Pause

With great honor, I accept The Perfect Poet nomination for week 18 of Jingle’s Poets’ Rally.

Pause

A cool mist settles

Within the joints of my aging bones

All the while the darkness

Whispers secrets across skin and hair

 

Once I resisted

I resisted with every ounce of strength

Of every single bone

In this body I call my home

I refused to be consumed

By a ravenous and distant moon

 

As I wait for the birth

Of that great celestial fire

I snuggle into a quilt of shadows

Taking comfort in a patchwork of stars

Knowing I am not alone

 

The Most Open Minded Poet Award

These lovely awards come from Jingle and I thank her from the bottom of my heart. 

The Most Honest Poet Award

The Most Intelligent Poet Award

 

55 thoughts on “Pause

  1. As I wait for the birth

    “Of that great celestial fire

    I snuggle into a quilt of shadows

    Taking comfort in a patchwork of stars

    Knowing I am not alone”

    very beautiful lines…
    loved your poem very much!
    No, we are not alone with all of those

  2. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 19 (May 20-26, 2010) | Jingle

  3. I always feel like I’ve come home when I read your poetry. It seems to touch me on a deep level. Thanks Suzi, for sharing such talent with us all

  4. I find things in the shadows. Sometimes I’m uncomfortable. Sometimes intrigued. If I can make friends there, I certainly know a deeper home.

    Helped me feel like one of the many stars.

    Thanks for introducing me to The Orange Chair. So beautiful!

  5. CONGRATS, SC!

    Another MUCHLY deserved award!

    I wholeheartedly agree with Shan…your poetry always touches me on a very deep level. You’re poetry is Universal!

    “Taking comfort in a patchwork of stars

    Knowing I am not alone”

    LOVE that!

    Have a great day, my friend!

    X

  6. What a lovely, calming poem. I especially love this line, “I snuggle into a quilt of shadows.” You have such a wonderful way with words, SuziCate!

  7. Of all your writings of which I enjoy all…it is your poetry that is absolutely my favorite. I hope you gather them together and put them in a book..they are so deserving of being read outside the realm of the blogosphere.

  8. I like how you laced your poem with native american hints….patchwork..moon..celestial..quilt..

    You deserve many many awards.

  9. As I wait for the birth
    Of that great celestial fire

    I love that, right there. The way it slips off the tongue. The image it conjures.

  10. All the while the darkness

    Whispers secrets across skin and hair

    I refused to be consumed

    By a ravenous and distant moon

    I really like the feel of these words.

    Congrats on the Perfect Poet Award.

    (and thanks for visiting the Undead Poets site)

    Tim Keeton
    (Undead)Poet / Wizard / Teller-of-tales

  11. Excellent use of words and imagery — congrats and let me add I Love the title of your blog…….bkm

    added to blogroll

  12. Fantastic lines throughout——the ending seems to be on another level: “I snuggle into a quilt of shadows / Taking comfort in a patchwork of stars / Knowing I am not alone”
    wow!

Leave a Reply

