Substratal

I humbly accept the nomination for Perfect Poet for Jingle’s Poets’ Rally. I nominate Musings and Smatterings.

Substratal

On that long cold night

Walking home alone

You found me

I sensed you

Lurking around every corner

Goose flesh and standing hair

I walked on

You followed

All was still and quiet

Except your shadow

Darting in and out

All I wanted to be

teetered

Against your voracious agenda

I grasped and sobbed

for one last wisp

Of what was

You stripped me

Alone, naked, trembling

You snatched what was yours

That one last morsel of truth

You were everything

I feared

You were everything

I hoped

You were all

Possible

You were

Me

I was also blessed with these awards from Jingle.

50 thoughts on “Substratal

  1. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 22 (June 10-16, 2010) « Jingle

  2. The tension created seems to build like a thunderstorm that eventually clears. The short, perceptive lines beginning with “I” create a haunting effect before the ones beginning with “You”
    Cool effect. Great poem. Thanks

  3. OMG, SC….this was positively breathtaking!!!

    I had no idea where you were going with this, and then when I got to the last word….I actually said, “WOW!”

    Congrats on the muchly, muchly, deserved award, dear lady!

    You are sooooooooo gifted!

    X

  4. intense is the right word…..you were everything I feared, everthing I hoped……that says it all….bkm

  5. As usual you caught me from word one. At first I was concerned you were speaking of some kind of attack…until I reached the end. I felt the love and the hate all swirling together. Very different and interesting. Congrats on the award.

  6. Congratulations on the awards Suzicate! 🙂 And I love the poem- so intense and powerful,

    “You stripped me Alone, naked, trembling You snatched what was yours That one last morsel of truth” Beautiful lines…

  7. Every word is perfect that you put on the page. The tension you build gave me dread that somehow was no less depleted upon reaching the end. Hugs. Sounds like you almost need one.

  8. Gave me goosebumps!
    Absolutely smart, captivating, and the way you ended it, pure wit!
    Loved the way you weaved contrasting emotions “You were everything I feared You were everything
    I hoped” very intense in a memorable way!

Leave a Reply

