be red, bumpy,  itchy, and sore!

6. I bought three pairs of denim capris this summer, even though I didn’t need them. I thought I might need them. Ok, I just wanted them! I love them and wear them all the time.

7. My birthday is soon, and I thought I was going to be turning 48. I will only be turning 47! What is wrong with my mind trying to age myself a whole year?! My husband’s birthday is this week, and that is how I remembered how old I am!

8. I just had six to eight inches cut off of my hair. It feels so much better.

9. I love taking pictures even though I suck at photography.

10. I have not been to church in almost two years. Even though I feel guilty about not attending, I actually feel a deeper spirituality than ever. Go figure.

11. My friend, Karal, is moving back within the week. Yay! I’m excited.

12. I buy patterns and fabric I never use. I have good intentions. I’m going to try to get better. Not about making things, but about buying stuff I like but really won’t make. You don’t even want to know about my fabric stash!

13. That said, I still would love to update my fabulous machine that does 32 stitches to the newest model.

14. I think I sew faster than I drive!

15. I don’t have the heart to let go of any antique pieces of furniture that we’ve acquired through family, even though we’d have so much more “living” space if I did.

16. I have never made homemade wine. It runs in the blood and I should know how. I prefer to be the tester.

17. I wish I could get everything on my computer that I write in my head! By the time I get to the computer, I’ve forgotten what I was going to say. That is the words are no longer the ones originally chosen and don’t sound the same, so I discard the idea.

18. I really want to learn the art of stain glass. Yes, I know it will probably cut my hands up. But beauty is worth a bit of pain!

19. I somehow manage to take my colloidal silver and allergy pill almost every day, but almost never remember to take vitamins. Why’s that?

20. I am really sad that my godchildren are moving to another state, like nine hours away. I will miss seeing them and being able to hug them often. I think I will be having lots of phone conversations with them. Oh, I will miss their parents, too. There is just something about the little ones though that have stolen my heart!

21. I have not crocheted in over a year. My fingers are happy about it, but not my heart!

22. Lately, I have not been able to finish reading any books I’ve started. Poor choice of literature? Maybe it’s time to pull out one of my old faves like “To Kill A Mockingbird“ or “A Separate Peace”.

23. My kids think their dad and I are hoarders. We really aren’t. We are just sentimental. Trust me…I discard much more than I’d like.

24. Just found out last years canceled Vegas trip might be on this year. I am excited, but apprehensive. I hate flying! I don’t do gambling either, but still it should be fun!

25. I love chimes…wind chimes, church chimes…all is music to my ears. Except I must admit defeat. Hubby’s mom handed down her grandfather clock to him. He was smart enough to turn the chimes off at night. I insisted on keeping them on last night to see if we could sleep through them. They chime this beautiful melody every fifteen minutes, and every hour they chime and dong to the number of the hour. We did not sleep last night. Don’t know if I was too lazy to go downstairs to turn it off or too stubborn to admit defeat. The chimes will be turned off before bed tonight. But they sure sound glorious during the day!

I am tagging the following ten and hope you will play along. If I didn’t tag you and you want to play, join right in.

1. Carol. She is an incredibly interesting woman, nature lover, and an amazing gardener that can be found at Wanderings Of An Elusive Mind.

2. K is Carol’s daughter. She makes tree people. How cool is that? She can be found at Banterings Of A Basketcase.

3. Erica is a fabulous photographer and writer. You will find her at Pines Lake Redhead.

4. Jimmy over at Just My Opinion always has a great story and he knows just how to tell it.

5. I hope my friend, Linda will play. I can only imagine the things she will come up with! You can check her out at The Good, The Bad, The Worse.

6. I think Heather who hangs out at Welch Happenings can tell us a few things as well. I love her down to earth goodness.

7. Susie is a fabulous writer over at Life According To Dr. Susie Q. She truly writes from her heart.

8. Katherine has traveled the world, and she has some tales to tell. The greatest part of her stories is that she tells them from her soul. She is also a fantastic poet. She can be found at A New Day.

9. Gretchen has had some interesting things happen to her along her journey. I so hope she will give us some scoop! You can visit her at Second Blooming.

10. Angelia is so kind and generous. She is getting ready to get married. I know she is very busy, but she is probably in need of a distraction, so I hope she’ll give this a whirl. Check her out at Living, Loving, Laughing….

41 thoughts on “Playing Tag In The Comfort Of My Air Conditioning

  1. Thank you for sharing such varied and interesting facts with us. I cannot believe you truly thought you would soon be 48 when in fact you will be 47! I will be 47 next month too. I have not watched any TV since the season finales of my favorite shows such as Greys and am enjoying the freedom of a summer without TV and being able to go for walks on light summer evenings. As for forgetting ideas, I find myself constantly running to find a piece of paper to write something on and then later scrabbling around trying to find the piece of paper!

    • It’s crazy isn’t it? I was just making spaghetti sauce and wrote a whole post in my head. I cleaned up and came downstairs, and now I can’t even remember what it was even about!!!! I think I must have thrown my mind into the pot with the tomatoes, garlic, and basil.

  2. Oh how I love a good MeMe! And yours was superb!!!!!

    I did the age thing once myself. However I added TWO years to my age! What’s up with that?

    Thanks Suzi for playing along and sharing! AND for the shoutout. You are way TOO kind…
    {{{ hugs }}}

  3. Great Meme, SC!

    #7 made me laugh because it reminded me of the time I thought I was going to be turning 50, when in fact I totally forgot that I was only 48. You should have seen how happy I was when I found out that I was only going to be turning 49!

    One more year in my 40’s.

    YAHOOOOOOO!

    OMG…I hate to fly too!!!

    X

  4. Your fabric is my scrapbooking supplies. I was so bad for the longest time and just bought more and more and more. I had to kill the habit, and I did. But only because I’m blogging and don’t have time to scrapbook.

    I have one flower bed that’s full of weeds and I don’t care either!

    • I used to hoard rubber stamps, ink pads, embossing materials, and the papers. I finally just grabbed all of my many filled plastic bins of them and took them to my girlfriend who is a much more faithful stamper than myself.

  5. Suzicate! You and Alex are very much alike in the following the instructions bit. He’s actually put chairs together with the legs on bass ackwards! Thank you for tagging me! I’m not sure there are even 10 things anybody wants to know about me. I think I’ve told it all, the good, the bad, and the worse! LOL!

    • Linda, I just know you’ve got a few secrets tucked away! That is so funny about Alex and the chairs! I’ve done that with toys…Dirt Man doesn’t trust me to put anything important together!

  6. Is it as dry there as it is here? We have had no rain in FOR-EVER! I have to wait every day (until Jason gets the sprinklers running).

    My poor plants! Your poor plants. I think mine are not going to make it. Not even July yet and it’s been 100,100,100,100,101,100. Ahh!

    I think learning the art of stained glass would be AMAZING.

    Thank you for tagging me! I have been so crazy, I haven’t done an award or tag or anything for a while. I swore the next one I was doing!! 😀

    I think I will add pictures and that will give me a nice little camera adventure too.

    • The pics with it sound fabulous! It is hot as the dickens here! However, seems like we get thunderstorms every night. I should be watering even though we’ve had rain, but geez I have so many other things to do …you know like read blogs!

  7. Oh, you all are so young. I am young at heart, maybe that is why I get along with you all so well. LOL Thanks Suzi for sharing with us. That was brave of you. hehehehehehe

  8. A message from my grandson, Jason.

    Dear Suzi
    I liked what you wrote. You are very kind for reading my story. Thank you. I wish you a very special Forth of July.

    Love Jason.

  9. Jason report card just came to us. He made straight A’s all through the whole year. Can you tell I am soooooooo proud?

  10. Lovely list. #17 – Carry a notebook and pen with you at all times. Those words will make it to your computer.

    The flying thing – I hate it too! But Vegas should be fun. I can already see a blog post coming.

  11. Happy almost birthday, yay for gaining that extra year! Buying a grill was the smartest thing I ever did, Jamie started cooking all the time.

    I think I drove behind you today. Slow poke.

  12. I probably confused you when I was trying to convince you that you were only 4 years younger than me and not five, remember? And at least it was that way instead of like hubby finding out when he was in his twenties that he was a year older than he thought he was his whole life!

  13. Aww, you are so sweet to tag me and say such nice things Suzi! I love your list. I will have to do some thinking to see what I can come up with. Hmm…

    Congrats on the haircut BTW. Youare brave to cut off so much, but I bet it feels awesome in the summer heat.

  14. “The blooms are lovely and the weeds add character!” OK I can buy that 🙂

    and the age thing I do the same I know I will be a certain age this year so at the beginning I think that age ten by the time my birthday comes I am adding another year Ha Ha I did turn fifty this year not fifty one I promise.

    Happy early birthday to both you and Dirt Man

  15. I’m so not the craft, garden type, but I wish I could take more time to just read a good book and relax. Sadly, in this economy, not so much

    Six inches, that is brave. I agree with Katherine and isn’t it great when we take a risk and it turns out to have been a great idea?

  16. You sound so full of life! It was wonderful to learn about you.

    Happy Almost Birthday. I did the same thing one year. I was so happy I was actually a year younger.

    Enjoy Las vegas.

  17. Pingback: Wanderings of an Elusive Mind » Blog Archive » Tag You’re It

  18. I love taking pictures even though I suck at photography. That is soo me! Soo many of your 25 I can relate to.

    I’ve been tagged! Thanks for thinking of me!

  19. Hey, you’re not the only one who has a ton of fabric that she’ll never use! I’m right there with ya! I have all kinds of fabric and ideas on all this awesome stuff I want to make (curtains, pillows, clothes, blankets, etc), but I KNOW that I will never get around to it.

    Sigh.

Leave a Reply

