Friendship, Sunshine, And Versatility = A Good Blog Life

I have to apologize for my slow and forgetful nature of passing on awards. I have three reasons I’m sticking it on. 1) It is difficult to narrow the recipients with all the wonderful blogs I read. 2) It is extremely time consuming to link up all those blogs. 3) Plain and simply, I’m lazy, and I like to procrastinate. I also apolgize if I have not passed one on that you gave me. My awards page keeps locking up when I put them on there, and I continue to lose random awards, each time I try to edit it. Okay, maybe I can blame it on my own  technical ineptitude. Whatever.

I was gifted this lovely”Life is Good” award from Carol at Wanderings of an Elusive Mind. Don’t you just love the title of her blog? Shis is a fabulously interesting digging in the dirt kind of lady. She is what I call my kind of people. I realize that may sound like a silly way to describe someone and her blog, but know that comes from my heart and my calling someone “my kind of people” is my highest form of compliment. Yeah, I’m simple! This award comes with ten questions to answer.

1. Do you believe in reincarnation?

 
I was incredibly fascinated with the book “Audrey Rose” when I was really young, and I wondered about this subject often. Then, religion pointed me away from the belief. And then I realized that I think it was more people rather than the Bible that said it didn’t exist. So my answer is that I have no idea, and it doesn’t really matter to me. However, if reincarnation exists, I hope I get to be someone really cool next time. Not necessarily someone who is rich and famous, but someone who touches the lives of others in a good way long after I’m gone.

2. What is your favorite season and why?

 
I’d say Fall, hands down. You probably think that’s gloomy because everything is decaying, molding, and dying, but the colors are truly magnificent. And there is little in the world that compares to the feeling of a crisp Autumn breeze slightly stinging your face as it whips through your hair. Then there are the Autumn harvests!

3. If you could time travel, what time would you travel to and where in the world?

I’m going to burst some bubbles with this one, but geographically, my travels wouldn’t take me far. I’d like to visit the land I grew up on in the times that the Monacan Indians graced the premises. I’d also like to be around Jamestown during the settlement. Yes, I know those were dreadful times, but it is our history. I’d like to know more than I’ve read in books.

4. Your favorite place to be?

No question about it,  other than being home (I am a total homebody!), I’d choose to go to our river property with our family. This is the most serene place in my life. The river calls and comforts me, and I am home. It’s a place that connects me with nature and myself that I’ve never found anywhere else.
5. If you had your choice to do anything you wanted for a day, what would it be?

Gee, that’s difficult to answer. I’d be perfectly thrilled to sit around my house all day in my pj’s and just sip coffee and write. But if I’m going to venture out, I’d love to go back to Ocracoke for the day. It’s a lovely little tourist island filled with history and simple life. It’s a step back in time. Or I’d like to spend the day at Colonial Willimasburg or Jamestown. I love history. Or even drive to the Eastern Shore for the day. And I’d greatly enjoy a day of simply listening to my father spin the tales of his life.

6. Are you a cat or dog person?

Absolutely a dog person. I like cats ok, but I love the unconditional love, devotion, and companionship I’ve gotten from both of my dogs. I think dogs rule. They are an absolute stellar  judges of character. 

7. Do you remember a particularly mad dream and if you do, what was it?

As a matter of fact, I do! Many years ago, I dreamed that Dirt Man had an affair. It was an extremely vivd dream, down to her name, what she looked like, where she worked, and even conversations with her. I was furious with Dirt Man for weeks. He couldn’t understand my anger at him because it was just a dream. It felt so real and I was so hurt that I seethed everytime I looked at him. I couldn’t get the dream (nightmare!) out of mind mind or separate it from reality. Of course, I finally got over it, but for awhile I would tell him that I couldn’t believe he dared to do that to me even in a dream! Yes, a bit on the crazy side I admit.

8. Favorite food?

Chocolate or pizza or anything involving cheese. An easier question would have been to ask me what I don’t like, and I could number them on one hand!
9. Books or TV?

Books, especially the ones that I love so much I read them over and over. I can imagine the characters and setting in my head. Movies just ruin the whole imagination thing for me. There have been many a fabulous book destroyed by making a movie of it. Now, of course, I must be fair in saying that many have also turned out great. The ones that are dear to my heart are the ones I’ve been disappointed in. I don’t watch much television except my weekly fix of “Grey’s Anatomy” or occasional documentaries.
10. Star sign?

Cancer. I used to be afraid that it might be a jinx having the same astrological sign as a dreadful disease, but I got over it. I don’t put much stock in astrology, but I will admit that I fall into a lot of the descriptions of the cancer sign. Coincidence? I used to wonder about it. Now, I have determined that I am what I am, nothing more, nothing less.

If you wish, you can substitute any of the following questions for any of those above:
“Name five things on your “bucket list” that you have not yet accomplished.”
“Choose a symbol that represents you best and why”
“Your favorite element and why”

I am passing this award on to:

Katherine at A New Day

Aging Mommy

Drama For Mama

*************

This award comes from Spot at what passes for sane on a crazy day. Spot is an amazing writer who is writing a book, a fabulously scary action- filled book that I promise to read every word of it and not be able to sleep for nights. It is destined to become a horror flick , and I promise that I’ll watch it through the cracks of my fingers. I think Spot just wants to scare me! The rules are that I have to list 6 things I’m a master at and then pass the prize to six other bloggers. This is difficult because I am a piddler of much and a master of none. Here goes:

1. I make fabulous biscotti.

2. I am a great bargain shopper.

3. I am the master of stuffing lots of things in small spaces. You might get killed when you open the closet and everything falls on top of you, but by golly, I got it in there!

4. I would not say that I am a master of any particular fiber art, but I will say that I am not afraid to attempt any of them. I am creative and crafty.

5. I am a speed reader. Generally, if I pick up a good book, I will stay up all night until I finish it. The only books I don’t finish in one day are ones I consider mediocre.

6. I love to sleep in on the weekends. Unfortunately, these days sleeping in susually means about 7:30 because my time clock has shifted through the years.

I am passing this on to:

Jingle

Eva

Shan at Musings and Smatterings

The Good, The Bad, The Worse

a slave of unsaid words in an insane world

Fluffy Bunnies

**********

This one comes from Jimmy’s Opinion. Jimmy is a great friend who writes about life and everything in between. He and his family have had some fun and weird family vacations. He’s a man that I’m proud to say lives his life in the moments between the moments. I am supposed to tell you seven tidbits about myself that you might not know. My goodness, people, I’ve bared my soul for months, what do you not know about me?!

1. I have long crooked toes.

2. My fingernails refuse to be long, strong, and beautiful.

3. My hair is massively curly and frizzy if I don’t blow it out and straight iron it.

4. I had tons of freckles on my face as a kid. The ones on my face disappeared, and relocated to my arms with age.

5. Cook for me (or give me a drink!), and I’m your friend for life!

6. I believe that we can learn the most fundamental and important things in life from small children and the elderly.

7. I believe that love and laughter are the keys to living a happy life.

I am passing this on to:

Zombie Mommy

Good Day, Regular People

Modern Day Middle Age

Wanderings of an Elusive Mind

**********

The Sunshine award comes from the incredibly funny Linda at The Good, The Bad, The Worse. I honestly never know when she is pulling my leg, but she always cracks me up and lifts my spirits. Linda couldn’t remember the rules that go with this one, so I’m sticking with her story and just passing it on with no strings attached!

Brown Paper Bag Girl

Being Rudri

Banterings of a Basketcase

Please check out these wonderful blogs. They rock! And roll!  And everything in between!

45 thoughts on “Friendship, Sunshine, And Versatility = A Good Blog Life

  1. Good Morning SC!

    OMG…the minute you said your favorite place to be, is home…I knew you were a Cancer! That’s a Cancer. My brother is the same way, and he’s a Cancer also.

    Enjoyed reading your answers to these questions.

    I too love Fall, and for the same reasons you shared. I was born in the Fall, so maybe that has something to do with it. To me, it’s the most peaceful and beautiful of all seasons.

    “chocolate or pizza” You GO, girl! me too!

    Cograts on all these great awards! Much deserved!

    Have a super day….X

    • Sadly, one of the ways to my heart is through my stomache! I said I have very much every trait I’ve ever read about the cancer sign…kind of feel like they wrote it about me, but I am not one to EVER read my horoscope. Have a great weekend, Ron.

  2. Yay!! Congratulations on all of your much deserved awards!! And thank you so much for your kind words about me and my blog!! I seriously hope you get to read my book someday (and see the movie) and I hope it scares you silly (because that’s the point).

    You are not only a fabulous writer, but a fabulous friend and cheerleader and I’m so happy to have made your aquaintence on the Internet. I feel blessed that we became friends.

    Go! Write! Win!
    ♥Spot

  3. Congratulations on your awards, Suzicate. You certainly deserve each and every one of them and more!

    Thank you for passing the award on to me! Getting this from you makes me so happy! You are such a wonderful writer and I love that you like me!

  4. Suzi, congrats on all the awards you have received! I am honestly so happy that I came across your blog at the start of my blogging career. It is such a joy to read! I am honoured that you passed on an award to me. Thank you 🙂

    • Thank you for your kind words, and you are very welcome. I’m so glad you ran across my blog and led me to yours. I very musch enjoy your musings, and plan to read many more in the future.

  5. Congrats on your awards! I remember watching the tv movie Audrey Rose and it freaked me out. I was fascinated by the topic, too. I don’t know how I missed the book.

  6. I used to think I was totally a dog person until we got our cat. I still LOVE my dogs — but that cat has sooooo stolen my heart. 🙂

    OMG — I want pizza and chocolate now — but not necessarily in that order. 🙂

    Would be wonderful go to back to a peaceful time with Native Americans, I think about that often. Just living in nature — letting 7 generations ahead speak to the flow of goodness.

    And I am a TOTAL HOMEBODY TOO!!!

    Congrats on the award. I find it hard to keep up with them too, so I do what I can and realize I can’t post ’em all, I get overwhelmed when I tried to — making me not as happy a blogger as I am now.

    xo

    • Ah, Jannie, you are such a kindred soul. I knew it when I first listened to some of your songs on your site. I love the folksy tone of your voice and your lyrics. Those are the kind of lyrics I write when I write songs in my head…unfortunately, I can’t sing at all…totally tone deaf!

  7. Congratulations on your awards Suzicate, so very well deserved every single one. Thank you also so very much for selecting me to share an award with, I feel very honored because your blog, the writing, the poetry, just all of it is one of my favorite places to visit and read in the blogosphere and I mean that most sincerely.

    Your comment for example about believing we can learn the most fundamental and important things in life from young children is something I absolutely now believe too but never would have thought possible before my daughter was born. I am learning so much about myself, about people in general, about how to live life to the full and more. It astounds me.

    So thank you again, very much. You just made my day!

  8. Yay for all of your awards – you do deserve them! One thing I like about these awards is all the tidbits of info we get to learn about each other. Fascinating!

  9. I am so thrilled, honoured, thankful, blah, blah, blah, fill in more blanks & words. Yippee! Thank you, thank you Suzi. You write such beautiful poetry and know so many wonderful bloggers that I really am truly blown away by your sharing an award with me. That is so sweet. Maybe we connect, as I am a Cancer TOO! All that home body, emotional roller coaster riding fun just makes us kismet kin. My face is going to get sore from grinning, but I am just so tickled. Congrats on all your bling and thanks for sharing all the tidbits about little ole YOU!

    • Your comment just made me smile and sing inside (and the whole world knows I can’t sing!). You know I love your poetry and reading about your exciting adventures!

  10. Congratulations on your awards!! 🙂
    I’m sooo jealous about speed reading though, I am the world’s slowest reader but I can relate to “My hair is massively curly and frizzy if I don’t blow it out and straight iron it.” 🙂

  11. I am happy you have time to be recognized and honored for your work. CONGRATS to you. All of your blogging friends are very nice. I do wish you all a happy weekend. 🙂

  12. I am the worst at posting awards people have given me, but I am lazy too!

    Hey, not sure if you wanted to join my 101 days of summer challenge, and if so, do you have any goal for the summer?

    Hope you are enjoying your weekend!

    • I have no goals as of yet…I’d most likely fail anyway since I need motivation to exercise! Tell you what, I will try to eat better and exercise a little more without actually setting goals, and I will be your cheerleader. I’m much better at encouraging than actually moving my butt! I am having a great weekend, and I hope that you are as well!

  13. congrats on the bling…i think its nice you would want to be at home with coffee writing..i think mine may be just the same…if not on a rock in the middle of the river writing…fall is my favorite as well. happy weekend.

  14. Congratulations on your recent poetry awards! Yes, I believe in reincarnation. I have had a lot of unusual experiences involving past-life flashes when I was younger! Great post!

  15. Thanks for the award. I appreciate it. I enjoy your blog and honored that you included me. Glad we met through Momalom.

    We share the exact same answer for the question TV or Books.

  16. Congrats on all the well-deserved awards! I too, have crooked toes. I call them Alien Toes. I always cringe a little when it’s sandal season, knowing that I have to bare my freaky toes to the public.

  17. Congrats! You deserve them all!

    I had tons of freckles on my face as a kid. The ones on my face disappeared, and relocated to my arms with age.
    I busted out a laugh…Yeah it happened to me too!!

  18. Pingback: Poetry Awards 4 Week 21 Participants and Fresh Poets… | Jingle

Leave a Reply

