The Journey

I am honored to accept Jingle’s awards, and I’d like to thank whoever nominated me. I’d like to thank Jingle for her dedication and hard work she puts into the Poet’s Rally each Thursday. I’d like to nominate the truly talented John at Reaching For My Pen for this week.

The Journey

How often the sacrifice of soul goes unnoticed
While the walk to paradise is on the path not taken
The universe calls that which is sacred within
While cries of the spirit continue to be forsaken

Heartbeats race wildly throughout eternity
While foraging through the forest of fears
Smiles take shape upon their faceless bodies
While oceans arise from rivers of tears

While waiting for the truths to be unlocked
Clasping hands form the circle of mankind
While love doled out in hugs and kisses
Graces footprints across the earth in time

How vague is reality in a world so dark
Where unknowns struggle to claim their voices
It’s all they can do to blend and follow
When they never knew there were other choices

Daily tearing down and building back up
Of that core that holds all valuable and true
And they hear it when the chaos turns night
That still quiet whisper that pleads “me too”

Undeniable thirsts linger forever more
While stacked scales never seem to tip
On that infinite search for living water
Just to receive one unquenchable sip

35 thoughts on “The Journey

  1. I would like to quote Mindy and say….

    “You are truly gifted, my friend.”

    This was absolutely stunning. This is one that I can read over and over again, and still read over and over again.

    And get more out of.

    Thank you, SC! And congrats on the award. You truly deserve it!

    Have a wonderful day……X

    • Thanks, sweetie. Publication of poetry is a long rough road…I’m too lazy and busy and on the low end of the real talent that is actually floating around.

  2. Beautiful, my dear. Got to be one of my faves. I’m passing this on to my friend who steps on a plane today to move many states away. She will love it too.

  3. “How vague is reality in a world so dark” is one of the most chilling phrases I’ve ever heard. I absolutely love this! You deserve every award there is for your wonderful talent! Absolutely stunning use of language! Thank you for sharing!

  4. What a beautiful poem. The rhythm is like the ocean tide when reading it. There is great depth in this poem as well. It warrants reading again and again.

    I also want to thank you for visiting my blog and reading my poetry and leaving a comment. I really appreciate it 🙂

    Have a beautiful day!

  5. “How vague is reality in a world so dark
    Where unknowns struggle to claim their voices
    It’s all they can do to blend and follow
    When they never knew there were other choices”

    well said! thanks!

  6. Happy Days Away,
    sorry for being late,
    you are so sweet,
    I appreciate your kind comments,
    you will be missed,
    see you Monday!

    Best!
    😉

  7. So beautiful… These lines especially rang so true in me:

    ‘Daily tearing down and building back up
    Of that core that holds all valuable and true
    And they hear it when the chaos turns night
    That still quiet whisper that pleads “me too”’

  8. I was intrigued, especially as your comments were so touching. But I think you also see a path which is often overtaken and not recognised. Soothing words and well deserved award.

Leave a Reply

