Joy In The Moment

The Constitution only guarantees the American people the right to pursue happiness. You have to catch it yourself. ~Benjamin Franklin

Happiness is a state of mind. Sometimes we choose to be happy or satisfied in life, and it works. Sometimes we choose happiness and that shrew named Depression stands between us and all we want in life. We might even have all we ever wanted, but Depression clouds our vision. I’ve been on both sides of the fence. The grass is greener on the side of happiness and the pasture radiates with wild flowers. That’s the side I choose, and I hope that shrew has accepted a one- way ticket out of my life.

I am a woman of very simple means. I don’t live extravagantly. My happiness is not dependant on material items. I find joy in small pleasures. However, I’d be lying to you if I said I was a woman of simple expectations because I am not. I expect the best people have to offer. I offer love, respect, integrity, honesty, accountability, and humor. I expect no less from those I love.

The other night I had this thought as I was about to drift off to sleep. “It’s the moments between the moments that make an ordinary life extraordinary.” It really isn’t the “big” moments in my life that make me happy. It is the day to day living, the moments between moments that complete me. I realized that it was not the milestones (although those are important) that I am dependant on for pleasure. It’s not the big things like my wedding day or the birth of each of my children. It is the moments in between those events that have brought me happiness. It has been having someone to share my love, life, and thoughts with that accomplish me. It is looking across the room and knowing what my spouse is thinking. It is the hug or smile from a child. My life looks rather ordinary to the passerby, but it is rich with love and happiness. And money can’t buy that.

I have also thought about how I am the maker of my own happiness. I know I can’t depend on others to make me happy. I have a choice in my perspective. You know the saying about making lemonade out of lemons? I can change the way I look at a situation, and my whole attitude changes. I can actually feel the shift in my body. Changing perspective is an ongoing challenge. Yes, I do get cranky or angry at times, but I move on instead of letting it fester.

And even in the most sorrowful times of my life, I have received gifts of happiness that came in the forms of lessons learned, strengthened relationships, and new friendships. I am grateful for my journey and all the people who have been a part of it. And if I have nothing left in this world to give, I can give of myself. I can love. I truly don’t believe that happiness can exist without love.

I choose to believe I have an extraordinary life. I love with all I have inside me, and I am loved in return. I laugh often. I am content. Yes, I am happy.

We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting something we don’t have, but rather of recognizing and appreciating what we do have. ~Frederick Keonig

65 thoughts on “Joy In The Moment

  1. I so love this post!!! I agree completely about the small moments in life being far more important than the big ones. That’s why I chose to put aside my tasks so many times to pay attention to the little eager faces asking me to play. I never regret making each day with my kids a priority. Everyday life can bring moment after moment of happiness!

  2. For me it’s so easy to get caught up in the negatives. That shrew creeps her way in and digs her nails in good. But you are so right about the little moments, I find even when I’m feeling clouded or discouraged, small gestures or simple moments with my family can just infuse me with joy and appreciation. Those little moments are the ones that bring the most satisfaction. Thanks for the reminder, beautifully written.

  3. “Live as if everything is a blessing. Life is what you make it.”

    Two of my favorite sayings to myself.

    Beautiful post to remind me that love ties them all together. I love how uplifting and positive this was. Thank you, have a great day in your ‘moments’.

    • I am in agreement with Aidan. This “moments between moments” really captured my attention. Sure, the big things might bring a certain amount of relish, but the small things bring constant happiness. Besides, if we kept on waiting for the big things we would be disappointed much to often. And disappointed does not make people happy.

  4. Yes Yes Yes. The little things. The smallest of moments that catch us off guard and make us happy without even trying. Those are what make up TRUE sincere happiness. So many of us have to work for happiness. Work to find the lemonade. But if we just let happiness in and not try to FIND it, it would bring so much easier joy. Loved this. Thank you.

  5. “You have to catch it yourself” — love that!

    Yes, happiness does come from within; and it often is a choice. I think we tend to forget that.

  6. I have a “hoola hoop zone”. I have an imaginary hoola hoop and let it drop around my feet. Everything, inside the circle are things which I probably have the power to change. Everything outside I most defiinately do not. So this leaves me with one conclusion. My circle of power does not extend far thus, it’s me that I have the choice to do something about. My attitude, my choices etc…I’m powerless to control anyone else around me. I can effect change by starting with me!! I can choose to find happiness and joy despite things that are out of my control, and I can spend a lot less time worry about such things.

    Love your post!

  7. I loved that you said it. “That’s the side I choose, and I hope that shrew has accepted a one- way ticket out of my life.”

    I have trouble living in fear of the shrew and her stealing my happiness.

    Great post.

  8. *jumping up and down and applauding you*

    What a faaaaaaaaaabulous post, SC!

    “It’s the moments between the moments that make an ordinary life extraordinary.”

    You said it, girl!

    That’s why I always remind myself to “live in the moment.”

    “We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting something we don’t have, but rather of recognizing and appreciating what we do have. ~Frederick Keonig”

    I truly believe that gratitude creates more abundance – happiness.

    Thank you so much for sharing this today! This is one of those posts that I’ll want to come back to and reread.

    Happy Day, dear friend!

    X

    • Thank you, that’s so sweet. When that line entered my head the other night, I bolted upright and wrote it down so I wouldn’t forget and then I put it as my FB status! I think my hubby might have thought I was crazy until I repeated it to him.

  9. Those quotes are the perfect brackets to your post, which I agree with wholeheartedly. The “moments between moments” are what really define us. They are what make us the moms we are, the friends and spouses and daughters that we are. It’s the small stuff that we’re measured by.

    As for expectations, whew. I struggle so much with my expectations because I know that my disappointments are so often rooted in them. I guess we’re both working on it.

  10. So beautiful and so true. It’s the joy in the sum of all the parts. And we select the joy. I knew a very bitter and disappointed woman. She had the same things I did but saw it all differently. Very sad.

  11. Okay — I thoguht it was official but this time I KNOW it — you and I are twins!! i get a little cranky and angry too, but really am concsious of not letting it fester, and moving on quickly.

    Depression — I get it once in awhile for maybe afew hours but I let myself be down for 2 whole days, until just this morning. I like this greener grass feeling, for sure!! I wish I’d written down my thoughts when I sarted feeling down, to work through them faster.

    Today I am grateful for just being alive, healthy and having a family that is too.

    My daughter and I visted a lovely Austin museum yesterday, it was once a private villa. It is very pretty yes, and on many acres of property. Kelly said “Mom — wouldn’t you just LOVE to live here,” and I told her when I was younger I thought I wanted to live in a big mansion but now I know it has nothing to do with happiness. Because it’s those moments between the moments…” It really is!

    Thanks for your insight, and usual good writing, Suzicate!

    xo

  12. Beautifully written, and this so speaks to everything I have experienced since becoming a Mother. I am working on a new post and had written down these words “it is so easy to become lost in the mundane ordinariness of every day life and fail to see that hidden within is the extraordinary”. You read my mind.

    You are a wonderful writer but this piece is outstandingly good

  13. It is our reaction to situations that define happiness or defy it. Each person’s perspective is their reality. The ability to change that perspective is hard, but maybe it is this process that can lead the way to happiness.

  14. I love this post! Wonderfully written and every word true. It reminds me of a quote by Anne Frank, “Think of all the beauty still left around you and be happy.”

  15. Wow! so true. And I completely understand the comment about depression. I do find that I am most happy when I am content- wrapped in a warm blanket, reading a book, with the kids running around and a cat on my lap. Simple every day things. So wonderful.

  16. Adore this quote – “We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting something we don’t have, but rather of recognizing and appreciating what we do have.” ~Frederick Keonig

    Great post. I haven’t posted my Happiness post yet, but my draft says a lot of similar things. I feel the same way and strive to be happy where I am. It’s a choice I make every day.

  17. Depression is something that stops a lot of people from living, waiting and worrying that something bad is going to happen only makes you miss the life that is passing you by because you are too busy worrying.

    Living for the moments in between the moments is a great way to live life, Thank you for pointing this out because looking at life this way just makes it a lot more worthwhile.

    Great Post Suzicate.

    • You are welcome, Jimmy. I have te remind myslef often to see what’s right in front of my eyes. I’d hate to wake up one day and it all be gone and then realize what a wonderful life I had. It is important ot live in the moment and see it for what it’s worth.

  18. I wrote a blog very similar to this on how I came to accept my diagnosis of Type 1 diabetes last year. It was all about perspective and we actually repeated many of the same themes. I think that is why I like your blog so much. I can sense in many ways we think a like. Happiness for me is the same as for you..the peaceful connection between one event in life to another. You are right…it is the unrecognized moments that provide the most happiness. If you are interested in reading my blog that is similar it is titled CCchanges. Thanks for a wonderful post!

  19. You said: “I have also thought about how I am the maker of my own happiness. I know I can’t depend on others to make me happy. I have a choice in my perspective.”

    In my mind,that knowledge makes you, and your life, extraordinary!

  20. Love this!
    The little hug of my grandson or just being called Nana. Those are my treasures, not what is in the bank. Hubby stopping at the store to get bread ranks up there too!

  21. SuziCate – I think this might just be my favorite post I’ve read over here. Everything you wrote in this struck a chord and made me think. Especially the notion of “moments between the moments,” the things no one really sees. (And if I could comment on this with a photograph you’d see that I wrote down that sentence and have it right next to my computer.)

    • I am honored. I think especially mothers get the idea of “moments between the moments’ because sometimes, we seriously have to choose our moments! I chalk off the frustrating ones, and there are plenty of those , but I dwell on the simple pleasures of everyday love…the ones that make life worthwhile.

  22. Oh, I’m so happy you mentioned expectations. I used to coach a crew team, and every year at the start of the season one of the first things I would tell my new team was, “I have very high expectations of you.” And, honestly, I often felt like no one had ever said that before. Like these kids were just being told how great they were, just BECAUSE. What I found, though, was that by having high expectations, they were more proud (and thus happy) of their achievements. They worked harder. There was more ownership. Sometimes you have to work at happiness, and sometimes it’s the surprising result. I love this post.

  23. I love the idea that gifts of happiness come in all non-materialistic sizes and shapes, like lessons learned or new friendships. What a wonderful perspective!

  24. Thank you for this. It was really beautifully written (as always…). I too believe that happiness is a choice. We can’t always control what is handed to us, but we can control the way we choose to deal with them. So few people seem to take responsibility for their own happiness!

  25. What a wonderful entry! I’ve thought many of these things myself. I know we can change our entire life just by changing our viewpoints. The mind and the power of our own thoughts is a wondrous thing. Thank you for reminding me!

  26. We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting something we don’t have, but rather of recognizing and appreciating what we do have. ~Frederick Keonig

    YES! I am so very blessed.

    I love this post. Thank you for putting it out there for so many to see!!!

  27. Everything you say is true. But it is easier said than done, isnt’ it.

    It takes such deliberate effort to alter your mental state.

    It is work, like anything worthwhile: it is work.

    Loved this post, and everything you said in it.

    Thank you, also, for visiting: I’m so glad you enjoyed the Sienna commercial. Laughter is so essential to me in my daily mood, so I’m happy you enjoyed it.

    Have a wonderful weekend.

  28. Pingback: A New Way of Being | Self Improvement, Personal Growth, Motivation & Success Strategies

  29. Pingback: A New Way Of Being « The Secret Truths

  30. Pingback: A New Way of Being | Internet marketing, seo, email advertising, website promotion for massive web traffic

  31. Pingback: A New Way of Being | The Secret Truth About

  32. Pingback: A New Way of Being | The Secret Truth About

Leave a Reply

