I’m A “Dr. Seussaholic”

I have a confession to make. I am a forty-six year old Dr. Seussaholic. Whew, I feel better now. They say admitting it is the hardest part. I grew up reading Dr. Seuss books. I read Dr. Seuss to my children. I’ve lived my entire life with Dr. Seuss. Who knows what I’d have turned into without his wit and guidance throughout my life!1027091211

My friend recently informed me that she does NOT like Dr. Seuss, did not like his books as a child, and hates to read them to her children. We can no longer be friends! I mean, how can anyone not like Dr. Seuss? It’s like un-American…like not liking apple pie. What? You don’t like apple pie. Get out of my house you freak of nature! I can accept most imperfections of my friends because we’re human after all. But not liking Dr. Seuss. I just can’t get past it.

When I was in first grade, my cousin had her very own My Book About Me , and I was so jealous. She got to pencil in all the information just about her. I wanted my own book to write the stuff all about me in. I was deprived and jealous. Not only that, but her mom signed her up for the Dr. Seuss book club. She had a book arrive in her mailbox every single month. I don’t know which of us was more excited when it came. She was nice enough to share with me. She let me look after she read it, then read it to me, and made me promise over and over not to tear, bend, or smudge the pages. She also had The Foot Book . We measured everything with her foot, my foot, and the ruler foot. Oh, good times with Dr. Seuss!

Also, in first grade, my friend got to play Cindy Loo Hoo in How The Grinch Stole Christmas. She was the shortest girl in the class (I was the second shortest) so she was chosen for the part. This was the only time ever that I wanted to be the shortest. I was so jealous! Do we see a pattern here? Did I mention I was also deprived?

Now, my friend who doesn’t like Dr. Seuss, I’d hate to end a wonderful friendship over reading material BUT……..read some more Dr. Seuss. “You do not like them. So you say. Try them! Try them! And you may. Try them and you may, I say.” I mean, come on, everyone loves Green Eggs And Ham. Please for the sake of our friendship, you’ve got to give Dr. Seuss another chance.

4 thoughts on “I’m A “Dr. Seussaholic”

  1. Oh my oh my! She’s got to try! She’ll laugh! She’ll cry! If she’ll just try! Susan, your personality, sense of humor, all of it, is coming through. Keep writing!

  2. I do not like Dr Seus. No I don’t. Try I won’t. I will not read them to my baby. Not even maybe. I hate the books with all my might. Maybe someday everyone else will see the light.

Leave a Reply

