Motorcyle Big Mama

My father had owned a Harley in his youth. He’d tell us all sorts of tales about those days while we were growing up. I was fascinated with the stories.

In the seventies, he decided to buy a dirt bike. He settled on a Suzuki. We had the times the time of our lives on that bike. Sometimes, we’d just get short little high speed rides. Other times, we’d get an entire day roaming the mountain trails. For me there is nothing that compares to the feeling of the wind in my face.

My grandmother, Big Mama, decided she wanted to get in on the fun. You have to realize that she was over seventy years old at this time. My father agreed to take her for a spin. I’ll never forget the excitement at watching this old lady hop on the back of that bike wearing a dress and carrying her purse on her arm. Oh, yes, she did!

They took off with her dress flying in the wind. Her purse caught every limb hanging over the road. She never let go of my dad nor did she lose her purse! She was squealing, “Well, da Lawd. I be drop dead right now!” She continued to rant and rave throughout the ride. My father couldn’t hear a word she said over the rumble of the engine. We were laughing our heads off, but I was really a little worried she was going to get pulled off by her purse snagging a big tree branch.

When she got off she was exhilarated, a bit unsteady on her feet, disheveled hair, and a smooshed up dress, but her purse was intact. In fact, she was ready to take another turn. That may have been her first ride, but it was not her last. Throughout the next couple of years, she rode with my father a few more times and my brother as well.

I suppose you could say Big Mama rocked that motorcycle!

35 thoughts on “Motorcyle Big Mama

  1. Nice,

    I can just see it, kind of reminds me of my Granny and the pocketbook hooked on her arm going no where.

    Sounds like she really enjoyed the ride, don’t think I could have ever gotten Granny on mine:^)

  2. …”“Well, da Lawd. I be drop dead right now!”…

    Bwhahahahahhahahahaha!

    OMG…I would have LOVED meeting this lady, I just know it!

    Rock on…Big Mama!

    Thanks for another wonderful post, SC!

    Enjoy your weekend!
    X

  3. That’s a fun story. I had her pictured as I was reading it.
    Sounds like something my Granny would have done, too.
    (The purse part of it reminded me of the queen.) 🙂

  4. Oh my goodness! I am laughing so hard, I have tears in the corners of my eyes!

    My grammie was one to go no where with out her purse. I can soo see her doing something like that!

  5. That is so delightful! It reminds me of a dear (now departed) elderly lady who had never ridden in a convertible with the top down till my husband took for her a spin! She came back grinning from ear to ear.

  6. Isn’t it funny how in that generation those women could never part with their purse for one minute!!! It is like Estelle Getty on the golden Girls…she even went to bed with her purse on.

  7. That’s a great woman right there! I really do hope to be able to keep an adventurous spirit when I grow older and to never lose that spark of fun, just like your grandmother. Sounds like she was truly fabulous.

  8. Loved reading this. It’s always great to see elders happy and excited, esp. when their faces light up as if they were kids again for an instant. Thanks 🙂

  9. My grandfather (Papa) rode motorcycles up until he was 80 years old. He used to always take me on a “spin” when I was little. I’ll never forget those times… the wind whistling past my ears, holding onto his belt for dear life. I miss him… he passed away on Christmas day in ’08. Thanks for posting this- it brought back some wonderful memories!
    -Jen

  10. Wow!! Congratulations on all your awards!! So well deserved and what a sweetheart you are to think of me when passing one on. I’m thrilled to be recognized by a fellow blogger, thanks soooooooo much 🙂

Leave a Reply

