Prisoner Of Words

From Jingle

I am very proud of this award. It is my very first Perfect Poet Award.

Thursday Poets’ Rally Week 9 The Perfect Poet Award 

I nominate Megzone

I also picked up this award from Jingle.

Prisoner Of  Words 

The bright white glares at me
And I glare back in silent shame
The words struggle to be free
Will they prove that I am lame? 

My stomach twists in knots
My hands even begin to sweat
I go over all the if and whats
Why must I work up such a fret? 

Suddenly, in heaps, they appear
Each one, big bold and black
My silence, my copious fear
Volcano I couldn’t hold back 

Each letter turns into a word
Words turn into dreams
Have I seen? Have I heard?
Nothing is as it seems 

From deep within my heart
Recognizable, yet so vaguely me
I guessed some day we’d part
Words have finally become free

44 thoughts on “Prisoner Of Words

    • Maureen and Angelia, I am honored to hear those words from you two. I respect both of you as fellow writers, and you’re both incredible poets. thank you so much.

  1. Dearest Suzicate,

    CONGRATULATIONS!

    I am not a writer ,author nor a poet but
    I love your take on your theme.
    I shall be back….

    Here from Jingle!
    Welcome to the Rally!

    Happy Thursday!

    Did you know that I am now hosting a new meme? Find out more Blog of the Week Please join us for the WEEKEND FUNNIES. Week #2 is this Friday to Sunday (March 26-29). See you there? hugs shakira Oscar Wilde-The IRISH Gentleman ART OF GENEROSITY

    UNSPOKEN BREAKFAST FOR THE SOUL

  2. Pingback: Thursday Poets’ Rally Week 10 (March 18-March 24, 2010) « Jingle

  3. Happy Thursday!
    Visit about 6 participants that are new to you,
    plus 6 fresh poets,
    hope that you enjoy the Rally today!
    cheers, 😉

  4. WOO! WOO! Congrats on BOTH awards, SC!

    You are most definitely are the ‘perfect’ poet who has much ‘style.’

    I love this part of your poem…

    “Each letter turns into a word
    Words turn into dreams
    Have I seen? Have I heard?
    Nothing is as it seems”

    I so look forward to your future poems.

    Have an awesome day!

  5. Congrats on your awards, you soo deserve them. You are such a talented writer.

    I don’t know much about poetry other than it is hard! Antone who can write it is fabulous in my book!

  6. thank you for all your comments on my blog : ) your words are always so encouraging ~

    it’s such a delight, reading your poetry ~ your writing is wonderful, and you seem to be able to express your thoughts so eloquently although you say you find your words hard to “free” ~

    i’ve been having a difficult time myself lately, and it is a bit unsettling when you can’t convey what is trapped in your mind or even on the tip of your tongue, but it’s heartening to know that i’m not the only one and that it’s a barrier that eventually gets broken down ~

  7. Congrats Suzi,

    You are deserving of each and every award that comes your way, I do enjoy your posts and I definatly appreciate the friendship you have shared with me.

  8. Pingback: Thursday Poets’ Rally Week 11 (March 24-30, 2010) « Jingle

Leave a Reply

