Wind Chimes Of My Heart

They ringed and dinged
When grabbed by the breeze
But oh how they clinged
To the limbs of the trees

As a young mother
the music soothed my soul
Their sunshine and laughter
Filled my aching heart’s hole

Barefoot children ran rampant
Under a hot summer sun
I tucked them into a heavenly slumber
When each day was done

They’d awake again to climb
The scales of my affection
The chimes would echo my heart
Upon a mirrored reflection

It was a dance of innocent love
A timeless melody of devotion
A gathering of crystal stars
Our lives were poetry in motion

Home base is anchored
Tubes randomly swing
And I am the force
From which their lives spring

I am learning to let go and flow
With the growing up of my chimes
As they continue to drift and shift
Through the changing of our times

This sweet chaotic concert of life
Has faded the softness of my lullabye
I must have music in my world
With none at all, I’d sooner die

67 thoughts on “Wind Chimes Of My Heart

    • Thanks…it’s actually my first love! I posted one last week. And I put the poem I wrote about the meaning of my blog title on my About page – was originally posted with “Daddy was a Dowser”. I plan to post a poem every Thurs. for Jingle’s Thurday Poets’ Rally…check it out, on my blog roll…some great poets pass through there.

    • Thanks, Maureen. I know you write poetry. You should check out Jingle (on my blog roll) and consider participating in the Thursday Poets’ Rally. You don’t have to do it each week, but she does sponsor it weekly.

  1. Hi,

    there is No contest, we have 12 poets won week 8 perfect poet award, thus they have to accept the awards and nominate one poet…
    I notify them when they win…

    you have done good,
    I will link you in,
    sorry for the delay!

    Jingle

  2. there is No contest, we have 12 poets won week 8 perfect poet award, thus they have to accept the awards and nominate one poet…
    I notify them when they win…

    you have done good,
    I will link you in,
    sorry for the delay!

    Jingle
    Happy Thursday!
    Please visit some participants to get more feedback!

  3. there is No contest, we have 12 poets won week 8 perfect poet award, thus they have to accept the awards and nominate one poet…
    I notify them when they win…

    you have done good,
    I will link you in,
    sorry for the delay!

    Jingle

  4. Pingback: Thursday Poets’ Rally Week 9 (March 11-17, 2010) « Jingle

  5. “A gathering of crystal stars
    Our lives were poetry in motion”

    I loved that line. And what a beautiful metaphor for a mother and her children. Lord knows, both wind chimes and children are noisy!!

    ♥Spot

  6. Okay, the very first stanza completely pulled me in, and the rest of it read like butter – – smooth! GO! WRITE! WIN!

      • I only posted a quote. I have been writing something else, but I may not post it. I can’t decide if I want to share it – – feels to personal, and not exactly the most upbeat piece of writing. One of those days. LoL

  7. I just came by to thank you for the kind words on my poem, but I wish to compliment you on your piece as well.

    It conjures the most serene scene in my mind and takes me to a quaint summer cabin beside forest and lake. Even it wasn’t the image you had in your mind when you wrote it, I simply wanted to share the joy that poetry is meant to affect, that your poetry was able to affect in me.

    Thank you, and I’d love to read more of your work in the future. ♥

  8. I’m so loving that you’re posting your amazing gift for poetry, SC!

    What a wonderful piece!

    This part especially touched me…

    “I am learning to let go and flow
    With the growing up of my chimes
    As they continue to drift and shift
    Through the changing of our times.”

    What beautiful words that reflect life!

    BRAVA!

    X

  9. My “chimes” are growing up and away too! I think my home will miss the beautiful music those chimes make when my youngest heads off to college in the fall!!! Loved your poem.

Leave a Reply

